We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Angiolieri to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Marrickville, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Angiolleri was hands down the nicest hotel we stayed in whilst in Italy. The service was fantastic and we were offered complimentary campagne upon arrival as it was our honeymoon!
The room was perfect and the view spectacular. Its also a short walk to the beach, and the hotel has its own pool.
The restaurant was also fantastic, with wonderful service and truly amazing dessert. Try the tiramisu, shaped like Saturn!!

Room Tip: The standard room is quite small but does the job.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    65
    25
    7
    13
See reviews for
43
195
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very quiet luxurious hotel, elegantly furnished, fully equipped rooms with everything you need. We don't understand the other visitors complaining about the rooms being too small, when you book 18sqm you get 18sqm and not a ball room!

A stunning view from the beaufitful terrasse to Naples and the Monte Vesuvio when having a delicous breakfast.

The wonderful garden and the pool were neat and well looked after.

We would like to highlight the excellent and extremely friendly service that was very well organized. When one evening our TV did not work anymore and we asked for help, 1 minute later Mr. Assante (the sales and marketing manager) himself knocked at the door and quickly solved the problem.

We will absolutely return next year and recommend this hotel to all our friends!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had wanted to visit Sorrento and the nearby sites for many years at last managed a short trip with my daughter. I chose this Hotel as it represented good value for a top class hotel. As we were hiring a car, ample free car parking was important. For anyone not familiar with the area or Italian roads I strongly suggest getting GPS. We would have had trouble finding the hotel ........or anything else without it!
We upgraded to a superior sea view room. If you can, do this as the views are literally breathtaking. The room was a little small but as we were only there for 5 nights not really a problem. The bathroom was a good size and well equipped! We liked the small tv by the sink, it made daily ablutions much more fun.
The pool area was attractive but a bit small and at busy times it was hard to find a free sunlounger.
The staff were all, (and that is without exception), polite, helpful and friendly.
The food in the restaurant was exceptional and for Michelin Starred cuisine very reasonably priced.
The pastry chef is genius and I've the incresed waistline to prove it.

Room Tip: The fifth floor seems to have the best rooms for size and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Accidently booked in wrong location but ended up being a decent end to our last day in Italy. I would definitely recommend to those that are looking for 5 star at a great value AND to those looking for a base for their travels. It's close to Naples, Pompeii, sorrento, amalfi coast, and Capri. Shuttle service was great. So was restaurant, pool, and bar.

However, the lady at front desk was very irritated with us for asking about bus and train schedules. I believe it was because she had just explained them to other groups, and my wife didn't mind, but I thought it was very rude. It was one of the better hotels of our Italy trip but I feel this complaint was necessary to point out that one negative outweighs many positives in the service industry. I own two restaurants and try my best to train staff that customer is always right and keep them happy. Because one unhappy customer equals much less potential business.

Overall, great hotel! Don't let my one bad incident change your minds. The middle paragraph was more of a feedback for management to improve in minor areas to be better.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for exploring Naples and the Amalfi coast. The superior double rooms felt small to us, so we upgraded to a deluxe - much better, with a fabulous private terrace overlooking Naples Bay. It really is a haven, as we were not overlooked at all and it felt very spacious.

Staff are very pleasant and the reception staff came out to greet us on arrival, while somebody parked our car for us and retrieved it upon departure - nice, as access to the underground car park isn't that easy.

A few small negative points: first, there was no separate shower in the bathroom but only a hand-held shower attachment and the jacuzzi bath did not work so well. Also there was very little storage in the bathroom, so a little tricky especially if there are two of you. Our particular room was opposite the lift so you could hear lift noise, plus the scraping of chairs along the floor from upstairs. I would have preferred a larger bed as well.

Breakfast is good, with the most lovely view over the Bay. It would have been nice to have plain croissants without sugar and a larger selection of bread. The staff are attentive and pleasant. We would have preferred no music over breakfast (and at the swimming pool, for that matter).

But overall a very pleasant stay in a lovely hotel which also has a Michelin star. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We needed a base to explore Pompeii & Vesuvius. Initially we looked at Naples itself but were put off by warnings to unwary travellers so felt the Sorrentine peninsula would suit us better. We booked our holiday at the last minute & were struggling to find suitable accommodation in Sorrento so came across the Grand Hotel Angiolieri instead. As was a theme on our holiday it was important there was car parking available - even more so on the hilly peninsula - and fortunately there was plenty of space below ground.
The hotel is an attractive building & has a stunning location overlooking the bay of Naples across from Vesuvius - it is worth a visit for this alone. The reception staff were friendly & helpful to us - our luggage was dealt with quickly & efficiently. We had booked a Suite of which there are two. These were priced the same & we knew one of them came with a large terrace but it was not possible at the time of booking to specify which of the two suites you got. We were therefore a little disappointed to get the Zeuxo suite with the French balcony. The room itself is nice - with a large lounge area & big comfy bed. The view from the bedroom window/ French balcony is amazing but made us long for an outside space even more. One of the ‘lounge’ room windows overlooks the pool area which was disconcerting as other guests can see in.
To be fair we did not spend a great deal of time in our room. We were there to see Pompeii which is a magical place. The hotel is a short walk from the train station & this proved a great way to get around. Much better than driving!
There is not much else in the immediate vicinity of the hotel as the town of Vico Equense is actually on the next hill. However there is a complimentary shuttle to take you there & the staff were very accommodating in taking us to & from the town one evening. We did take the steep path down to the Marina of Seiano for a look around but to be honest we found it a little run down & did not want to find ourselves there after dark.
The hotel has its own Michelin starred restaurant & this proved the highlight of our stay. We enjoyed it so much we ate there twice. The food was stunning - the waiters were excellent & very friendly. We were celebrating a special occasion so a complimentary cake was brought out at the end of our meal which was a nice surprise & left us stuffed. The breakfast was also excellent - served on the terrace with a wide spread of treats available.
In summary I thought this was a nice hotel with stunning views & a great restaurant on site. I think it does make a nice place to stay & a great base for sightseeing.

Room Tip: I would try to specify your room with the hotel. I think a balcony or terrace would be well worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this wonderful hotel with our two (adult) children and, like others, only wish it could have been longer. The hotel is housed in a former convent and is in a splendid position on the cliffs overlooking the Bay of Naples – the spectacular view from the terrace is all that other TripAdvisor correspondents have claimed. The gardens are on various levels and are well worth a wander. There is an infinity pool, again overlooking the bay, with sunbeds and sunshades, and an excellent Michelin-starred restaurant, where we ate on our second night. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and the whole hotel was spotlessly clean. Towels were changed constantly. As for the staff, I cannot praise them too highly; their combination of friendliness and professionalism contributed hugely to making our stay as memorable as it was. Adriana and the other people on duty in Reception responded promptly, courteously and helpfully to all our requests and gave us two excellent recommendations for restaurants, one in the Seiano marina below the hotel and one in Positano. Our booking was very much a last-minute one, and having received conflicting information from two late booking websites I finally telephoned the hotel direct and spoke to the Sales and Marketing Manager, Antonello Assante; he had only one room available immediately, but called me back, as promised, within 30 minutes with a solution. He and the owner of the hotel, Signora Balzano, were also quite exceptionally helpful when we had a problem with our rented car. Although the hotel is just outside the town and thus very peaceful, communications are excellent. We had a car, but it was not really necessary, because the hotel shuttle bus makes regular trips both down to the marina and to the town of Vico Equense, and there is a very good train service to Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento etc, as well as boats from the marina to Sorrento and Capri. There is also a (fairly steep) path which starts in front of the little church just outside the hotel entrance and winds down to the marina, coming out in the little piazza. The main beach at the marina is Le Axidie, although we came to prefer Bikini, slightly further away and just the other side of Vico Equense. A word of warning, though; both beaches, like most Italian beaches in August, are private and thus expensive to use. Four lettini (sunbeds) and two ombrelloni (sunshades) will leave you with little change from 100 euros. On the positive side, however, the water is beautifully clear, and the beaches very clean. The hotel reception will give you clean towels each time for both the beach (yellow) and the pool (blue). In conclusion, I can only say that those few TripAdvisor correspondents who have been unhappy with the hotel must be quite extraordinarily difficult to please. No, our week’s stay was not cheap, but it was worth the money; the only thing which we missed was an actual shower in our bathroom (though our children had one in theirs) rather than a handheld shower-head in the (very comfortable) bath, but that is really a very minor point. Such is the peace and comfort of the hotel that, with temperatures as high as they were last week, the temptation is never to venture out at all but simply to relax by the pool all day until it is time for dinner; a number of our fellow-guests had clearly decided to do just this, and it was hard to blame them.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel itself rather than trying to do so through one of the many websites; you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Angiolieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Address: Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense > Seiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Seiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Angiolieri 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, Grand Hotel Angiolieri is a five stars hotel, laid down on a peak overlooking the sea, positioned in the village of Seiano, belonging to the municipality of Vico Equense. Grand Hotel Angiolieri is an oasis of peace, serenity and great charm, situated at the same time in an unmatchable strategic position. In fact, famous sites as Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples are easy accessible by car, train or boat. The hotel itself is immersed in a garden rich in citrus plantations and secular palms, offering several green corners, with simply unique sea and landscapes.The Rooms:Restored with considerable competence, Grand Hotel Angiolieri disposes of 37 rooms, all well groomed, with particular attention to details, with sober and refined taste, presenting functional and elegant furniture. The classic pastels colours lend them a touch of simplicity. The rooms offer sea or garden view, with terrace, balcony or window. Rooms at a glance:21 Standard rooms with window and garden view; 9 Superior rooms with window and sea view; 3 Deluxe rooms with terrace and sea view; 2 Junior Suite with terrace and sea view; 2 Suites, one with open terrace and sea view, one with French balcony and sea view.L’Accanto Restaurant:L’Accanto Restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star for the year 2010, where our Chef delights the guests with creative local gastronomic specialties with an appeal to regional products.The Services:Grand Hotel Angiolieri offers a peculiar and highly customised range of services, in order to satisfy all kind of demand the guest may have. The hotel provides a sea view swimming pool, panoramic restaurant, free internet access and underground parking. A massage room is available for all lovers of relax and wellness. Main reference for the guest is the reception desk, formed by a specialized team, able to offer and organize a wide number of services, such as boat, car and scooter hiring, transfers, private excursions, shopping tours and further leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Angiolieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Angiolieri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Angiolieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.