We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Angiolieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Seiano
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed at. The service was wonderful. Whenever we needed a ride the shuttle was readily available even though they had a limited schedule they would make an exception. The food was excellent. I definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a nice hotel away from touristy areas.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the garden was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    60
    24
    8
    13
See reviews for
39
177
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Location splendid. If arriving by train make sure you get off at SEIANO; do not go to Sorrento (yet). Room clean and hotel provides lovely ambience. Views from breakfast / dining balcony are stunning across Bay of Naples and Mt Vesuvius. Make full use of hotel's Shuttle Bus for links to train and nearby town, Vico Equence. Swimming pool is fabulous as is top floor terrace and bar good to chill and watch sunset. Great vantage point for trips to Pompeii, Sorrento, boat to Capri and boat or bus along Amalfi coast. Restaurant has well deserved Michelin star but we found we also needed to eat out for local cuisine and something easier on budget.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were on our honeymoon and we mentioned it so on our booking email. We wanted to unload our lugage on the driveway. There was a guy who came up to us and told us that we may not do that and we had to use the garage. Garage was far too small. Simple reception. Nice view on the terrace (breakfast area). Room was 2 small and was overprised. During the night there was a dog barking all night longin the neighbourhood. Very annoying and we could not sleep. Swimming pool and area were not so pleasant. This is not an ideal hotel to spent your honeymoon in it. Is not worth to be called a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: There is a better hotel in the neighbourhood for about the same amount (The Blu Relais).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I advise everyone to stay far away from this unloyal waste of money. The service by the hotel manager and front desk, was horror and rude. They do not care if your on a honeymoon or just driving by...for them it's the same treatment...sad. Overprized for the very small rooms. We had 3 nights booked and left after the first night, early in the morning. We headed down to Positano and Amalfi where the people that run hotels, are much nicer. It's actually not even comparable...well the price is.

Stay away...horrible experience.

Room Tip: Don't bother wasting your money...drive 25mins futher south to Positano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
assanteantonello, Direttore vendite at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review on this important web site.

We apologize if the hotel and our service fell the short of expectations.

However, we think that it very important to set the facts straight.

ROOM SIZE:
You booked a superior room with sea view. On our web site, we write clearly the size of our rooms. For the superior room, it is written: "The 9 Superior rooms size approximately 23 square meters each". For your next stay at Grand Hotel Angiolieri, if you prefer a bigger room, we suggest you to book a deluxe, junior suite or suite. These rooms are really fantastic because they got a private terrace with the amazing view of the Vesuvius and the Gulf of Naples.

LOCATION:
In all the web site where our hotel is present, our location is Seiano di Vico Equense - Sorrento Coast. We are only 7 km far from Sorrento. Other guest very often love our location, because they think it is strategic to move to the most important cities of the area ( Sorrento, Naples, Pompeii, Herculaneum, Positano, Amalfi, Ravello etc.) In any web site it is written that we are located in the centre of Sorrento. If you prefer the Amalfi Coast to the Sorrento coast, we respect your personal idea.

STAFF:
You wrote that our staff was very rude. We are really surprised for your words. We have never received this kind of complaint, all the guest love the courtesy and skill of our staff.

HONEYMOON PRESENT:
It is not correct, when you say that for us all the guest have the same treatment. For all the honeymooners guest, we offer a welcome present in the room as an Italian bottle of prosecco. We gave this present also in your room at the arrival date.

We always hope that our guest have a nice memory of the Grand Hotel Angiolieri and L’Accanto restaurant. When we do not obtain this result we are not satisfied, but we hope that you can come back in the next future to change your idea of our hotel.

Best regards

Antonello Assante
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a very nicely run hotel and most rooms have spectacular views. Unfortunately, we had booked rooms without a view and they were small even for European standards. The Sales and Marketing Manager, Antonello Assante went out of his way to help us move into larger view suites which gave us a wonderful way to end our trip to Italy, with spectacular views of Mt. Vesuvius and the Bay. We ended up paying more but it was worth it. I would recommend anyone staying more than one night be sure and book a room that has a view. The food was very good and breakfast on the patio overlooking the Bay of Naples made for a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: Be sure and get a room with a view of the Bay of Naples. Even if the room is small the view is wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a lovely setting. The hotel gardens that you walk through on the approach to this modern yet classically styled hotel are gorgeous. At the entrance there is a classical fountain and in the garden very large volcanic rock urn cascading water over its 10 foot high lipped edge, which is lit at night to further enhance it. There are large palm trees in the garden and so many flowering shrubs, rose bushes and citrus fruit trees that your senses are overcome with tranquility, you are relaxed before you enter the building. The hotel seems to teeter on the edge of the escarpment above the small port and beach of Seiano, it has a commanding position and you really do feel like the King of the Castle when you get there. Our room was a superior seafront and the view was simply spectacular. We could see Naples and the majesty of Mount Vesuvius in the distance, it was like an ever changing canvas during the week and one that I watercoloured many times. Our room was not as big as I had hoped and it lacked a balcony and storage, the bed was very big and comfortable though. The bathroom was modern and clean but the shower screen leaked and the jacuzzi didnt work.We also found that the lighting was a bit odd to work and that there were not sufficient sockets. The staff are possibly the most friendly and helpful that I have had the pleasure to be attended by. The terrace, where we were able to have breakfast, when the weather permitted, is really lovely. The pool design is brilliant! the sheer glass end wall, that when wearing goggles you can see Mount Vesuvius through, is really cool, just not sure about the statue! Sadly the pool was not heated at the start of our week stay and I lept out within a matter of seconds with an "icecream head"! The staff explained that the weather had been awful for some time and continued to be during out stay until our last 2 days when we were able to have a swim and sunbathe by the pool and on the roof terrace. The weather didnt spoil our stay, far from it. We walked down the road a few 100 yards to the train station to catch the train to Pompeii, Herculaneum or Sorrento, the hub for dining and exploring the Amalfi Coast and Capris. We found that we had to wait a while as the trains are not always on time. The hotel sold the tickets at reception. However, if you are using the trains and buses try and get all day tickets which last 24 hours, bought from a Tabac. All in all a really great place to stay if you dont mind having to go out for dinner. We found the cost of the menu in the hotel sadly very high at 110 Euro per person so didnt dine in. However, there is a free shuttle that takes you into Vico Equense which we used a couple of times. The hotel catered for my gluten and lactose allergy and I had the most wonderful breakfasts. The staff were really helpful advising where to go to eat out and what to ask for "senza gluten" and "senza lactose" this proved to be essential italian and I didnt miss out on anything. Spaghetti Vongole etc! I love this part of Italy and we will return again soon, certainly spending a few nights at the hotel, Capris and Positano. There is a ferry to Capris from Seiano with a free shuttle service from the hotel to the port and back. Well worth getting up early for to miss the crowds in Sorrento. The words that come to mind about this hotel are serenity and calm. You are washed over by this after a mad day out and about jostling with the many tourists and locals in this very popular area.

Room Tip: The seaview room is fabulous because the place is all about the view. It is a little more costly per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel is a real 5* in every detail. First -the location - on a cliff with breathtaking view over the gulf of Naples and the Vesuvio volcano. All this you get to see either from your room , as we did, or from the beautiful terrace where you are having breakfast in a unique setting. I don't remember having breakfast ever with such a view. Second - the hotel itself. The room is lovely , perfectly comfortable in every detail, from the beautiful painted tiles on the floor and the colors matching of the walls to the large bed and great bathroom with whirlpool bathtub. All public spaces are elegant and inviting - the bar with it's terrace, the pool, the gardens.The inner architecture is modern and combines very well with the local colors of the building and those of the rooms. Third - the staff is great , particularly the waiters. Can not comment on the restaurant since we did not have dinner there, I believe it is very expensive. Is everything perfect? Nothing to improve? Yes there is: storage space in the room is not enough especially if you stay longer.My wife is not very tall and could not get to the hangers in the cupboard, they are so high. Second - the WiFi. If you offer it free- which is nice in itself and appreciated- then make it work all the time, it works very slowly for approximately 50% of the times you try to get to it, which makes you tired of trying again and again. Third - the parking. Again- thanks for offering it free. It's in the basement, spacious, well lit , everything fine. But why don't you let us use the staff elevator instead of climbing the long stairs and then traverse the garden to get to the reception? All this criticism is well ment, is nothing compared to the whole excellent and enjoyable experience in this hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as we had- you get both the sea and the garden view, having two windows.It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Angiolieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Angiolieri

Address: Via Santa Maria Vecchia 2, 80066 Seiano, Vico Equense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense > Seiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Seiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Angiolieri 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the Bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius, Grand Hotel Angiolieri is a five stars hotel, laid down on a peak overlooking the sea, positioned in the village of Seiano, belonging to the municipality of Vico Equense. Grand Hotel Angiolieri is an oasis of peace, serenity and great charm, situated at the same time in an unmatchable strategic position. In fact, famous sites as Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi, Capri, Pompeii, Herculaneum and Naples are easy accessible by car, train or boat. The hotel itself is immersed in a garden rich in citrus plantations and secular palms, offering several green corners, with simply unique sea and landscapes.The Rooms:Restored with considerable competence, Grand Hotel Angiolieri disposes of 37 rooms, all well groomed, with particular attention to details, with sober and refined taste, presenting functional and elegant furniture. The classic pastels colours lend them a touch of simplicity. The rooms offer sea or garden view, with terrace, balcony or window. Rooms at a glance:21 Standard rooms with window and garden view; 9 Superior rooms with window and sea view; 3 Deluxe rooms with terrace and sea view; 2 Junior Suite with terrace and sea view; 2 Suites, one with open terrace and sea view, one with French balcony and sea view.L’Accanto Restaurant:L’Accanto Restaurant, awarded with a Michelin Star for the year 2010, where our Chef delights the guests with creative local gastronomic specialties with an appeal to regional products.The Services:Grand Hotel Angiolieri offers a peculiar and highly customised range of services, in order to satisfy all kind of demand the guest may have. The hotel provides a sea view swimming pool, panoramic restaurant, free internet access and underground parking. A massage room is available for all lovers of relax and wellness. Main reference for the guest is the reception desk, formed by a specialized team, able to offer and organize a wide number of services, such as boat, car and scooter hiring, transfers, private excursions, shopping tours and further leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Hotel Angiolieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vico Equense
Grand Angiolieri Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Angiolieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.