We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Inn

The George Inn
The Street, Molash CT4 8HE, England
01233 740323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Molash
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional warm and friendly rustic pub in the heart of the Kent countryside that oozes in character with its exposed wood beams, hanging hops, log burner & inglenook fireplace, The George, as it is affectionately known, started life as a farm building in the 1500s and became a pub in 1718. It even has its own bus service, direct from Sittingbourne – just look for the bus with “The George” on the front.The George Inn has 80 seater capacity including its own50 seater restaurant that can cater for all special occasions.Locally sourced seasonal produce is always used to create all our home made dishes by Paul our award winning chef and his team of professionals.You can keep updated with our monthly music & quiz plus other events at the George by looking us up on face book “The George Inn Newham”Food Served Mon-Sat 12- 2.30pm 7- 9.30pm and Sun 12- 4.30p.mOpening hours 11-3pm Mon-Sat, 6.30-11p.m and Sun 12- 10p.m. We recommend booking tables in advance
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We went to The George Inn for lunch on Mother's Day.

There is a set Sunday menu which offered a good variety of meals.

The restaurant is well presented and the garden is secure and fun. There is a small play area with swing and slide for the children. There is plenty of room to run around in. What I also liked was that the pub is dog friendly.

The drinks service was a little slow but not an issue, after all it was very busy. There was ten of us for dinner and the starters came out in good time. The pate was very nice, the soup was very good and the garlic mushrooms went down well.
The main course was mostly very good. The standard of the roast dinners was very high, meat was cooked very well and there was plenty to eat. The only downside was the small bowls of vegetables most of which were mushy. But again this is a minor thing.
The children ate well even with a child's meal, my little one struggled to eat it all there was so much!
The desert menu was very nice and the ones we had were right up there. I would recommend the ginger sponge!

The service was good, although due to being so busy we had to wait a while for some drinks. In truth this is the only minor thing to say on what was a lovely meal.

We will definitely return to The George Inn for food.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Saturday evening, 22/03/2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Out with friends,3 out of the 4 meals were lovely, but the salmon my husband had was very disappointing & not value for money. My pork dish was beautiful as was the steak dish & the Sea Bream.
We will try again one lunchtime.
Prices are a little high by pub standards.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crowborough
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“pensioners special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Fancied a lunch somewhere different THE GEORGE at MOLASH turned out nice. Set on the downs above ashford kent . You can have a pensioners lunch for £6 .95p varied menu very good service from the very friendly family who run it. lovely views,good large gardens with plenty of parking. Bonus after a great lunch just down the road towards CATERBURY you can visit CHILHAM castle and village where films are set well worth calling in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch January 2014”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited this pub with friends for a traditional Sunday roast. On entering the restaurant we found both the temperature and the atmosphere to be cool. On reviewing the menu in our opinion the options were overpriced by pub standards with pork priced at £10.95, beef £11,95, and lamb £15.50.
When the meals came out the food could have been hotter and the pork, although this was listed on the menu with homemade apple sauce we had to ask for it.
The sweets also appeared over priced when compared to similar venues. All in all a very unsatisfactory meal

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Last meal before London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our last night in town before heading out to London and one of our best meals. The portions are huge. My son and I had the ham, eggs and chips. The ham was perfect. My husband ordered off the Christmas meal menu and was brought endless rounds of food. We loved the atmosphere and live music. Beautiful decorating for Christmas and friendly staff. For just picking it when driving by, we would recommend it to anyone - great meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

 

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.