We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crake Trees Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Crake Trees Manor to your Saves list
Crake Trees Manor
Crosby Ravensworth | Near Penrith, Crosby Ravensworth CA10 3JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We have just returned from an all-too-brief stay at the stunning Crake Trees Manor and I can't praise this enough! This beautifully restored property is set in a beautiful and undiscovered area, with views to die for! This is no ordinary b&b, it is a hidden gem offering fantastic accommodation and the attention to detail provided by Ruth & Mike in their lovely home is second to non. Upon arrival, Ruth had left delicious home-made cakes and a pot of tea for us to enjoy outside, while soaking up the sun and the breath-taking views. Our room was delightful, with access to a small balcony that allowed us to make the most of those views. The home-made, locally sourced cooked breakfast the following morning was delicious, leaving us wanting for nothing.

We can't thank Ruth and Mike enough for making our stay so utterly enjoyable, not forgetting the company of their gorgeous dogs, especially Maisie! We will most definitely be returning and will make sure to recommend this to our family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Howebeck room, which was beautifully presented with walk in wardrobe, shower room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

We spent the weekend with friends at Crake Trees Manor. We stayed in the Shepherds Hut, and out friends had 2 rooms in the main house.
The quality of accommodation was 100% and the attention to detail was amazing. Ruth had baked a cake and leaves a slice in your room for your arrival.
The owners make you feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast was all locally produced and was a great way to start the day.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thanks for the lovely review Tom.
your stay was short , but sweet.
One night in The Shepherds Hut can be 'just the ticket' for a refreshing break from work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have just come back from an incredibly relaxing weekend staying in the Shepherd’s Hut at Crake Trees Manor. Crosby Ravensworth isn’t far from the A66 or M6 so it is easy to find, but Crake Trees is far enough from anywhere to feel like you really are getting away from it all. Crake Trees is an incredibly peaceful, relaxing place – and yet the Lake District really is on your doorstep with all it has to offer (sightseeing, arts/cultural activities, sports, walking, great pubs and some stunning scenery). A max. 30 minute drive to Ullswater ( park at Pooley Bridge), with the other lakes beyond.

On arrival we were greeted by Ruth’s daughter who showed us the Shepherd’s Hut and around the farm. The Shepherd’s Hut guests have exclusive access to and use of a room in the main house complete with TV, DVD, table, bench and fridge. There was also a tea station where we were able to make tea and coffee (fresh milk in the fridge) and Ruth had left a plate with some delicious local cakes. Attached to this is a shower room consisting of a shower and toilet, both modern and immaculately clean.

The star attraction was the Shepherd’s Hut itself, a short walk over the farm yard and across a pasture. The hut faces away from the farm so feels very private. The views over the nearby rolling fields and hills and the distant Pennines was absolutely fantastic – we loved seeing it in all its glory first thing on a morning and watching it, from the veranda of the hut or from inside with the fire lit, with a drink as the sun set. The hut itself is incredibly comfortable – we could’ve slept in the oak bed all day. The hut is cosy, we lit the wood burner for fun but really didn’t need to. The candle light and the big thick duvet added to the snug atmosphere. We took some good books and a battery radio in case we decided to spend time at the hut, and ended up cutting a days sightseeing short just to go back and hang out there.

Neither of us are massive fans of camping or of roughing it – but that really wasn’t an issue as the hut felt like a romantic, clean getaway with the convenience of a clean modern bathroom and dining area close at hand. Going to the loo at night wasn’t a problem as we were provided with a powerful rechargeable lantern, and lights are left on in the main house so the farmyard is never completely dark. That said, it was a unique experience and it did feel like a brilliant adventure!

We began each day with Ruth’s fantastic and generous farmhouse breakfasts in the dining room shared with the other B&B guests. We started with fruit, cereal and yoghurt followed by a plate of gorgeous cooked breakfast – plenty to set us up until the evening! Ruth was really friendly (as were the rest of the family that we met) and was keen to tell us about the area and suggest things we could do. That said, we were left alone the rest of the time so it didn’t feel like we were imposing on someone else’s home – as we’ve felt on other farm stays.

On our first evening, we drove north to nearby Clifton to the George and Dragon pub (on Ruth’s daughter’s recommendation) for a lovely candlelit meal. Apparently, Stephen Fry recently visited – we’d also highly recommend it ourselves. We came home in the dusk to find that Ruth had lit a candle, and the wood burner, in the hut – a really nice touch.

My only complaint about the whole weekend is that sadly we didn’t have more time – I’d love to go back and spend a week in the hut. I’d never been over to the Lakes before and left feeling like what we’d managed to see in two days was a mere appetiser of all the region has to offer. Even from Crake Trees itself there are a number of interesting walks we’d love to go back and do. That said, I’d quite happily just spend a couple of days in the hut with a good book (and a good bottle). We both agreed that Crake Trees was easily on a par with all of the places we stayed on our recent three-week honeymoon on Italy’s Amalfi Coast, we both agreed that we’d love to return to both. But we’re more likely to return to Crake Trees. Very highly recommended. I loved it.

Room Tip: Stay in the Shepherd's Hut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
A big thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Crake Trees Manor.
You both certainly enjoyed the weekend in The Shepherds Hut.
I try to light the stove for folks when its a bit chancy...weather wise. So I hope the sun shines from morning till sunset next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

welcoming cumbrian farm in a perfect location - close enough to the Lakes but very peaceful location away from the crowds. Marvellous breakfast will set you up for the day. Superb comfortable bed.

Room Tip: all rooms excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed in the shephards hut, which is a unique van in the grounds of this B and B. We were greeted by the owner and the hut woodburner was already lit and tea and biscuits waiting. The bed was very comfy, excellent bathoom (over the courtyard) and lovely breakfast with home made muffins and preserves.Dog friendly too. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

The Shepherd's Hut is a wonderful addition to this fantastically designed and built farmhouse. Ruth & Mike clearly have excellent taste as the barn conversion is a sight to behold with tons of little design features. The welcome from both of the hosts was lovely and breakfast was superb. Don't believe any negative comments about this place, I'd recommend Crake Trees to anyone looking for a special break in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladyofthemanor, Owner at Crake Trees Manor, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review of your stay with us last week . You certainly were folks of adventuorous spirit ,......the weather during your stay was wild and windy to say the least.! The Shepherds Hut is proving popular as a lovely alternative for a romantic break or a perfect night out under a starry sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

Our fourth stay here once again confrimed our view that Crake Trees is a special B & B. The setting in a beautiful but undiscovered area is matched by the quality of the accommodation and the attention to detail provided by Ruth & Mike in their lovely home. Only by staying there can you fully appreciate the experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crake Trees Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crake Trees Manor

Address: Crosby Ravensworth | Near Penrith, Crosby Ravensworth CA10 3JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Crosby Ravensworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crosby Ravensworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderfull barn conversion at the centre of our family farm.Modernist design with an easy mix of antiques modern art and handmade oak furnishings.Bed &, Breakfast in 3 rooms with superb views over the rolling farmland to the mountains beyond. Or sleep in The Shepherds Hut, down by the pond , just right for romantics of adventurous spirit. Crake Trees Manor is remote and peacwfull , yet only 15 mins from the M6 in Cumbria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crake Trees Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crake Trees Manor Hotel Crosby Ravensworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crake Trees Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.