We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowshed Restaurant at the Wheatsheaf Inn. An exceptional experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cowshed Restaurant at the Wheatsheaf Inn

Cowshed Restaurant at the Wheatsheaf Inn
The Green, Raby Mere Road | Raby, Raby CH63 4JH, England
0151 336 3416
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Raby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $33 - $41
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Cowshed Restaurant at the Wheatsheaf Inn. An exceptional experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Cowshed restaurant was once part of a farm building and is accessed via the pub which it is attached to.
It is a genuine thatched roof former farmhouse. Low beams and door jambs give its age away.
There is a large gravel car park to the rear and the restaurant is quite spacious inside, and outdoor tables.
Situated in a beautiful rural part of Wirral. They serve real ales in a bar area, or with meals.
The barn "Cowshed" itself has an olde-worlde feel to it, yet does not feel dark or dingy due to the high vaulted ceilings. It is tastefully decorated with agricultural implements, which is an attractive feature.
The food was good quality with a good range of menu choice.Set menu or light snacks.
Lovely cosy atmosphere too. Could not fault the whole experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    12
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great pub and great restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We've been going to the Wheatsheaf (known to many long-established customers as the Thatch) for years. My parents have been going since they we young themselves. The pub is a great tradition country pub with a good choice of drinks and food available.
I've been to the Cowshed on two occasions; the first being a couple of years ago for my Mum's birthday, and the most recent being this last weekend for my Dad's birthday. On both occasions I have been unable to fault the food. It's not cheap, but it is lovely and there is always a lot of choice. This last time we went I had the smoked local duck salad for a starter and I can't recommend it enough!
The first time we went we were in the main restaurant, then this time we were seated in the Lounge which is a room between the main pub/bar and the conservatory which leads to the main restaurant. I preferred sitting in the Lounge as although there were only two other tables in the room with us, you get a bit of the noise and atmosphere from the pub coming through. I found the main restaurant a bit too quiet.
The staff as always were very polite, very helpful and very smart.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Pub lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I work a five minute drive away and never knew this place existed until a colleague chose it for a team lunch.

What an absolute gem! So typical of Wirral that you can just take a short drive and are transported to the countryside - thatched roof, quaint pub with a stylish and homely restaurant attached. Busy on Wednesday lunchtime showing just how popular it is.

The lunch menu is really varied (although please lose the full page, badly placed 'toastie menu' ...you're better than that!) and fantastic, attentive service.

Will definitely be taking a weekend drive over with the other half some time soon

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Atmospheric pub with Good quality restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate here one evening with family in a party of 10. Really impressed. Good value, two course fixed price evening menu which everyone in our party chose but there is also an interesting a la carte menu with several special dishes changing regularly. Good quality, good portions. Very friendly, accommodating and efficient staff. Good choice of real ales and wines. Atmospheric bar area with lots of nooks and crannies and live Irish music on the evening we visited. Obviously popular with locals. Couldn't fault it and will definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pity, must do better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having been last year for chef shine competition, and reading the reviews I was really looking forward to having a birthday lunch. What a disappointment. Waiting on staff excellent. Food very poor, would think twice before I visited again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowshed Restaurant at the Wheatsheaf Inn also viewed

Thornton Hough, Wirral
 

Been to Cowshed Restaurant at the Wheatsheaf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowshed Restaurant at the Wheatsheaf Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.