We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't wash the car before you go!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Gables Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gables Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Gretna
scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't wash the car before you go!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

We stayed 1 night on the DB&B tarif. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff extremely friendly and helpful but the choice for food on the DB&B basis was very limited, I asked if I could mix and match from the bar food menu and was told no, so it was a choice of fish, pasta, or chicken. The meals were presented well but everything seemed to be made for a mass catering event, weddings etc (I suppose should have expected this in Gretna)

The hotel was surrounded with trees and I had noticed all the bird lime splattered on the car park when we arrived so I parked round the back but in the morning every single car was covered in it.
This may seem a small inconvenience to some people but we had made the journey in a soft top convertible and it involved a lot of cleaning to avoid lasting damage.
If you stay here and plan to have wedding photos taken in the gardens, wear a hat!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    255
    54
    26
    15
    6
See reviews for
94
172
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

we stayed at The Gables for a wedding, as a party of 17 for 2 nights. Check in was quick and easy expecially since we all arrived together, but we then noticed that all our rooms were scattered around the hotels, we found this odd as there didnt seem to be many other guests around. In the bar that evening the service was less than brilliant, bar staff were more interested in chatting than serving & we had to clear glasses ourselves several times, when we went through for dinner we could not order drinks at the table we had to go to the bar sepately, however we could not fault the meal, the food was very nice!! Breakfast the next morning was good, quick & friendly service and a good selection. The room the wedding dinner was in was lovely & food was excellent. The service on the second night was a lot better but a couple of times we had to look for the staff as nobody behind bar for long periods. Overall we enjoyed our stay but the service was a let down especially in the bar, and although the rooms were nice and comfortable they didnt warrent the price paid!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in December for our wedding. We also had 19 guests also staying at the hotel. From the moment we checked in, nothing was too much trouble. All staff were helpful, friendly and made us feel that our wedding was special for them as well as us. We stayed in the Ailsa Suite for 2 nights - which was fantastic - loved the bath! All food was excellent and the Garden Room, where we had our wedding breakfast looked decorated beautifully. We know our guests enjoyed their stay as much as we did as there is talk of many of them visiting again - and we definately will be.Thanks to everyone for making our wedding so special.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

First night evening meal booked for 8pm for 8 adults & 2 children. At 10.15 we still hadn't had dessert or been offered coffee. Children past it, upset and carted off to bed. Meals weren't that good either. Manager not very curtious or concerned when we complained but after speaking to the chef he came back with a better attitude and offered suitable compensation, which we accepted. The day of my brothers wedding arrived and we all were concerned that the day would be spoilt if the meal was like the night before. The waitress at breakfast time asked if everything was ok the night before and we told her our story, she was very concerned that we had had a poor experience and apologised and said she would make sure the wedding day went off well. We gave the reception staff some wedding decorations for the room and off we went to the wedding. When we arrived back, they had put us in a small private dining room, the room looked lovely, the service was excellent and the food fantastic. This totally made up for the night before. Check rates before you go though as some of our party went through booking agents and paid double to what I paid!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

Spent 2 nights at The Gables paying £70 internet rate which is an excellent price. First night the room we were allocated was subject to noise from the kitchens below apparently it was the the fridges and freezers but it was a constant noise like a generator and prevented much sleep. The following morning I went to Reception and mentioned it to see if we could be allocated another room and blow me they gave us what must have been the best room in the hotel. 4 poster, Jacuzzi, bath robes etc., absolutely brilliant. The staff were excellent as was the service. The hotel dining room was heaving at breakfast on Sunday but even though they were short staffed the coped majestically. One of the best hotels I have stayed at and we will be back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

My husband and I married at the Mill Forge 29/12/09 and we had our wedding reception and accommodation booked at the Gables. We stayed in The Ailsa suite for three nights, it was everything we could have hoped for, after taking a gamble and booking everything on line, we were not disappointed.

Around 16 of the rooms were also booked out to our wedding guests and everyone seemed to agree that the hotel was lovely and the staff very helpful and approachable. The food both in the bar and the buffet on the day of the weddiing were 'spot on' . There was one hiccup on the day before the wedding when we booked in for the bar meal along with other family members. There was a staff shortage problem due to illness and things were very hectic in the kitchen, we waited almost an hour for our meal and some of our family waited almost an hour and a half, the staff were most apologetic, and our family were compensated for their wait (unfortunately we weren't, but nevermind it was just a minor unavoidable glitch!).

It was a thoroughly pleasureable stay and our wedding guests agreed, we hope to visit again for our 1st wedding anniversary, and we would thoroughly reccommend this hotel to anyone, but especially those wishing to marry in Gretna!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

We came up for my son’s wedding who we booked in the Bridal Suite for 2 nights, along with 6 other guests and their families. Everyone enjoyed it and gave it a 100% recommendation. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and the breakfasts were excellent. Superb food and piping hot. Rooms clean, quiet and comfortable. A huge advantage was that we had a ‘noisy party’ along with another group, and did not have to worry about disturbing anyone as bar is so remote from bedrooms. Would look forward to returning again and fantastic value for money. Well done to all staff and thank you. Mr & Mrs White (senior)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.