We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor menu. Poor quality.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gables Hotel to your Saves list
The Gables Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Poor menu. Poor quality.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Myself and some family went to the gables for a meal. 4 of us ordered steak...and it was very tough, particularly mine, so much so i could barely cut it nevermind eat it. The waiting staff said they would pass it on to the chef...im still waiting for any feedback from him. A mojito cocktail, which was on the menu, was ordered...i was asked if it would be ok without mint...erm its not a mojito without mint! So a daiquarai was ordered instead which was meant to come with a slush texture...needless to say it didnt. All in all disappointing and we wont be back nor will we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi
How disappointing to read this review ,After speaking to yourself on the evening in question. I do dispute some of your comments . As I actually took your food order in which we accommodated to your party requirements, I served the dishes to your table ,After a few minutes I returned to your table to see if everything was to your satisfaction. You did mention that your steak was slightly tough . In which I apologised to you and offered if you would like it changed In which you declined .I also informed you that I would let the chef know your comment . To the best of my recollection I did not remember you asking for any feedback regarding this however.With the rest of your review I can only apologise that we did not have any fresh mint for the "Mojito"due to an unforseen earlier rush on cocktail sales .I also find it a shame that you were unable to mention your disappointment on the night. As we are a friendly team who always try to provide an excellent customer service and do our utmost to exceed customer expectations.

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    87
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
115
242
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Just wanted to share what I lovely day I had at the Gables wedding fayre, we are getting married there this October, and the trip just proved to me I had made the right choice, the four poster bridal suite we have booked for 2 nights looked lovely, I would have liked to upgrade to the suite, but it is not available during are stay. The staff were all lovely and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi
How pleasing to read that our wedding fayre proved a success and that you made the right choice. See you in October for your wedding.

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at The Gables Hotel on the 15th March 2014 for one night in anticipation of the wedding fayre the following day. From the moment we arrived the hotel, staff and food were all exceptional and we are positive we could not have chosen a better location to celebrate our wedding in May!! We've changed our minds about some elements of the wedding and they could not have been more helpful! Can't wait!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi,
Great to read that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding fayre the day after, and we were able to assist in changing some of your elements of your wedding. We will see you In MAY...

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed at the gables for 1 night for the wedding fayre. From the minute you step into the hotel from the staff to the rooms and food was impeccable could not fault anything . We are both very excited for our family and friends to discover this gem when we get married in june x

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review.Its great to read that you enjoyed your stay prior to the wedding fayre.
We will see you in June for your wedding celebrations,

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

A party of eight went to the gables for a wedding for new year 2014. On arrival we received tea and cream cakes and the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a great stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and of a good standard. The food is excellent and there is plenty of it, during our stay there way entertainment consisting of a disco and singer.

The hotel is a short walk from the shopping centre and located near the motorway. Overall a very enjoyable and memorable weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Many thanks for your review and your party of eight enjoyed your stay at The Gables and you had a most enjoyable and memorable stay.

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We chose this hotel for our wedding guests 20 including ourselves to stay for two nights and our wedding venue for the reception as had the best reviews in Gretna! It is in a brilliant location, ten minutes drive from the rail station. A 5-10 minute walk from the Gretna wedding bureau, hairdressers, florist, bakers etc and 5minute drive to Gretna Green Blacksmiths workshop where we got married.
The staff were friendly and couldn't have been anymore helpful- I often phoned before our wedding with questions and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were fantastic- only criticism was depending where your room was you could hear loud people in the wedding function rooms into early hours of the morning or perhaps just the fact they were being inconsiderate. Food was good both in the bar, at breakfast and for our wedding meal- breakfast was exceptional. The only thing was we kept having to get our own drinks during the reception as they don't provide you with a waiter to keep you topped up. However, having a tab at the bar and pre-ordering drinks for the table beforehand was beneficial. They catered well for children and although we don't recall seeing a lift when it came to bringing our luggage in the hotel we were able to park around the side of the hotel closer to where our room was upstairs. The bridal suite was lovely as was its en suite with jacuzzi corner bath! Only wish we were there longer! The hotel had a fab back garden but due to the weather we couldn't go out there. We used the borders restaurant for our reception room and this was better than expected- more intimate and just the right amount of room for our guests, cake table etc. It was beautifully decorated by Gretna flower basket, they did a fantastic job plus did it themselves so we didn't have to worry.
I also had a local wedding dress steam service come to the hotel to do my dress on the eve of our wedding- it seems a well organised town with local businesses of all descriptions going to great lengths to make a couples wedding day go smoothly.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone getting married or not.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer

How pleasing to read your review ,and you had a great experience here at The Gables for your wedding,and that we are an ideal venue , I also agree that Gretna is a well organised area whom local businesses of all descriptions cater for guests and go to great lengths to ensure that all goes smoothly and hopefully take some of the stresses away.

Kind Regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed just one night at this hotel and it was just excellent. From the moment we arrived the staff were great. The room was lovely and spacious and the food certainly did not disappoint. They even had Warsteiner, one of my favourite German biers on draught. Would certainly return here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you kindly for the lovely review that you have left us.
It was a pleasure to have you as guests at the Hotel & we will be delighted to have you come back and stay with us again.
Kind regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.