We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NICE HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gables Hotel to your Saves list
The Gables Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
cornwall
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“VERY NICE HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Very nice hotel and the receptionist was very nice,we hadn,t booked but got a very nice room.













Lovely room the receptionist was very helpful we had not booked just arrived hoping.We ate in the bar and the food was very good.Just one downside the walls in the rooms are paper thin you can hear tv,talking etc.And most of all something on doors to stop them slamming shut.We always manage to get a room next door to people who will let the doors slam.

Room Tip: We were at the front but not bothered by road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, General Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi CornishpastyCorn

Many thanks for the nice review that you have left us. We as a Hotel have taken your review on board regarding the Banging Doors and hope to have this rectified in the near future.
Please do come and stay with us again if you are ever in the area.
Kindest regards
Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    65
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
103
201
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We ate a family meal at The Gables in Gretna last night and the food was incredibly disappointing and very poor. Reheated and days old at best, 'hand cut' fresh chips were questionable and the oil had not been changed for a long time. Prawn cocktail was 6 prawns on a very uninspiring salad which worked out at £1 per prawn. What made it so disappointing was the boasting about the top chef being one of the top 300 master chefs in the country and how if there was any problem with the food how they pride themselves on wanting feedback. Feedback was met with apathy at best and the chef didn't acknowledge our complaint. 5 out of 6 dishes returned half eaten. We paid and left a tip for the serving staff who were lovely and friendly and have had to resort to trip advisor as the complaint was completely unacknowledged by the kitchen staff. Do not eat here if you genuinely are looking for good local sourced food.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Head Chef at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for posting your review online as I take all comments seriously. Firstly please accept my deepest apologies for your disappointment on Friday evening. I know you dont want to hear excuses but unfortunately we had a very difficult service in the kitchen , we had a couple of pieces of equipment go just before service, I know this wont make up for your disappointment but may help to explain some of the reason.

I was not informed of your disappointment until later on in the evening and by this time your party had already departed. If I had known earlier I certainly would have come out and spoken with you and tried to resolve the situation there and then as I am sure you will agree if we could of done something on the night we may have avoided you going away disappointed.

Please once again accept my apologies and if you would give us another chance if visiting the area , I will ensure im on duty and speak to you .

I have only been here a few weeks and now in the position to start making changes and I hope if you do give us another try that you may become a regular customer

Regards
Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

My husband and I got married at the Anvil Hall Gretna Green this week. we all stayed at The Gables Hotel, Gretna Green and also had the Wedding reception at the Gables. I cant praise the Hotel enough, it was spotlessly clean, beautiful bedrooms, excellent food and the staff couldn't do enough to help us all. If we ever go to Gretna again we will definitely be staying there.

Room Tip: The Bridal suite is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hi

We are so pleased and happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your wedding here at The Gables , The Bridal suite is lovely especially for a wedding or celebration. See you next time you are in the area or your 1st anniversary.

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I have stayed here twice first in april 2013 and oct 2013 the first time I had a great experience with a lovely room clean and tidy however the second time wasn't as good.
I was on the bottom floor the room wasn't as nice but I didn't mind too much the main problem was the state of the room there were lots of bits on the carpet and the bed hadn't been made.
There was a bunk bed I could have slept in but decided not to also the mirror was covered in marks I have previously worked at dury's inn and the staff there would have been fired.
If they would have left a room in that state also knocked on the door really early around breakfast time asked if they could come in I said five minutes and they still tried to come in.
when I was on the toilet wasn't very happy I can't fault the restaurant as the bar & restaurant staff are really nice and welcoming nothing is too much trouble.
food is lovely and worth the money the cooked breakfast is very nice and pleased to say they do hash browns and vegetarian sausages which is good as I'm a vegetarian.
this is also a good location if you want to visit Scotland or Carlisle again only fault is housekeeping for not doing their job properly otherwise not a bad hotel.

Room Tip: go for the second floor as the rooms are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sparkle186254.

This is an interesting review for us. We note that this stay refers to a stay in October 2013.

We are concerned about what you have stated; having made several enquiries we are left wondering! In regards to our Housekeeping staff, entering your room around breakfast time - we do not start cleaning rooms until after check out to give guests time to gather their belongings and leave the room, this also goes for our guests on stay overs too.
We have no record of anyone reporting a bed not being made during October 2013, so again are concerned that you did not report this. We accept that having guests staying in rooms that have not been fully serviced is not acceptable and we do check our rooms prior to check in. However slip ups do happen and when they do, we respond immediately if we are told.

We are pleased to read that you did enjoy your stay with us and that you found us welcoming and the food worth the money. We are very well placed to travel around the area with many things to do within an hours drive of the hotel.

Kindest regards
The Gables Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights as we had our wedding in Gretna. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly , helpful and extremely welcoming. Throughout the whole our stay the staff were amazing , reception staff , bar staff , everybody. I was even helped in to my wedding dress by a lovely lady who worked there. Staff were always friendly, polite and couldn't do enough for us. The food at the gables was equally amazing , brilliant breakfast selection and lots to choose from. The evening meals were also lovely and cooked to perfection . The price of food and drinks were very good. Rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. could not fault the rooms in any way. The second night we stayed in an amazing room , four poster bed, champagne and a whirlpool bath.
I can not fault this place at all and will definitely return and recommend the gables to my friends and colleague's.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor . Both rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your time in writing lovely comments concerning the Hotel , and you had an amazing time, Hopefully see you again on your anniversary.

Kind regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just come back from having spent a lovely Burns weekend at the Gables excellent accomodation and staff could not have been more attentive looking forward to returning would certainly recommend 10 out 10.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your review ,It was great Burns weekend for all of us also at The Gables also , We are doing another next January 2015 and a St Andrews celebration in November. Details are on our website.

Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Because this was such a good price we were rather dubious about it but can honestly say it was amazing value for money - dinner, bed & breakfast for £63.00 for the two of us!!!!!!. The food was excellent and the staff we met (Ellie and her sister Fiona) were very friendly, efficient and couldn't do enough for us. We'd really rather keep this little gem a secret but for the sake of the hotel are prepared to share our find! We certainly hope to visit again and would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
How pleasing to hear that you have not decided to keep us a secret , All of us At The Gables do try to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay, and I will pass on your kind words to Ellie & Fiona. Hopefully see you again on a repeat visit .Do check our website for exclusive offers & late deals
Kind Regards
JAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.