We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kelly and Barrie"s Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gables Hotel to your Saves list
The Gables Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kelly and Barrie"s Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at The Gables Hotel W/end 15th to 17th March 2013 for our sons wedding, from the moment we arrived the staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for you, overall the food and layout were excellent, and well positioned for access to The Anvil Hall, which was an amazing place to get married. So once agian i would like to thank all the staff for making Kelly and Barrie"s Wedding a memorable occasion, I wouldnt hesitate to recommend this Hotel and The Anvil Hall to anybody for their wedding .

Moira and Tommy

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Moira & Tommy, Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely review following your son's wedding at The Gables Hotel. I have passed on your comments to all the team, It really was a pleasure to look after Kelly & Barrie and all the guests and I am glad you all had a wonderful time. We hope to welcome you back in the future, Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    87
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
115
242
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We decided upon having our reception at The Gables due to the small number of guests and the reasonable prices for the event.

Originally we booked a Bridal suite for two nights which was £328 including breakfast. Upon arriving and meeting with the wedding planner we arrived in our suite, number 8. There was a noticeable smell of musty and just old. The room was rather dated furniture wise and the luxury appeared to be centred around the four poster bed & jacuzzi.

The carpet was loosely fitted, lifting in places and not the cleanest. We did try to rid the smell by opening the window but that didn't appear to work. Our other guests had booked at the hotel too and their rooms where of a better standard and a lot cheaper.

After informing reception of the smell they moved us to the Ailsa Suite which is the hotels best suite and usually £250 per night. This was of a far better standard and we were happy with this new room.

The food at our reception was tasty and plenty of it as was the evening buffet.

Overall this hotel looked after us well and helped us with last minute requests that we had.

In our opinion the Bridal suites are over priced but then as is anything as soon as it's prefixed with Wedding. The standard rooms provide better value for money.

This hotel is ideally situated for Anvil Hall weddings.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Borrowdale, Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your review following your recent stay & wedding at The Gables Hotel. All feedback helps us to improve our service for the future and we do take all comments very seriously. I notified our general manager immediately regarding your comments in relation to the bridal suite and we agree this particular room was not a suitable standard for which I apologise, I am glad you were moved quickly and were happy with the new room but I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience this caused to you. This room has now been added to our refurbishment program and will be brought up to standard in the very near future. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the food and staff, I am pleased to read you were well looked after during your stay. On behalf of all the management & staff, I would like to wish you a very happy future together and we hope you will come and visit us again in the future. Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We traveled up to Scotland from Leicestershire to attend a wedding. We stayed at The Gables the night before the wedding and for the night of the wedding.
The room was very nice and quiet as we requested and thank you for the fan it was needed for me even with the snow. The room had tea and coffee and thank you to the house keepers that kept us topped up and thanks to them for the instructions to other hotels that i had to collect from for the wedding. (They were better than the Sat nav) I must say from the Receptionist Jane to the house keepers and all the staff i have never felt so at home anywhere. They were so friendly and help full and nothing was too much trouble for them. From booking in to booking out our every need was met with a smile. On the night we arrived we ate and the food was fab so i knew we weren't going to be hungry the next day. The cooked breakfast was super and then we were set up for the day. The wedding at the Anvil was spectacular and then we returned to the Gables for the wedding breakfast and the reception. Everything was done beautifully and all taste's were met.. I wouldn't have any problem coming up to this hotel for a weekend away and to spend some time looking around and chillin. It took us over 4 hours to get to this location and would do it again in a heart beat to visit this hotel again. Thank you again From Room 5
Mr and Mrs Passingham (Mrs Stephanie Passingham wrote this review)

Room Tip: Room 5 hasn't got any view from all the windows but for people that like their windows open thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Passingham, Thankyou so much for this wonderful review. It is a huge boost to the team when we receive such positive feedback, I have passed your lovely comments onto all the staff and we are all delighted you had such an enjoyable time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gables, Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed at the Gables hotel from 15th to the 17th of March for our Wedding. On check in the staff at reception were amazing and were quick to sort out a room mishap with our parents (who were very happy with the result)
We stayed in the Ailsa suite which was clean, romantic... Perfect!
All the staff were amazing and helpful especially during our Wedding day, everything went without any problems, they really couldn't do enough for us!
If you are planning a wedding or just looking for somewhere to stay we couldn't recommend the Gables enough, We are both really looking forward to seeing all the staff and staying again for our Anniversary!
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Carina & Paul, Thank you so much for your lovely review following your recent wedding. It was a pleasure to host your special day here at The Gables & I am pleased to read that all of the staff took good care of you and your guests. We wish you all the best in your future together and look forward to seeing you again soon. A Big Thank you also for the lovely card & chocolates you left for us. Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Booked the gables after coming across there web site and booked a two night package with dinner, which looked very good value.
I am pleased to report that i picked a winner,
Welcome when we arrived was warm and friendly and the room we had was lovely warm and had a lovely bottle of wine chilled and ready
to drink.
We had the pre booked dinner on the first evening and it didnt dissapoint, so much so we booked and paid to have dinner there the second evening.
All in all its a great value hotel that really delivers on all fronts, nothing seems too much trouble for the staff and the food etc are all very good.
I dont often go to a hotel twice but i wont hesitate to book here again when we come back to Scotland later in the year.
Andy& janet wilson
Leeds

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Andy & Janet, Thank you so much for taking the time to post this kind review following your recent stay. It is great to read that you enjoyed our "Wine & Dine" special offer and you will be coming back to visit us again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed in Room 31 at The Gables Hotel from Monday 18th March 2013 to Wednesday 20th March 2013, we had a fantastic relaxing break. On arrival we were pleasently surprised at the external look of the hotel and grounds as some of the other hotels we passed on-route looked drab and tired. Check-in was speedy and in no time we were in our room where we were greeted with a chilled bottle of white wine and two wine glasses.

The room was spotlessly clean as was the bathroom, the room was cosy and had everything you would need, the room was large and although we looked out at the rear of the hotel which didn't have much of a view this suited us as we spend little time in our hotel during the day.

The bed was comfy, there was a lrge flat screen tv, phone and tea and coffee provided along with shortbread which was replenished on request or daily if not requested there was even an iron and iron board in the room and a great range of toiletries.

In the evening we had a three course meal in the hotel resturant all prepared by a chef and served by a friendly efficient waiter, drinks in the bar were very reasonable with an excellent choice.

Breakfast in the hotel was freshly cooked to order, there was a choce of continental breakfast which you helped yourself to then the waited attended to you and took your hot breakfast order, none of the items were processed it was proper 'butcher' sausages etc and there was a vegitarian option, fish and eggs cooked to your request. No complaints at all.

On the second night we ate in the lounge and again freshly prepared bar menu and again we were not disappointed.

Check-out was swift. The hotel was spotless, the staff were excellent and were not intrusive but were around if needed.

We used the hotel to tour the lakes and surrounding area, we had a fanatstic few days and would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 31, the room was at the back of the hotel, ground floor it was very quiet and away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Alex, Thank you for your super review! I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at The Gables. We aim to provide warm & comfortable surroundings, good food, a friendly atmosphere and attentive staff and it is wonderful to read that we have achieved this. Thank you once again for taking the time to post this lovely review. I hope you will come and visit us again in the future, Kind Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights and could not fault the hotel,room was excellent,dined in the restaurant first night and food was excellent,second night had a bar meal excellent as well.relaxed in bar with couple of driinks,very pleasant.Staff were very pleasant and helpful,could not fault our stay,would thoroughly recommend this hotel ,and will definetley be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Ian, Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review. It is great to see you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and would recommend us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.