We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kirsty and Rob's wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gables Hotel to your Saves list
The Gables Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kirsty and Rob's wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My daughter and her husband got married from the Gables hotel on the 27th November 2012. The staff were all fantastic and nothing was to much trouble even though they'd got a nervous father of the bride to contend with. Tea and coffee tray were provided to the future brides room whilst they were being made up for the big day and lunch was sorted for 10 of us at the drop of a hat. we then went to the wedding and arrived back for the wedding breakfast. Oh what a meal. Firstly let me say the room for the meal was set up fantastic, the bride and groom were introduced inand we sat to eat. the chicken with Haggis stuffing was to die for our compliements to the Chef and then after the meal the father of the bride speech was annouced brill. enough of our special day, the rooms were lovely comfy clean and tidy, the hotel was very comfy all over (like a home from home) and the staff were the hospitable and helpful i've had the pleasure to meet. So a big thank you to all at the Gables for making our special day even more special. The O'Keefes and the Stoners

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for posting your fantastic review following your daughters recent wedding at The Gables. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our food, service and our friendly staff, I have passed on your compliments to the rest of the team and we are all delighted that we helped to make your special day so memorable. It was a pleasure having you and your party here with us and we hope you will visit us again in the future.

From all of the team, we wish your daughter and her husband very best wishes for their future together. Kindest Regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    65
    35
    15
    7
See reviews for
103
201
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Visited this hotel in August 2012.
Could not find any faults anywhere, rooms spacious clean and bright. All public areas up to high standard. Staff very helpful and polite. Breakfast the next day was just what the doctor ordered after enjoying one (or two) too many drinks the previous night at a wedding reception nearby!
Well done gables....keep up the good work!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review on tripadvisor. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and the food and service and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the The Gables Hotel in the future. Kindest Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Have just returned from an excellent weekend at the Gables Hotel Myself and 12 others had a great weekend. The staff are excellent,, the rooms were very comfortable and food was very good. Would certainly recommend this hotel to others and are already thinking about when we can come back again - Great value for money !!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thankyou for your kind comments following your weekend break at The Gables. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay & our Scottish themed evening. We are holding a similar event in January to celebrate Burns Night arriving on Friday 25th January 2013 for 2 Nights and we would love to see you again.

Kind Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have just returned from The Gables Hotel. Myself and my wedding party (we were a small group - six in total) stayed there for three days. We organised our stay through The Wedding Bureau and I can categorically state that the entire event went off perfectly from start to finish. We had booked into the Ailsa Suite and also booked two double rooms for our guests. We were pleasantly suprised on arrival when we were told that our guests had been upgraded to four poster rooms! Our room was beautiful - just beautiful. It was spacious and tastefully decorated. The double jacuzzi bath was spectacular and the complimentary champagne in our room was a lovely touch. We also ate all our meals at the hotel and we collectively found the food to be excellent and the prices were extremely reasonable. We had a vegetarian in our party and she was well catered for. The wedding meal itself was held in the Dovetail Suite - it was perfect. Seriously, all the staff at the Gables were polite and helpful and we felt entirely at ease. Nothing was ever too much trouble and it made our wedding perfect. A special thank you to Jane on reception and wedding co-ordinators Carol and Joanne for being absolute diamonds - you guys are amazing. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Ailsa Suite is amazing if you feel inclined to spoil yourself. We also had a good look at the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Cassandra & Andrew, Thank you for this fantastic review and complimenting our hotel and staff the way you have. It was a pleasure to look after you and your guests, and I am delighted your wedding day was everything you hoped for. Thankyou for recommending us so highly and for your very kind comments.

We wish you health & happiness in your future together as husband and wife and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

When travelling down south from Forfar, we always stop in at Gretna Green for some lunch, this time we ended up following the road and taking a turn off and came across this fantastic hotel. The food was amazing and we now always make that stop at The Gables for our lunch on route. How ever, we were travelling with friends last time and there was 2 cars and we made sure we made the turn off into Gretna but car number 2 failed......i was not a happy passenger the rest of the journey. We will be in on our next trip down south, cant wait! Staff very friendly and my little boy had a very decent sized portion for a kiddies meal...well done and see you soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for this wonderful review Amanda, It was a pleasure to read and I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal here with us. Sorry to hear that you had car trouble on your last journey, however we very much look forward to welcoming you back when you are next passing.

Kind Regards Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at The Gables Hotel for one night and we had a lovely stay. We recieved a very warm welcome from the reception staff and check in ran smooth. We stayed on a ground floor room, which was decorated lovely and had everything we needed! The bed was very comfy and the tv was good too!
Breakfast was excellent and my first try of Haggis, which was yummy! Loads of choice for breakfast.
We would definately stay again and recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Gretna!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for your taking the time to give us your feedback Katie, It is such a pleasure to read your fantastic review about our hotel & team. Also thank you for pointing out some of our great attributes of the hotel; a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and a yummy Scottish breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Gables in the future,

Kindest Regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on this site. We got married at the Old Blacksmiths Shop and then had a lovely 3 course meal at The Gables, the staff were amazing and went well above their duties to accomodate us!! and we had our two boys with us who were welcomed with open arms!.....We had 17 guests for our wedding and we all stayed at The Gables. The rooms are lovely and the hotel also remains its character and history, the meals were fab and the bar isnt over priced like in some places.....
If you want a warm and friendly welcome and feel special where nothing is too much trouble then The Gables is the place for you!!!!

Thank you....Mr & Mrs D Wright

Room Tip: We had a family suite, lots of room for us and 2 children to play, also plenty of room to get ready...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gables1, Front Office Manager at The Gables Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Mr & Mrs Wright,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. It was a pleasure to look after you and your guests, and I am delighted your wedding day was everything you hoped for. Thankyou for recommending us so highly and for your very kind comments.

We would like to wish you every happiness as you begin married life together, and we hope to see you again at The Gables Hotel.

Kindest Regards, Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.