We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service,brilliant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gables Hotel to your Saves list
The Gables Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent service,brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed on the 1st June for a wedding,great food,great service, lovely rooms,could not fault it,however the one tiny point was the heating in the hallways,can they not be turned down? Overall one of th ebest hotels we have stayed at and if we go back we will surely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    86
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
115
241
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

the gables was our hotel and wedding meal choice the staff and service was faultless, with the wedding details they were able to change any plans that we needed to change at short notice with out any problem. the food was out standing our whole wedding party commented on how good it was ,every one was polite and very helpfull, the room was amazing cannot recommend this hotel enough it is perfect for a wedding venue or a holiday break. thankyou for helping to make our day special. tammy&kevin shapland

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Friendly, helpful staff, good food well appointed accommodation are all factors which make the Gables a great place for a wedding party. The registry office is close at hand and the staff are well versed in the needs of wedding guests The warm welcoming atmosphere at the hotel gave our party a day to remember - I cannot recommend it too highly!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Just returned from another great break in gretna,my wife and i were married at gretna last year,and we had our reception at the gables hotel,the hotel was excellent and the staff were superb.We liked the hotel that much we returned for our first anniversary,and again i cannot fault this hotel or the staff one bit,i am being very honest when i say that the staff at this hotel cannot do enough for you,they even put us in the same room we had for our wedding night which was a wonderful gesture,and it proves that the hotel staff go that extra mile for the guest,the food at the hotel was first class,the hotel is spotless.Once again a massive thank you to all the staff at the gables,and we look forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Was really surprised by how good the service is. The food in the restaurant is outstanding. The staff are all really friendly and helpful.
The only downside is the rooms have old fashioned decor. However the bed is comfy and the room is clean. Free wifi is a bonus. Would recommend to friends. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool England
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed at the Gables for my daughters wedding in the Anvil Hall, the Hotel staff, chefs, accomodation cannot be faulted, they were very busy ( it was the night the clocks went forward so they were losing an hour) but very cheerful polite and helpful. At one stage I asked for a glass of water from a member of staff in a corridor, the lady fetched me a glass with ice and water with a cheery smile.

I filled in a compliments slip re the Hotel and mentioned that Haggis was not on the breakfast menu and that Sunday checout and breakfast was a little early, I handed the form in on checking out on Sunday 27th March, on arriving home I recived a formal typed letter from the Reception manager appreciating the comments and saying they would put haggis on the menu and will extend the checkout and breakfast time. This letter was dated Sunday 27th March and arrived at my home by first class post on Tuesday 1st April presumably being posted on Monday 28th - incredible service.

All in All a great value lovley family friendly hotel with a 5 star feel - must mention food, evening wedding meal was terrific.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Beautiful hotel set in beautiful grounds. Staff very friendly and could not do enough for me to the extent that when I went down for breaksfast I asked them if they had any soya milk. They advised no but said they would get some for me the next day. When I came down for breakfast the next day, the had the soya milk.
The rooms were very comfortable, warm, clean and the beds were comfortable. I have stayed in many hotels in England and abroad and I can honestly say that this hotel was the cleanest I have ever stayed in. The selection and statndard of food at breakfast was good, the standard of the evening meal was also good but lacked much choice. Thank you to Gables Hotel and staff for an enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Hotel

Address: 1 Annan Road, Gretna DG16 5DQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gables Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables is an independent, family owned hotel in the heart of Gretna. This beautiful, grade-II listed Property is steeped in history and has become one of the leading wedding venue hotels in Gretna.From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are assured of a warm, friendly atmosphere where nothing is too much trouble.The Hotels restaurant has earned a reputation for fine, traditional Scottish food, offering the ideal setting to enjoy a relaxing meal with friends and family, boasting a full & varied A La Carte menu complemented by a carefully selected wine list. For those who prefer a less formal setting, our cosy lounge bar offers delicious home cooked bar meals including many traditional favourites. Offering Free Wi-Fi and ample free onsite parking, The Gables Hotel is conveniently situated only a mile from the M(A)74, M6 & A75 giving easy access to Glasgow, Dumfries & Carlisle. Perfect for exploring the colourful heritage of Gretna Green and designer shopping at The Gretna Gateway Outlet village is just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Gables Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gables Hotel Gretna Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.