We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Garden House Hotel to your Saves list
Garden House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarkfoot Road, Gretna G16 5EP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Garden House Hotel on 24-07-2012, we was up-graded to a suite with a four poster bed, the view from our room was excellent, staff very helpful, our evening meal and breakfast very nice, wi fi connection good, we will definitely stay again, thank you for being so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Our corner room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    74
    55
    27
    29
See reviews for
58
111
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Henlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My new wife and i stayed here for our wedding, but had the reception else were in gretna. Staff were good and very helpful, the rooms we stayed in were really big, often with four poster beds (we had two singles rooms then stayed in the bridal on the night of the wedding). Decor was a bit dated but added to the charm of the place. Food was good especially breakfast in the morning. Very happy with our stay. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannock
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

stayed at garden house hotel 2 /8 /12 - 4 /8 /12
had a lovley stay enjoyed our time in gretna green .
we went to book our wedding renewal for next may in gretna .
but after talking to ian the manager and mel who were so friendly and very helpfull , we have booked the whole wedding renal with the garden house hotel .
a big thank you to ian and his staff .
wendy steve

Room Tip: all rooms are large . views over japenes garden are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in the hotel from 1/8/12- 3/8/12 our room was lovely with a 4 poster bed, whirlpool bath and a sofa. We were so surprised as only paid £90 for the 2 night's b&b. The hotel was bright and staff were very friendly and helpful. Very hard working too. We had dinner the 1st night and enjoyed it so much went back the 2nd night. Great food and only £9.90 for 2 courses. Breakfast was a buffet. Not much continental stuff but the cook food was good enough for me. 2 mins to the shopping village and half hour on the bus to Carlisle. Great hotel, lovely staff and food and a great base for exploring. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed there for a friends wedding, the rooms we were given first were dirty , small and My opinion Not good value for what were charged, we complain and got moved. The breakfast was tasteless, and the whole place looked like it could do with a make over, My mate has brought the wedding package so i think the dj was in with it but probably sorry billongham ur own

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Ok straight to the point. Great value for money, clean tidy rooms, fantastic staff and if you use budget hotel chains forget them and book this one instead. Now for the weird bit .

Think of a cross between a 1970's ski lodge, A japanees garden, and an Alton towers weird hotel and this is what you get. Staying here makes you feel as if you are gatecrashing a wedding but it's great fun and you most likely will be very happy.

Bedrooms. Huge. we stayed in 307 a family room. It was showing a few signs of age but it was super clean and even had a jacuzzi style bath which was a great bonus. absolutely ideal for a family or a wee treat to get a bed each.

The bar and reception area is totally bizarre, The hotel caters for weddings but the wedding reception and dinner areas are in a huge public space in front of the reception area and not seperated from other guests. You enter and leave by the main door and this means you have to walk right past the wedding. You can hear the speeches and watch the dancing if you have a mind to and it is very strange indeed. There won't be a wedding every day but being in Gretna I would imagine there is one most weekends. Our weekend was the wedding of a lovely couple and we might even be in a few photographs <grin>.

There are no seats in the actual bar area and you have to sit in the foyer which is basically where the wedding guests are. Bar prices are reasonable.

Breakfast. errr as I said this is a budget hotel so it's a self service buffet breakfast with a decent choice. fried eggs get overcooked because they sit too long but that happens with all buffet breakfasts. The dining area is really nice and open and staff are super quick at clearing tables and couldn't be more helpful.

Dinner. We work in the hotel and food industry so we won't go into this one too much but it's decent pub grub. We ordered a "medium" steak and it came "well done" but that was being over fussy and it tasted great so we reckoned it was decent value for money

All in all you won't go wrong by booking this hotel and if you go to the rear there are some nice gardens and seating areas. A quick test of a hotel for me is the enthusiasm of the staff and they are all as pleased as punch with their new signage and little extras that seem to be getting added every few days. My wife and I are very fussy about where we stay so the question is Would I go back to the Garden house hotel? In a heartbeat

Room Tip: a room t the rear of the hotel cuts out road noise and if you are a light sleeper or early bedder yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We paid £45 for one night B and B - probably the cheapest in Gretna! Really friendly staff. Entrance/bar/restaurant reminded me of a leisure club. Room was really big looking out onto a courtyard. Bathroom was clean but old. Rooms could do with a lick of paint but it was really clean so I didn't mind. Breakfast was average - the toaster had seen better days and we had to wait for bacon on the buffet - wasn't a problem as it showed food was freshly cooked and not sat on the counter for too long. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Hotel

Address: Sarkfoot Road, Gretna G16 5EP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gretna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden House Hotel is more than just a fabulous wedding venue with large affordable accommodation, the Garden House Hotel is The Perfect Spot to meet for business meetings, to take a break on longer journeys or to simply relax in our beautiful gardens.Whatever your reasons for visiting Scotland why not stop off and enjoy the relaxing surroundings of the Garden House Hotel in Gretna Green?The hotel already has a fantastic reputation as a great romantic location for couples who want to get married in Gretna Green.But the Garden House Hotel is also a great place to stay if you’re going on holiday and want to break the journey or just to recharge your batteries if you’re on an important business trip.The hotel’s location, just off the M6, is ideal for a short comfort break, with affordable hot food, tea and coffee and free wi-fi to check those important email messages.And while your phone recharges you can wile away a couple of hours in the beautiful and relaxing Japanese gardens. Or guests can make use of the superbly equipped conference facilities.And for those wanting to stay a little longer the rooms are huge but the prices are reasonable.In short The Garden House Hotel is a great place to get married or hold a civil ceremony, is ideal for business meetings, to break a longer journey or simply to chill out and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Garden House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Hotel Gretna Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.