We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minimoon/small honeymoon break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Park Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Minimoon/small honeymoon break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Beautiful grounds, stunning outside pool area and spa, gorgeous food, very clean and we had a beautiful room with lovely views.

The only things that lets this place down is the lack of atmosphere in the dining area and the staff were quite unattentive, even when they didn't seem busy. We ate in the restaurant on our second night and waited 15 mins for our drinks order to be taken when there were only 6 other tables in use in the restaurant.

The bar was also very disappointing, with supermarket bottles of coke being used and then poured into half pint glasses and sold for 4 x the amount the bottle cost from the supermarket!

We were lucky that the sun was out for the entirety of our stay so we were able to make the most of the outdoor pool which was the highlight of our stay.

We would return for a spa day, but wouldn't stay again as the bar area was very small we were unimpressed with the restaurant atmosphere in the evening.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at_homewoodpark, General Manager at Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Hello Legoman2012,
Thanks for you candid review following your recent visit, the team and i are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Spa and food to a very high standard.

Thank you for your comments regarding the ambiance in the restaurant and bar, we are currently in the process of putting together new plans to relocate our bar to the drawing the room next to the restaurant and during this process will fully refurbish the bar and lounge areas as we seek to create that 'buzz' and theater to compliment the fantastic, award winning food we serve.

I hope we can welcome you back in the future to see the changes we make, please do get in touch,

Regards
Chris Baigent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    152
    57
    30
    18
See reviews for
70
248
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We celebrated our wedding at Homewood Park in June 2014, hiring the venue exclusively for two days. As soon as we arrived to check out the venue on our first visit, we just fell in love with the place, it was exactly what we were looking for.

The grounds and the hotel are just stunning, the bedrooms are a great mix of modern contemporary and classic 'English Country', the pool and spa were a fantastic bonus for our guests and the food throughout the weekend was outstanding. This doesn't even touch on the highlight for me; the hotel staff. From Sheila, our Wedding Co-ordinator (whose praises I cannot sing highly enough, she is fantastic!!) and Claire and her team of service staff, everyone we encountered across the weekend was a pleasure to deal with.

We had quite a clear idea of how we wanted our weekend to go; from decor both inside and outdoors on the lawn, to the quantities of drinks and selection and timings of the food and our evening entertainment on both nights. The team at Homewood Park worked closely with us to ensure that everything we were looking for was delivered and it resulted in just the most fantastic weekend - it was everything that we could have asked for, and for the month since, we have received nothing but amazing feedback and compliments from all our guests about the wedding and the hotel. I cannot recommend these guys enough!!

Room Tip: Depends on your taste as they have a variety of styles and sizes. My advice would be to talk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We went to eat at the hotel on the evening of our anniversary, we chose it as we had just joined the Gourmet Society and they were listed on there offering 25% discount.
The Friday evening we went there were only the two couples in the restaurant so it was very quiet, although their booking diary on their website indicated that they well quiet full?
I had 3 courses and my wife had 2, 2 glasses of champagne, bottle of beer and a glass of wine all came to just over £100, after discount it was £75, which to be honest is about what it was worth.
Ok for a one off special occasion, otherwise a bit pricey. Food was tasty but the portions could have been a bit bigger.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Homewood Park is a lovely hotel with beautiful rooms, We stayed in the Garden room which was a little warm but well equipped. The staff are helpful and the food is very good. Unfortunately we were staying on a day prior to a wedding when the pool area was taken over with guests and children, with little regard for other guests. We stayed about 10 years ago and enjoyed our return visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lovely overnight stay at this hotel. Never ate in restaurant but breakfast was excellent. All staff very helpful . Spa treatment was one of the best I have had.
Gardens were lovely and you could play croquet as well
We had a lovely time and would return

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel last week. It is a stunning character property situated in beautifully maintained grounds. The spa is a real positive aspect of this hotel. It is well maintained - the pool, sauna and steam room are wonderful. We had a lovely time, however, we did feel that the hotel was definitely overpriced for the service received (many other reviewers have suggested the same) For example, you have to pay extra if you would like smoked salmon or haddock from the breakfast menu.
Based on our experience I would also highly recommend booking a table at Brasserie Blanc in Bath for dinner - fantastic value for money and a great ambiance. Only a 15 minute drive from the hotel.

Positives and negatives in brief:

+ spa towels were plentiful
+ spa & changing facilities clean and well maintained, lovely pool
+ room 12 beautifully furnished and lovely comfortable size.
+ luxurious bath robes.
+ very friendly and helpful staff
+ beautiful grounds

- no mini bar in rooms (this would be expected in a 4* hotel)
- no face cloths or tooth mugs provided in bathroom
- only 7 loungers around pool - definitely not enough for number of hotel rooms (20-22 rooms)
- breakfast very basic and top ups have to be requested rather than noticed by staff
- hotel ran out of brown bread & orange juice after 20 mins of serving breakfast - go early!
- breakfast service staff rather forgetful, they forgot our cooked order.

Overall we had a lovely stay but you may well feel cheated by the shortcomings if you have paid full price for your stay. It is a wonderful place that just needs a little more attention to detail to make it worth the cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just back from a fabulous night away at this amazing hotel. The staff are superb, the facilities wonderful, a truly magnificent break. Left feeling throughly spoilt. The spa was fantastic and the gardens truly magnificent. Thank you, looking forward to next time already.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Park Hotel & Spa

Address: Abbey Lane, Hinton Charterhouse, Bath BA2 7TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Hinton Charterhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hinton Charterhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Homewood Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning country house boasting 21 bedrooms with views over award winning gardens. Home of the award winning restaurant at Homewood Park boasting two AA rosettes and listed in the top three hotel restaurant in Somerset (Somerset Life). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Park Hotel Hinton Charterhouse
Homewood Park Hotel And Spa
Homewood Park Somerset
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa Bath/Hinton Charterhouse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Park Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.