We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clunelly House

Save Saved
You added Clunelly House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clunelly House
Quigley's point, Redcastle | Inishowen, Quigley's Point, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Tipperary, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the end of April while attending a wedding at a nearby hotel. We cannot say enough about the quality of this B&B, it was faultless. We had tea and cake after arriving and it was very welcome after the long drive. The room was excellent and we had a wonderful breakfast each morning, enough to keep you going for the rest of the day. George & Sheila are so friendly and helpful and even offered to drive us to the hotel for the reception and Sheila made arrangements for me to get my hair done on the morning of the wedding. It was no problem to get there as it is so well signposted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penguinville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Shelia and George are a lovely friendly couple.

*Very* large and well appointed room with a nice view.

Good Irish breakfast

We had a small issue with the shower which George fixed immediately, and Sheila even did our laundry!

Very well signposted from both directions, but a GPS location on the website would be useful.

Unfortunately this B&B is cash only

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This is my third stay here,and as usual was made to feel very welcome.
There is nothing I can fault with any aspect of the bed and breakfast.
Rooms very clean and tidy,the nice breakfast is enough to keep you going for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I had a most delightful experience at Clunelly House. This is really home from home and more.
From theq warm welcome we received from Sheila and George to our departure everything was first class. We had a large double room at the front of the house with stunning views - the room had everything we could ask for.
We were going to a wedding at the nearby Redcastle Hotel - Sheila even offered to run us down to the hotel.
We were greeted with a smile and a hug from Sheila - who kindly made us a pot of tea and served freshly baked breads and delightful pastries.
The breakfast menu had so much choice - served in a very pleasant dining room - again with stunning views.
We enjoyed our chat with this lovely couple who shared their home and their wealth of local information with us.
The only disappointment was that we hadn't stayed longer - but we will return.
Thank you both.

Room Tip: We had a tour of this delightful accommodation - every room was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Clunelly House for a friends wedding in the nearby redcastle oceanfront hotel. Staying in this guesthouse is like a home from home experience. We were greeted by the owners George and Sheila who were so welcoming,friendly and warm. The rooms were clean,comfortable and spacious. The owners are so accommodating that they even dropped us to the hotel for the wedding to save us getting a taxi over. Breakfast the next morning was perfect, well cooked, great variety, all we needed and more, topped off by lovely views from the conservatory breakfast room. This guesthouse was great value for money in a prime location with lovely ocean views. It is definately worth a stay if you have an occasion to go to in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I cannot say enough about the hospitality both george and sheila provied for us. We stayed in this bed and breakfast for a week and used it as a base to travel from. The family room was spacious and spotless and felt like home. The breakfast was plentiful and good quality. Both hosts went out of their way to accommodate us and I recommend the service they provided. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in September, and wish we had booked more! Brilliant location, George and Sheila were so helpful and lovely people! Really went out of their way to help us settle in and make sure we had all we needed for us to enjoy our stay. Sheila even left us down and collected us again from the local pub. Breakfast every morning was delicious and the view from the bedroom we stayed in was beautiful. We'll definitely be back :) Excellent location for wanting to see the nice sights of Donegal. Thanks George & Sheila.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clunelly House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clunelly House

Address: Quigley's point, Redcastle | Inishowen, Quigley's Point, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Quigley's Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Quigley's Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Clunelly House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clunelly House Ireland/County Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clunelly House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.