We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Trips Avoch

Dolphin Trips Avoch
Harbour Office | Pierhead, Avoch IV9 8PT, Scotland
01381 622383
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I had reservations about going out on such a small boat but the skipper knew exactly what he was doing
We saw loads of dolphins and they were even swimming along side the boat at one point
Fantastic.
Highly recommended

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    8
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of our visit to Scotland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had a fantastic time when we went to see dolphins, the guide was excellent...very knowledgeable and very funny! We were joined by Spud the dog who helped spot the Dolphins for us (getting very excited when they surfaced). Lots of Dolphins to see and managed to get a few good photos. There was even a few young Dolphins to be seen

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We went on this boat trip today all i can say was it was amazing .we were hoping to see a few dolphins but instead we were lucky enough to see dozens swimming right under the boat jumping up and flipping over. Great value for money friendly staff would highly reccomend. Will defenatley be back .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dolphintastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked a trip with Avoch Dolphin Trips only half expecting to see any Dolphins. On this day we were fortunate enough to see plenty of dolphins (or perhaps just a few who moved around a lot). We also saw a couple of seals on what was a glorious sunny afternoon. The price is very reasonable (£37 for two adults and a child) and we had a good hour out in the boat. The skipper is a very experienced and friendly seaman who made sure that our safety was his primary concern. The boat itself is a 24 foot dory which can shift when he opens it up. You are a little exposed to the elements with no canopy over you so I would recommend taking a waterproof jacket or a warm fleece in any less than glorious sunshine. The seating was very comfortable with plenty of leg room and the openness of the boat means you get very good all round views of the wildlife and coastal scenery. Best bit of our holiday and fully recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This boat trip to see dolphins was absolutely fantastic. We saw lots of dolphins and the skipper was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend to people who want a close encounter with dolphins. Spud (Collie dog) kept us on our toes as he was trying to herd the dolphins. Don't be put off as the owners will ask if you mind the dog coming aboard.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Trips Avoch also viewed

Fortrose, Ross and Cromarty

Been to Dolphin Trips Avoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Trips Avoch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.