We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkbank House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkbank House
Save
You added Kirkbank House to your Saves list
| Berwick upon Tweed, Paxton TD15 1TE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Paxton B&B and Inns
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Best B+B we have stayed in. Hosts were charming and welcoming; lemongrass room was beautifully presented as was the interesting and comfortable guest lounge. Breakfast was excellent with very interesting touches--cold meats included salami etc from their own pig! Good pub in the village for good dinner in friendly environment. And of course location wonderful.

Room Tip: Don't miss a visit to nearby Paxton House
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W, Manager at Kirkbank House, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hi Trevor. Thank you for your very kind words. Sadly, we have finished the last of Coppa's (our own pig's) salami. Peelham Farm looked after Coppa for us, and made the salami, and we stil use Peelham for most of our meat produce - organic, free range, rare-breed. Links on our website to them. And Paxton House is closed until c. Easter next year, but the grounds are still worth a visit, as is tye walk along the Tweed below the House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
87
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We recently enjoyed one nights stay at Kirkbank house and were hugely impressed. We chose to stay in the Ginger room, which has a lovely large, comfortable bed and a large en suite. Everything was beautifully furnished and the hospitality was spot on - friendly and welcoming without being overly fussy. Breakfast was an absolute treat, with a wide selection on offer. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W, Manager at Kirkbank House, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hi Chris, and thanks for the positive review. We are plaeased you enjoyed your stay with us. Be well, and see you again soon, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Normally stay in Hotels but this was a very pleasant change. Luxury room and large separate private bathroom. Hosts were very friendly and service was first class. Gorgeous breakfast in a really relaxing barn style conversion lounge.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W, Manager at Kirkbank House, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hello Shaun

We are belssed with a beautiful view acros to the Cheviots...Really leased you enjoyed your B+B experience, and hope to see you back again soon. Have a good christmas and New Year...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spent my birthday this year with my family at Kirkbank. We booked the whole house. Fiona and Hilary went out of their way to make it special by responding to every additional request incuding afternoon tea in the lovely sunny garden and a delicious buffet dinner. The ensuite bedrooms were immaculate and contemporary, with big comfortable beds so we all had a great night's sleep. For breakfast, there was a large varied menu and I had a spicy kedgeree which was really tasty and dealt with my hangover from the night before!
I would definitely recommend staying here as the house is set in a lovely part of the Scottish borders in a quiet location. Our stay with such a friendly couple could not have been better.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W, Manager at Kirkbank House, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hello Moira

Glad you enjoyed your birthday - we shall keep the numbers involved confidential!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

From booking to departure Fiona could not do enough to help make our stay as pleasant as possible. Numerous emails to confirm our requirements and to help us to book an evening meal at the local pub which was the only disappointing bit of the visit (nothing to do with Fiona and Hilary - the lpace was dead and the food was average).
The room was beautiful, clean, luxurious and comfortable. I had the best night sleep in the ENORMOUS bed! A plate of fresh fruit and home made fruit and nut slice was a welcome surprise on arrival. Another nice touch was the flask of fresh milk rather than 12ml UHT tubs that you can't remove the lid from. We also appreciated the fluffy dressing gowns and the radox bubble bath rather than small bottles that never elicit enough bubbles! One caution, if you were staying in the top room, the bath is HUGE! You definitely need two of you in there or you'll drown - unless you are 6'6"+.
Breakfast was lovely with whatever you fancy cooked for you just how you like it. I enjoyed the home made muesli and fresh natural yoghurt with fresh fruit whilst my husband tucked into a bacon and egg sandwich to die for!
The living space for guests was immense, large sofas, chairs and stools sit in a large room decorated with unusual and interesting ornaments mostly from the Far East. The gardens are also beautiful and for a summer visit would be great to relax in with a cup of tea and a good book!
All in all I would recommend to anyone. Fiona was chatty and friendly during breakfast, unfortunately Hilary had gone to work so we did not meet her!
Keep up the good work you two and thank you.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W, Manager at Kirkbank House, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you Rachel S for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon, and maybe you will meet Hilary next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My Wife and I were desparate to escape the rat race for a couple of days in mid October and Kirkbank House proved the ideal getaway destination.

Our hosts carried out a little bit of research for us prior to our arrival and were able to provide us with an itinary which idealy suited our needs and we were able to make the most of our all too short two night stay.

The rooms,food and service were excellent and we were always assured of a warm welcome when we returned from our travels.

A big tip for all you travel junkies out there - there's an excellent pub in the village The Cross Inn it serves Real Ale and excellent food - an excellent hostess and we found it a great way to end the day - no need to travel miles it's on your doorstep

We'll be back the next time we need to recharge our batteries

Gary and Sue Evans

Room Tip: all were really nice but we chose the one with the under floor heating well it was October after all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W, Manager at Kirkbank House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Hello again, Gary and Sue. We will pass on your comments to Julie in the Cross Inn - she will be really pleased. As to the u'f heating - it is installed in two of the rooms. Sadly, the 18th century layout of the house means we can't have the plumbing neeed in Lemongrass. :-( But as I say, it is in both Ginger and Frangipani ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We were only able to stay for one night but wish it could have been longer. The house and it's garden are both lovely with incredible views on all sides, particularly of the cheviot hills to the south. Fiona and Hilary were very friendly and helpful and the room was beautifully decorated and immaculate with a number of personal touches, such as homemade cake! Last but not least, the breakfast was excellent and very well cooked.

Overall, we had a beautiful night away and would highly recommend to anyone. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona W, Manager at Kirkbank House, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thanks for the very kind words, both. We loved having you to stay, and you would be more than welcome to return, whenever you are ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirkbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkbank House

Address: | Berwick upon Tweed, Paxton TD15 1TE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Paxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Paxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful 5 star country house with spectacular views over the Cheviot Hills and miles of rolling countryside in between, with a tranquil garden in which to sit and contemplate. Located conveniently on the East Coast five miles from Berwick upon Tweed with easy access to the airports of Edinburgh and Newcastle. We are ideally located for anyone on a walking, golfing, or cycling break in the Scottish Borders or Northumberland, or just for a romantic getaway. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkbank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.