We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lower Lakes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lower Lakes to your Saves list
Lower Lakes
Straight Drove, Chilton Trinity TA5 2BQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Drammen, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were three friends staying at Lower Lakes while visiting Bridgewater in May, and we had a wonderful time. Very peaceful and beautiful place. The cabin we stayed in was very comfortable and nicely decorated, with a wonderful view of the lake outside. The people working there are very service minded and helpful and made our stay the best it could possibly be. A great alternative to a small hotel room. I would go back any time!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
38
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Lower lakes is a haven of peace, a lovely setting with well equiped lodges and friendly staff.
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit there. The lakes are lovely and the area is great to explore...
It is seldom that one can find such a peaceful setting so close to a large town..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I can recommend Lower Lakes to anyone, i travel across the UK staying at various hotels and this is without doubt the best value accomodation. The setting is excellent with views of the lakes and the standard of the lodges is first class. I would be happy to use this as a base for holidays and also whilst on business.

Room Tip: All the lodges used so far are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Before the stay communication was great and the booking was carried out quickly and efficiently.

The one bed cabin apartment I stayed in was very attractive, with a tasteful interior. It had a well equipped kitchen with everything one might need and was scrupulously clean throughout.

The shower worked well with plenty of hot water and the bed was extremely comfortable and a proper big double/king size?? bed ... anyway it felt huge!

The staff kindly booked me in at 8pm despite the fact they normally want people to book in by 5pm - and they greeted me with smiles and were courteous and gave me a good briefing.

I was there for a day's training and the service and quality of the food was superb.

This is a very well run business with exceptionally good staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the Meadowside Lodge (3 bedroom) for Christmas. It was gorgeous with luxury underfloor heating with ensuite for master bedroom and enormous family bathroom. They have a hot tub ready for January on the outside decking as an extra bonus. If you were going there to fish this is a lodge furthest away from the bank so you cannot be close to your rods if popping back to the lodge. The swims need a little more attention i.e. barked lined swims, reeds cut back, because it was very boggy to walk to and fro in the weather we had. Would love to see a 4 bedroom so we could return with another family of four.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Beats a hotel any day of the week. We stayed 3 nights in a beautiful log cabin with a view of the lake where we watched the sunrise and sunset - just magic! The cabin is fully heated so nice and snug. It has an equipped kitchen (I hesitate to say fully equipped but enough to get you by), sofa, chairs, TV with DVD player. There is a shower room - with large good quality shower and separate bedroom with comfy bed and nice quality bedding. Peter and Laura who run the place are just lovely - and hugely accommodating when our plans changed. This is a great place to stay - near the M5 (but not so close to hear any noise), tucked away behind Bridgewater and 20 mins down the motorway to Taunton. It is great for a country break to chill out or as a business base for the surrounding area (we were actually visiting a relative in Taunton hospital)

Room Tip: This is not a hotel - each log cabin is your own home for the duration of your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Looking for a fabulous quiet retreat, this is it!
Near Bridgwater which quite frankly is a place to avoid visiting for pleasure.
I stayed at Lower Lakes a couple of years ago and decided to go back with my wife to stay before a car auction the next day.
Reception was great, very welcoming. This is not a usual hotel or B&B, but large fishing lodges which are rented out, these are fabulous and luxurious.
No real negatives, just passed a couple of suggestions for improvements made to the management to make an already great place that little bit more perfect.

Would I go back - well I already have!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lower Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lower Lakes

Address: Straight Drove, Chilton Trinity TA5 2BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chilton Trinity
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chilton Trinity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lower Lakes is a private estate for a select few individuals that want the opportunity to escape the busyness of life and relax and unwind with stunning views across the lake and towards the Quantock Hills ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lower Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lower Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.