We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chillaxing Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watermill Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Slapton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Watermill Cottages
Save
You added Watermill Cottages to your Saves list
Higher North Mill, Slapton TQ6 0LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stonnall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chillaxing Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Third time at Quack Cottage with our two dogs. Every time has been great and thus week didn't disappoint. No wifi and TV is manor from heaven and playing cricket in the garden (yes it's that big) takes me bag to childhood. Great to see our dogs roam free and our daughter playing with the ducks and chickens and talking to other kids (as opposed to texting).
Great location great holiday....very chilled out!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Great to see you all have so much fun again and thank you for your comments - as she helped me feed the hens, your daughter happily suggested the name for our new chick who is now Ora as its mum is called Rita! An update for me on the latest pop trends. Great that the kids all got on so well and loved the stream. Look forward to welcoming you back for more hen or duckling naming next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chellaston, null, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just spent a week away with our two children and Saffi our Weimaraner! We stayed in Rose Cottage and was greeted by homemade lemon cake and flowers, lovely touch! Jade greeted us and explained the ins and outs and made us feel really welcome. The cottage was a comfortable and cosy 2 bedroomed cottage. Log fires downstairs which were a lovely treat even though there are plenty of storage/panel heaters in each room should you need them but we enjoyed having a roaring fire even though at night it wasn't that cold. Well equipped kitchen and lovely hot water for showers etc. Handmade eco friendly soap and cleaners left for you to use, which were lovely as they are trying to keep everything clean and safe for their beautiful valley, we even bought some and took it home.

The valley is idyllic and set in a rural position along a long narrow typically Devon road, we loved it but it is out of the way so there's no nipping to a shop on foot. Not that you need to there are plenty of villages a short drive away.

Our two children loved to play in the brook and explore the woodland on site. They were even invited to help feed the chickens and ducks which they loved! We had a mini tour of their poly tunnels as well where they grow their vegetables. We also saw their sheep on the hillside.

Highly recommended to get away from it all and get back to nature. We didn't miss our phones or televisions at all instead we had bbqs, played and fished in the brook, explored and walked in the woods and visited lots of beaches a short drive away. What more could you want, we will be going back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you, S - it is a delight for children to play 'off grid' and really experience the fun to be had playing outside in nature, it's not surprising that they slept in! Wet suits and river shoes were a great idea. Lovely to see them free range happily. Glad you all enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greystones, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and 4 year old son absolutely enjoyed our visit here.Very peaceful setting, we stayed in Mill Cottage, our hosts were very accommodating.We didn't have a dog, but it was a dog friendly place.Lots of lambs, chickens and ducks to visit regularly with little ones.We found it an ideal place as a base for exploring The Hams.Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
So glad you enjoyed a nourishing stay in the valley at Watermill Cottages and enjoyed all that the South Hams has to offer, it is a stunning place to be - lovely to see how much pleasure a four year old has playing with all creatures great and small - thanks for your help with feeding ducklings and exercising Bess! We look forward to welcoming you back, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner and myself have been to the cottages twice now- however my partner came as a child and has returned with myself, after incredibly fond memories.
The cottages are all unique and beautiful, set in beautiful valley. The views are something I can only descibe as magical- I have never stayed in such a picturesque and beautiful place.
Very sad to leave each time, each holiday has brought many happy
Memories.
The owners are very kind and welcoming. Each going out of their way to be hospitable and providing a homely experience. A definite place to visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you D for your kind words, we're delighted that you enjoyed Watermill Cottages so much the second time, and look forward to meeting your new collie puppy from Devon when you come again in September. Let's hope the weather's as great as it is in May and June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Remember how Alice goes down a rabbit hole in Wonderland and finds a magical place unlike any other? Well, when we go to Watermill Cottages (twice so far in one year and another in the planning), we feel it is a bit like that. No wifi, no TV, no traffic noise. Just the rush of the stream and the birdsong, the animals and silence. This is the kind of place that inspired WH Davies to write his poem, Leisure... "What is this world if full of care, we have no time to stand and stare..." Here, we slough off the dry skin of the 'real world' and bask in the bliss of how things used to be and should be. From the great fish and chips in Slapton, to the farm shop with real, hung, beef, the Pig's Nose pub where you can help yourself to knitting needles and wool after a bracing coastal walk. Beware. If you ever visit Watermill Cottages, you may get addicted....

Room Tip: All cottages are great, but Crownwheel is closest to the water, Quack has the cutest name and garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WatermillCottages, Owner at Watermill Cottages, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Looking forward to welcoming you back down the rabbit hole to our Watermill Wonderland in July, Jo! Thank you for your kind words, and looking forward to seeing you stand, stare, gaze, dream and relax here in summer - and bring your journal for writing and creating by the stream, in the gardens - or at the Ways WIth Words literary festival at Dartington Hall near Totnes from 5-15 July. now, which cottage...?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Wow! We have just had our first stay at Watermill Cottages (Crownwell). As you drive down the lane towards the cottages you truly feel as though you are leaving the hustle and bustle of everyday life and getting away from it all. Mobile phone signals become a distant memory as you tackle the twisting bends and narrow lanes with you final view being of the most delightful little hamlet tucked beneath the trees canopy.
Christine & John are absolutely fantastic and happy to share their little bit of paradise with you. Their love and knowledge of the area is brilliant. Add this to the trips up the lane to feed sheep, ducks, chickens, etc and our four year old forgot completely about Ben 10 and the Disney Channel! On the rare occasion that you may want to leave you dog for a few hours, or the whole day, prearranged dog sitting/walking can be arranged.
The cottage we stayed in, Crownwell, was beautiful, clean and tidy. The walk up by the river in the morning was lovely. Listening to the water rushing passed the downstairs bedroom certainly made for a good nights sleep.
This will definitely be a return location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been visiting Watermill Cottages for 14 years and it has become like a second home. Fantastic location for the dogs as there is limited through traffic at the cottages and lots of walks. The cottages are set in a beautiful part of Devon and every year we discover something new about the area we have not found before. The cottages are not too far from Slapton, Dartmouth, Kingsbridge and Totnes with many wonderful restaurants in the area to suit all pockets, ranging from upmarket in Dartmouth to family friendly in Slapton. Christine, John and Jade are a fountain of knowledge about the area and happy to give advice if you need it. Plenty of local produce shops, if you are self-catering, to be found in the surrounding areas. The cottages are always clean and ready for guests when they arrive, with the bonus of some of Christine's lovely cakes waiting for the first cup of tea. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Watermill Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Cottages

Address: Higher North Mill, Slapton TQ6 0LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Slapton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Slapton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rediscover what life is all about as you relax and unwind in one of our five comfy Watermill Cottages in the tranquil coastal Gara Valley, Slapton, Nr Dartmouth in Devon. Our dog friendly historic old stone cottages offer you your own private garden or patio with bbq & outdoor furniture, and are perfect if you want to get away from it all... ...a rural retreat for eco-friendly breaks too. If you're interested in being self sufficient, we generate electricity from a water turbine, grow our own meat and veg, and press our own apples for juice & cider on a smallholding on 13+ secret acres near the sea. The cottages are tastefully converted from the former mill building, barns & workers’ cottages round the old mill-house, built in the 1750s. Each is individual in decor yet offers you spacious, comfortable accommodation, a modern fitted kitchen (with washing machine, microwave, electric oven or range, kettle, toaster, fridge-freezer), bathrooms with baths and showers. Walks from your cottage door and beyond on green lanes, a 24 hour wildlife channel right outside your window. Woods, meadows, shared lawns, & a shallow stream to enjoy - a haven of peace and tranquility almost untouched by the modern world. Holidays like they used to be ... We welcome free-range kids and well-behaved dogs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watermill Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.