We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Harbour Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab & Lobster

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidlesham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crab & Lobster
Save
You added The Crab & Lobster to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Mill Lane | Sidlesham, Sidlesham, Chichester PO20 7NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Sidlesham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delightful Harbour Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This was our third visit in as many years to this wonderful 'gastropub' located on the edge of Pagham Harbour with stunning views. Each time the food has been excellent and on this occasion we were lucky enough to have a sun-filled evening to enjoy the garden. Our food was of a very high standard with wonderful presentation and flavours. The chef has to be commended on the very high quality. In addition, the staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. If you are looking for a 'special' and individual meal then this is the place to go. We will certainly look to re-visiting when next in the Chichester area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    41
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
28
123
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We attended the crab & lobster for dinner as unfortunately the rooms were fully booked. It's very bright and airy for a cottage like pub and had a lovely atmosphere. The food was very tastey, good portions and clean. Between us we had thai fishcakes and mackeral to start, seabass taglietelle and lamb rump for main then were too full for desert so just had ice cream. It was all delicious, albeit slightly pricey. Staff were very helpful and friendly and I would recommend anyone who's visiting the chichester area to eat here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Crab and Lobster has an idyllic setting and is now a lively gastro-pub. We ate extremely well off the fairly pricey set menu and had good and friendly service throughout. However the bill, when it came listed our set menu dishes separately, resulting in an overcharge of £1.00 each. Not a lot on the price of the meal, but I did wonder if this is a systematic mistake. The waitress had no idea why it happened.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a great place,perfect location and very historic.The staff are very attentive and friendly,the food is exceptional,and sourced locally, the baked alaska was an excellent choice.nothing can be faulted.Well worth a visit if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just come back from having a fantastic lunch. Lovely location, wonderful food, and great atmosphere. I had halibut beautifully cooked and my daughter had lobster. We don't usually have a dessert , but glad we did the chocolate tart with peanut butter ice cream was delicious.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

For the best customer service and genuine caring attitude you cannot beat the Crab & Lobster.
I spent an excellent weekend during Festival of Speed weekend and the friendliness, support and helpfulness of the staff was a credit to the business. The room was excellent, the food fabulous and the location and views were beautiful.
Unfortunately we had an incident with our car and the staff were incredible and could not have offered more to support us. I also had to leave a day early and, despite how busy they were, the staff re-arranged rooms and helped us to sort our problem.
It is rare to find staff like Mark and Sophie who genuinely cared about us and nothing was too much trouble even when they had power cuts to deal with.
I have a feeling this is the type of place anyone would want to return to enjoy great food, wine and excellent customer service that went beyond expectations.
The owners of this business should be very proud and grateful for the impression their staff leave on their customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed one night, recently, and the Crab and Lobster exceeded expectations. I feared they might play up the twee factor - that dreaded tendency that some historic inns have of overstating the "ye olde" qualities. But this inn gets it right - the foundation of the building is genuinely old in the best sense yet the rooms are modern and comfortable. A stunning bouquet of white flowers graced our window, and the views are pastoral. Be warned - you can hear the folks over top of you.

It's in the kitchen that this inn excels. Someone knows what they're doing - we started with plump Thai crab cakes served over superb chili sauce. I had open roast veggie ravioli with grilled halloumi which was simple but fantastic. My partner had roast lamb with layered potato and aubergine and jus. And if you order the homemade ice-cream go for the peanut butter, or raspberry sorbet. Yum. Finally breakfast was a leisurely affair of fresh strawberries, thick yogurt, and a full English offering, supplemented with thick, rustic bread and preserves. And a large pot of coffee. Fantastic from beginning to end. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crab & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crab & Lobster

Address: Mill Lane | Sidlesham, Sidlesham, Chichester PO20 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Sidlesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sidlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Crab & Lobster 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Crab And Lobster
The Crab & Lobster Hotel West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab & Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.