We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Landseer House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Landseer House to your Saves list
Landseer House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cow Lane | Sidlesham, Chichester, W Sussex, Sidlesham, Chichester PO20 7LN, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Sidlesham B&B and Inns
Winchester
1 review
“Delightful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was a chance last minute booking and was chosen for its location. However it was a particularly good find and we shall definitely return and recommend to others.
Our large peaceful room was elegantly and traditionally furnished with great attention to detail and comfort. The bathroom was of exceptionally high standard with a super shower and king size bath.
The views from the windows of countryside and sea were beautiful.
The breakfast room,standard of food and service were of a very high standard.
The very warm and friendly owners clearly take great personal pride in running a first class establishment. The Hotel Inspector would find it very difficult to find fault here!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
31
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

My husband and I spent a wonderful weekend break at Landseer House for the first time in May 2011. It is located on a quiet road in Siddlesham and is just simply beautiful. The whole house is immacutale - thoughtfully and tastefully appointed with a super breakfast room. I highly recommend Landseer House to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, elegant and peaceful setting. It is close to Chichester and the Witterings. We look forward to visiting again soon! Mr & Mrs Mann, London

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Booked the Landseer after our friends at the crab and Lobester Resturant nearby recommanded this to us, its was fantasic, rooms unbelievable, breakfast, well eat all you want and more, Sarah was so helpful to us with everything we needed. the grounds and house along is worth the visit. will go again, we stayed for one night as a birthday treat away, would go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We would strongly recommend a stay at the Landseerhouse, Sidlesham. A lovely place let by Sarah and Geoffrey. Our room (no. 2) had very comfortable beds (twin bed) and opposite a very large bathroom. The Full English Breakfast was excellent and still enough for a long lasting (holi-) day. Also the dogs are very friendly.
Advice: ask Sarah for very good restaurant recommendations and let Geoffrey tell you something about the drawing in the dining room.
Kind Regards, Jörg

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We arrived at the delightful home of Sarah and Geoffery very much later than we had planned. Never the less, Sarah greeted us with smiles and good humour. A comfortable bed, good bathroom and a well cooked 'full English' breakfast. What else do you want?

This was our base for the Goodwood Revival in 2010. Geoffrey is a fellow car enthusiast and an interesting raconteur on a variety of subjects.

In short, a B&B well worth its many good reviews. If you are planning a trip to this part of England, do not hesitate to book at Landseer House. We did not want to leave! We even left our laundry behind to ensure constant touch :)

Now the woman's perspective: 'I am hard to please, but this place did it. The service was impeccable from the moment of booking to our late-ish check-out. Sarah responded to every query and honoured every request, from recommending and booking excellent restaurants for us well before our arrival - one has to, as the area is very busy during Goodwood Revival - to putting a good steam iron and ironing board in the room. Both hosts were tolerant of our late arrivals and departures and attentive to our needs. Checking out, my husband and I left our laundry bag behind, but a phone call was enough to sort it and have the bag posted to us. Finally, the essential for every woman: the small bathroom (room 3) is well planned and well supplied. Did you happen to forget cotton wool pads and buds? They were there, a rare touch even in more expensive places in England. Good attention to detail throughout.'

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

I would recommend Landseer House unreservedly. We had room 1, which I would say was the equivalent of a 5 star luxury hotel without the fuss. Sarah and Geoffrey Blake are charming hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. We will be going back.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Perfect in every way. Immaculate housekeeping, beautiful decor, a warm welcome and much help and guidance throughout. Super breakfasts and plentiful luxury, with thoughtful added extras. We were sorry to leave. The only downside is that dinner is not offered, but we loved the Crab & Lobster Inn nearby.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Landseer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landseer House

Address: Cow Lane | Sidlesham, Chichester, W Sussex, Sidlesham, Chichester PO20 7LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Sidlesham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sidlesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Landseer House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Landseer House is located in the charming village of Sidlesham, just minutes from Chichester, Goodwood and the West Sussex coast. The main house, home to the bed and breakfast rooms, and the self-catering cottages are located off a peaceful private country lane in four and a half acres of beautiful gardens and grounds. Landseer House has a warm and welcoming atmosphere, and its luxurious rooms and cottages effortlessly blend elegance and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Landseer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landseer House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.