We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out for the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney

Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney
Sea Breeze Lane, Bonnie Vale, Bundeena, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia
0295445294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Bundeena
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bundeena Kayaks in based in the gorgeous beach suburb of Bundeena in southern Sydney. Bordered by the Royal National Park and the Hacking Waterway, which is the perfect base for a paddling or hiking adventure. Kayaks and paddle boards are available for hire from Wed to Sunday and guided eco-tours, kayak and paddle board lessons run regularly.Surrounded by stretches of sandy swimming beaches, the famous Royal National Park and a great picnic and camping areas. Bundeena also has a choice of cafes and superb bushwalking, so plan your visit today!
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day out for the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and two kids (8 & 9-years-old) had a fun time paddling around anear Bundeena.

It didn't matter that it rained on and off, we were in our swimmers and were getting a little wet from the paddling.

The kids loved it! I'd recommend it to anybody.

What a great way to see a part of Sydney I'd never been to.

The guides were very friendly and so helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Happy to hear that you and your kids enjoyed paddling with us. We have the same age kids and they love it too. The area really is one of Sydney's hidden treasures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    16
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“3 hour Kayak experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Very informative and friendly team. The Kayak itself is intensive for people who do not Kayak every day like myself. Be prepared for that as you have to have a certain level of fitness. Aside from the aching arms, a great day out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Happy to hear you enjoyed our guided eco tour and that your arms got a good work out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Port Hacking Paddle & Wattamolla Walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We did the Port Hacking Paddle & Wattamolla Walk in December. We were rushing to get there by 9am due to getting stuck behng a group of cyclists in the national park for a long way, however it didn't matter as it transpired the paddle was self guided. We parked in the national park because we were running late, however its a very short walk from the street where parking is free so would recommend that you do that. We couldn't find a parking attendant to pay for the parkig in the park but thats ok they just leave you a ticket and you can pay online later for the same price. There wasn't much of a briefing before we set out on our paddle but they sent us in the right direction and it was easy for us to find our way. It was a very hot day so bring water on the boat with you. The inlet that we kayaked down got very shallow and we actually had to get out and walk for quite away, we soon realised it was futile and turned around. The inlet was very calm and the kayak easy - the only challenge was under a bridge and it was easy to walk to the bank and pull the kayak over the beach to the otherside. Kayaking back around the point and along the beach was more challenging as the wind had picked up and it was quite choppy. The scenery on the inlet was beautiful. We came back from our kayak on time for our walk. Unfortunately others did not show up on time and we didn't leave until an hour after the scheduled departure time due to 3 late arrivals. Whilst this was no doubt good for the late arrivals it was very frustrating for the rest of us as we were just sitting there (in the very hot sun) waiting and couldn't even go for a swim. They then dropped us at the shops so we could pick up some lunch and more water etc before dropping us at the start of the walk. They allow 3 1/2 hours for the walk - we did it easily in 2 hours so had another long wait at the end. The walk was beautiful, and we really enjoyed it but it was very hot and there is little shade, make sure you have plenty of sunscreen and water. At the end is a beautiful spot for swimming - we would have loved a cold drink and ice cream too but there were no shops. The experience was great, but I don't think we got any value from doing a package tour and we actually could have easily done it on our own without taking a tour and without all the unnecessary waiting around.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback - all of which we have taken onboard to improve the experience! We now stress the importance to everyone partipating in this activity to arrive for the bus transfer on time and no longer wait around for late-comers. Like you mentioned, the area really is beautiful and this trip is a great way to get a taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Whilst we were booked in to do the Kayak and Wattamolla walk unfortunately the walk portion was cancelled as a result of the fire danger on the day and closure of the walking trails thru the National Park.We had the option of extening our Kayak paddle or coming back another time to complete the walk. It was a very hot day and we decided to extend our Kayak paddle up the Hacking river. This proved to be an excellant choice as the Kayaking was reasy and the scenery was most enjoyable. The water is not deep and there is plenty of opportuniy to take a swim to cool down. Overall it was a very positive experience and the staff involved were very obliging and helpful.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a paddle. A much better place to be on a reallly hot day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Natural Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We did the 2 hour kayak paddle followed by the Bundeena to Wattamolla walk through the Royal National Park. After the kayaking there was time to have a shower at the camping ground and change into your hiking gear. This activity is all self guided, they provide you with the kayaks and lifejackets and then drive you to the start of the walk then pick you up at the end. It was a very hot day - be sure to pack litres of water, wear a good hat and plenty of sunscreen - there is very little shade along this part of the Coastal Walk. We all finished the walk in just over 2 hours and the pick up was over an hour later - my tip is to take it slow as there is no mobile phone reception at Wattamolla so you can't phone to get picked up earlier. The service was OK, nothing special, but the star here is the stunning waterways and coastal scenery. You can hardly believe you're right next to the city of Sydney.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the area as much as we do. Our visitors always marvel that there is such a gorgeous natural area so close to a major city. Definitely the perfect area for a city escape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney also viewed

 
Audley, Sutherland Shire
 

Been to Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.