We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Natural Scenery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney

Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney
Sea Breeze Lane, Bonnie Vale, Bundeena, Sutherland Shire, New South Wales 2230, Australia
0295445294
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Bundeena
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bundeena Kayaks in based in the gorgeous beach suburb of Bundeena in southern Sydney. Bordered by the Royal National Park and the Hacking Waterway, which is the perfect base for a paddling or hiking adventure. Kayaks and paddle boards are available for hire from Wed to Sunday and guided eco-tours, kayak and paddle board lessons run regularly.Surrounded by stretches of sandy swimming beaches, the famous Royal National Park and a great picnic and camping areas. Bundeena also has a choice of cafes and superb bushwalking, so plan your visit today!
Wollongong
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Natural Scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We did the 2 hour kayak paddle followed by the Bundeena to Wattamolla walk through the Royal National Park. After the kayaking there was time to have a shower at the camping ground and change into your hiking gear. This activity is all self guided, they provide you with the kayaks and lifejackets and then drive you to the start of the walk then pick you up at the end. It was a very hot day - be sure to pack litres of water, wear a good hat and plenty of sunscreen - there is very little shade along this part of the Coastal Walk. We all finished the walk in just over 2 hours and the pick up was over an hour later - my tip is to take it slow as there is no mobile phone reception at Wattamolla so you can't phone to get picked up earlier. The service was OK, nothing special, but the star here is the stunning waterways and coastal scenery. You can hardly believe you're right next to the city of Sydney.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the area as much as we do. Our visitors always marvel that there is such a gorgeous natural area so close to a major city. Definitely the perfect area for a city escape!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    16
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent Day Out - Great Rates.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Hired out a double kayak and paddle board. Great value for money and so much to see/do in Bundeena. We have also been on the Eco tour and this was fantastic - enjoyed it so much we have booked to do it again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Great to hear that you have enjoyed both our guided eco tour and self guided kayak hire. Many people tend to start off with a tour to get the know the area and then return to explore at their own pace. Like you said, our rates are good. We haven't increase the price on our hire for for about 8 years! We do our best to provide fun and safe activities and still keep the prices down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Eco Paradise Paddle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Had a fantastic 3 hour Royal Eco Guided Kayak Tour back in December. A top day out & a positive experience in all regards. Bundeena makes an ideal location for kayaking & pretty hard to top for natural beauty. Bruce the guide was friendly & gave some interesting commentary on the history of Bundeena, Maianbar & The Royal National Park & its waterways mixing in information on the nature, vegetation, birds & wildlife that we passed. We started off at the Bonnie Vale Picnic Grounds & paddled through the clear waters past lovely beaches & around the sand spit into Cabbage Tree Bay which opened into an eco wonderland of sandstone overhangs, stunning Australian gum trees & natives, cabbage tree palms and later on mangroves & a paddle up a narrow creek surrounded by bushland with its own eco environment. On The return journey we stopped for a tasty tea & nibbles break on a spot over an old aboriginal shell midden. Bundeena Kayaks were easy to book with & quite flexible. I made a day trip of it by catching the train to Cronulla then catching the ferry from Cronulla across Port Hacking to Bundeena on a delightful little old ferry. Its a short 20 minute or so walk from Bundeena Wharf to Bundeena Kayaks in the Bonnie Vale Picnic Grounds.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Great to hear that you enjoyed our 3 hour guided eco tour. Bruce is a wonderful guide with a wealth of knowledge about the area - as are all of our guides. We think the area is stunning as well and catching the ferry like you did is a really good way to make the whole day a fun adventure. Hope to see you aboard again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Family day out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just completed the 3 hour Kayak tour at Bundeena, we all had a great time and Keith (our guide) was great. Weather wasnt perfect but did not matter even our 15 year old son said it was "way cool"!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Have to agree with your son there in saying that the area and our tours are 'way cool'! Keith is a great guide - we always get such positive feedback about him! Bring on some sun and hope to see you about for another padding adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Although I have written a review on Bundeena Kayaks before, I wanted to write another quick one. We purchased vouchers from them for Christmas as gifts to my parents. Due to being a very busy period and me leaving it to the last minute to book, there were no free booking times left. I sent them an email on Christmas Day and they responded the next day with great news. They opened new sessions for us on the day we requested. Thank you so much Marnie!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundeenakayaks, Manager at Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We really do work hard at providing great customer service! I'm happy we were able to assist you and hope to see you aboard again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney also viewed

 
Audley, Sutherland Shire
 

Been to Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bundeena Kayaks in Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.