We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Room, Great Service, shame about the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Thames Four Pillars

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Thames Four Pillars to your Saves list
Oxford Thames Four Pillars
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henley Road | Oxford, Sandford-on-Thames OX4 4GX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coleraine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Room, Great Service, shame about the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for one night after leaving our daughter in Oxford. The hotel is beautiful and we found the staff friendly and helpful.

Our room was in their Garden Suite, which has a private terrace overlooking the gardens and the Thames. The room was fantastic and spotlessly clean and the Terrace was great on a sunny Sunday afternoon for a glass of wine and to relax.

We ordered afternoon tea as the restaurant was closed for lunch at 16:00 and it was nice but nothing special.

We dined at the restaurant and whilst the service was good the food was terrible, such a disappointment compared with the rest of our experience.

The cooked breakfast was unbelievably bad – a mess of hard dried fried food left sitting under hot lights. It was uneatable.

Overall I would stay again but would eat elsewhere, which is a shame if you want to just hang up the car keys and retreat into the hotel and it surroundings.

Room Tip: The only room we have stayed in was the Garden suite but it could not be faulted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    188
    65
    25
    16
See reviews for
78
268
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

An absolute gem of an hotel. The interior is even more delightful than the exterior and the staff whilst extremely professional were warm, friendly and very accommodating, nothing too much for trouble for them. The food in the formal restaurant was enjoyable if a little pretentious (my husband is a retired Head Chef so we do have some insight into this area) nevertheless we thoroughly enjoyed the food and attention of a well trained restaurant team. Breakfast, served in the formal restaurant was brilliant with just about everything you could wish for.

The grounds stretching along the river were just lovely for strolling and unwinding. There is a small quadrangle which is a real sun trap for drinks, coffee, tea or just to relax. The rooms are well appointed especially the garden ones. There is a less formal Brasserie Restaurant if you prefer with an extremely good menu.

Finally there is a Spa and small gym for the more energetic of us.

I think you can appreciate that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will mostly certainly return and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Our room was number 80 it was a large garden room south facing and furnished to a very high standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was a real joy for us both. We wanted a country break and this fitted perfectly. The entrance has that good feeling about it.
Staff are caring and attentive as well as being professional. Our room was a superior room with balcony, patio is available as a choice, and was large and well furnished. The upgrade included a nice drinks tray of two small bottles of whine, two half-litres of water, one orange juice, one pepsi-cola and a bag of pretzels.
The public areas are very comfortable and the grounds are well kept leading down to the river where there is a landing-stage from which you can board a boat trip.
There is an old college barge moored by the lawns which adds to the scenery.
Food was very good. We paid the £5 tray charge for breakfast in our room and it was easily as much as we would want. Croissants, fruit, toast, cereal, tea etc with more things if you want them.
Evening meals in the restaurant were from a well chosen menu with "Chef's Specials" every day.
Service was attentive and not intrusive though.
When I did point out some overcooked rice, it was replaced without question and the apology was accompanied by a free tea or coffee for both of us.
There is a very nice pool with a Jacuzzi and, although we didn't use it, a gym which also looks good.
Parking is easy and the whole site feels very secure.
We will certainly be going back and are looking forward to trying some of the other hotels in this group.

Room Tip: We felt the upgrade was good value, especially as it included the drinks tray every day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just back from a 2 night break without the kids from Oxford Thames Four Pillars hotel. What a fantastic hotel! From the minute we arrived until the moment we left I felt so comfortable, as the setting was perfect, the staff friendly, the food simply divine (especially the evening meal in the Riverside restaurant) and the spa gorgeous - especially as we had it to ourselves as we turned up 10 mins before last entry at 8pm on Sat eve - although this didn't matter and we were still welcomed warmly.
We had a garden room which was very spacious, a wicked shower (so wish I had one like that at home!) and our own little patio which we sat out one morning and had an early cup of tea.
The hotel is well situated for visiting Oxford (£8 taxi ride) and Blenheim Palace - really didn't want to leave and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Would love to come back some time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I loved my stay here which was for business but would be great for a family or romantic getaway as well. Nice olde worlde atmosphere. The food was good and there is a boat moored on the river on which you can dine as a party booking. Picturesque weeping willows, ducks the works. Rooms are modern, clean and well equipped. Business facilities and food are of a high quality. Would recommend this as a good business or leisure location

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My son had a cricket week set on the various University grounds and as parents we camped at the Oxford Thames Four Pillars. We got an excellent rate for the 5 nights Monday to Friday, which included 3 course dinner, bed, breakfast and free use of hotel facilities (swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jaccuzi and gym). Well worth checking their own website for special offers.
The Hotel had a lovely warm and country feel with attentive staff. We found the food to be very good, for the price we paid, the 3 course evening meal was excellent value for money and had a varied menu where we sampled a different main course each evening and were not disappointed with the quality.
Breakfast was also good, my only criticism being some mornings the eggs seemed to be dried out from laying under the hot counter too long.
We did have to ask for the bed mattress to be changed as this was far too soft for our likeing - this was done with the minimum of fuss.
Location was spot on with the Thames running along the edge of the grounds and only a 5 minute drive into the heart of Oxford.
All in all excellent value for the money paid.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms had own patio with table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel itself looks the business. Nice old country hotel set in lovely grounds.

Spanish(?) girl on reception (Veronica maybe) was really friendly and helpful, although the heavy set clerk/manager was a bit of a cold fish...

Check-in time was 3PM, which seemed a little late for me. So we got a cab into Oxford (£8.50).

Nice clean room, if a little dated (just me being picky, as it wasn't "ultra modern"), Spa looked nice, but we didn't try it out.

Had a nice pre-dinner walk down to the river with a bottle of wine, watching the ducks and geese wallowing in the waters edge.... Great !!

Booked dinner for 8:30 - arrived at the River Room bang on time, to be told that they had no table for us (even though there seemed to be quite a few empty tables (admittedly- set for 4 & 6) , and would we mind eating in the conservatory ? No, we said that'd be fine. Except that we were the only couple in there (a huge room, that was freezing) and the atmosphere was non-existant because of this... service was fine, food was ..... Ok ... not great. Wine was very good.

Back to the bar after dinner, service there was slow, and prices quite high.

Bed was very comfy and HUGE !! Slept very well.
Towels nice & fluffy and didn't smell of Hotel Washing Powder (salt & vinegar).... Shower was great, room had iron, kettle etc ... all in all a good stay.

Breakfast was very good, everything you'd want (apart from running out of large plates)

Paid £120 for one night on Late Rooms "secret deal"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Thames Four Pillars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Thames Four Pillars

Address: Henley Road | Oxford, Sandford-on-Thames OX4 4GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sandford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Thames Four Pillars 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oxford Thames Four Pillars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Thames Four Pillars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.