We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Thames Four Pillars

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Thames Four Pillars to your Saves list
Oxford Thames Four Pillars
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Henley Road | Oxford, Sandford-on-Thames OX4 4GX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I booked this hotel from the internet for myself and my partner as a 40th birthday treat and all i can say is what a fantastic stay we had!
Check in was quick and easy the lady on reception was friendly and welcoming.. We went to are room and it was just amazing bright,clean,and perfect for the weekend break! When i booked i must have mentioned it was my partners birthday as on the bed were chocolates and a hand written card a very nice touch.
The spa area was good and very quiet we had it to ourselves.... Dinner in the evening was good the service a little slow but the food was amazing.
We mentioned to reception we were going into oxford town and asked where to park and she said we can use the sister hotels car park just a ten minute walk from town just perfect!

would we use this hotel again??? Yes we would it was just a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    188
    65
    25
    16
See reviews for
78
268
20
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on May bank holiday Monday on a dinner bed and breakfast deal for £99. Beautiful setting on the Thames in Sandford. Enjoyed a walk by the river on a lovely warm evening, attractive grounds with photogenic boat moored on the river, however I thought it was an omission that there were no benches or seats in the garden anywhere. A new block has just been built staff said it was due to open in June. Reception staff were efficient and helpful and offered help with luggage. We used the leisure suite for a swim, sauna, steam room and hot tub, also a gym available. Our room was OK -spacious, clean and quiet over night. The bed was comfortable but one of those zipped up twin mattresses. It was the first night the new conservatory restaurant was open, staff seemed unfamiliar with the layout, table numbers etc, about a third of the tables in use, service was helpful but not slick, person on a nearby tabled observed complaining that he had been waiting a long time to order. We were given menus but not asked if we would like a drink, had to ask staff if we could order drinks, food was good, but wine not well chilled. Ordered a pre dinner gin and tonic but it came after the wine, staff seemed to have to go to another bar for it. Breakfast was OK. Would use this hotel again lovely setting and interesting building.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaslake, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My foirst thought was 'oh no - conference hotel' - earnest young men and women having 'breakout sessions' all over the place, but this really is quite a nice place. The original buildings have been tastefully extended on a pleasant plot down by the riverside. The A40 and the main train line are both audible from the grounds but no more than a swish in the background. Staff are a bit hit and miss. Some who could have been trained by the Four Seasons, some who were nice but a bit quirky - like the lady who asked if I'd like milk and sugar in my cappuccino - and some appeared to have dodged any customer service training at all - like the housekeeping lady who seemed to think if she stood in silence in my doorway long enough, I'd get out of her way. Food non vintage but perfectly ok. Our room was very good - I think the newer rooms are the bland ones described in other reviews. Lovely Clarins toiletries. They're getting a lot right here for £180 a night.

Room Tip: Choose the college suites; they are big and spacious and have individual character
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel twice now and would definitely recommend it. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are comfortable, spacious and very clean. It's probably worth paying a little extra for a room with a patio if you intend to spend time relaxing in the hotel. The gym, pool and spa are quite small but weren't busy so this was an added pleasure to the weekend. This recent visit we managed to book a promotional leisure break via the hotel website so we got dinner, bed and breakfast for a very good price. Dinner was lovely, the staff were attentive and the food was delicious. Getting into Oxford is relatively easy - we have walked (takes about an hour, strolling by the canal); taken the bus (once an hour but no evening or Sunday service) and had a taxi. Take care if you order via Reception as they book an executive car, a nice luxury but costs £15 rather than the usual £10! The only way we haven't yet travelled is by the hotels boat. The service only runs in the summer months. Probably a good excuse to return....!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for one night on business. Hotel is in a peaceful location on the Thames just outside Oxford. Beautiful room (room 5) spacious and quiet. Clean with nice Clarins products. Recently decorated. Breakfast was ok, would stay again. Reception staff in the evening could be more welcoming.
Have stayed at the four Pillars in Oxford (Abingdon Road) this one is far superior.

Room Tip: Room 5 or any in that annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Found th staff to be courteous and helpful. Well located for access in and around the town centre and set in their own very pleasant grounds. The included breakfast was really excellent, a buffet affair with continental and full English options with cereals and fruit juices.

We had a meal in their restaurant on the first evening and this was really good, but maybe not the cheapest.

Used the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and despite the fact it was busy, was well run, clean and tidy.

Found a deal on lastminute.com which saved about £100 on the price of the two night stay as this was one of their "secret hotel deals" so this is definitely worth checking out. Definitely would go back.

Also as a side note, would definitely recommend the restaurant "Moya" on St.Clements. Wouldn't normally have thought to go for Eastern European food, but this is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Could not fault this hotel. stayed here for a weekend with my wife and will definitely be going back again soon. Courteous staff, modern, functional and spacious room, hotel clean and tidy, fabulous food with a great menu choice. What more could you ask for? The hotel sits in a beautiful setting -near the city but right in the country, the best of both worlds! The lounge and bar area is really cosy with beams, gallery and stone walls with plenty of comfy sofas and chairs. We never had to wait for a seat.
I would recommend this for both a weekend break or for a function, as there was plenty of space and function rooms on offer.
Well done the Oxford Thames Four Pillars!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Thames Four Pillars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Thames Four Pillars

Address: Henley Road | Oxford, Sandford-on-Thames OX4 4GX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Sandford-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sandford-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Thames Four Pillars 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oxford Thames Four Pillars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Thames Four Pillars Hotel Sandford-On-Thames
Oxford Thames 4 Pillars
Thames Four Pillars Oxford
Thames Four Pillars Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Thames Four Pillars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.