We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return trip already booked!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives to your Saves list
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |     |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A return trip already booked!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed in a Luxury Sunset Villa in August which was fantastic. Walking down the steps into the water was great too. But as so many have said before the staff really make the holiday. We were there when the fire happened and we felt so sorry for the staff (and guests) affected. In no way did this spoil our holiday. I had gone for a week of pure relaxation and boy did I get it! A massage every day, swimming in the warm pool and sea and just soaking in the amazing views, fish life and skies, it felt a real privilege to be there. My husband went scuba diving and had a fantastic time exploring the reef and wreck.

This was our best holiday ever and I felt devastated when we left, especially as some of the staff came to wave us off - Widi I miss you!! Other staff who deserve a mention - Doi, Janet & Sherry - you made us feel so welcome and special.

So we have now been home 3 weeks and have just booked to go back in April, but for 11 nights this time!! I cannot wait to be back in paradise!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    153
    34
    12
    11
See reviews for
252
428
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

After a three hour delay at Male airport the seaplane flight was no problem. At one stage it came up on the board that our sea plane had "departed" although we were still there!! The staff weren't too sure there either.
Once at Centara we were greated at reception by Doi who was very helpful, professional and informative throughout.
Our de luxe water sunset villa was excellent, well furnished, spacious and well situated for our requirements. Our "room boy" Wahid was a perfect gentleman and looked after us well.
Once the tide was up it was easy to get across the coral to the reef edge to see the fantastic marine life.
We were fortunate enough to see two different Devil rays, a group of six eagle rays, various solitary eagle rays, sting rays, a rather large nurse shark, reef sharks, six different turtles and some divers etc etc.
On our stay there were apparently over 60% Chinese guests which seemed rather imbalanced as we have not experienced this before. As a result, the idea is to go to the restaurant an hour after it has opened.
The reef restaurant could be improved. They do cater for the Asian market with Miso soup, noodle soup for breakfast - there are a variety of other choices! Some of the dishes were not always replenished and some had become tough and dry. It would benefit from an extended live cooking station with freshly cooked pastas and freshly cooked fish - especially considering where you are.
The all inclusive Thai was a real treat. The food was second to none. All the staff were extremely professional - Moosa in particular - and took great pride in all they did.
There is an all inclusive Italian which gets booked very quickly.
If you like snorkelling then this island has a brilliant reef. The corals are re generating well. We snorkelled round the entire island three times when it was calm.
The watersports do trips to see the whale sharks by Dhoni.
If you like whale sharks and mantas, pay for it and go by speed boat on a private trip and you will have a 50/50 chance of seeing either or both.
We saw three whale sharks and snorkelled with one for about ten minutes and two different pairs of mantas - snorkelling with two of them for about five/ten minutes . It was an absolute privilege and one that will stay with us for our lifetime. Thank you Ibbe!!

Room Tip: If you like snorkelling then the Deluxe water sunset villa is right there by the reef. The room is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked a pool villa which was fantastic. We had villa number 5 - but any of the 8 are fine. We had sunny weather all week with one hour of rain. Take enough factor 30+ (50 is best) suncream and anti-mosi spray as they are very expensive in the shop.

There is a lounge (TV, Playstation, minibar), twin downstairs, bathroom with toilet, shower and outside shower. The mezzanine floor has a double bed, toilet and sink (with hairdryer). Villa and pool towels changed twice daily. The wi-fi was weak and kept going down. After the fire it never cam back on.

Outside there is a huge shady roof - against the sun or rain. The small infinity pool is lovely and cleaned each morning. Four sun loungers - two on the terrace and two on the beach.

The small beach is cleaned each morning of coral pieces. Your view is broken by the sandbag barrier and the pipe barrier at low tide. The seaplane jetty is opposite the pool villas and they can wake you up in the morning. The reef is just beyond the barrier. Snorkelling equipment is free and you return it when you leave. Life jackets are in the villa and recommended for snorkelling trips as you are visible; able to swim easily and discouraged from diving and perhaps damaging the reef.

The life jackets should be taken with you if there is any sort of alarm - tsunami or fire. There was a fire when we were there which was worrying.

The only (tiny) downside was the minibar which could have included shorts and wine. But you walk to the Coral Bar and bring what you need back. They don't let you have glass as this could break on the beach - ask for the plastic glasses and not the beakers.

We dined at the reef each day with one trip to the excellent Italian. There was a good variety of food and a kid's menu for fussy eaters. Only milkshakes were not on the AI and cost $9. We went once to the afternoon tea but generally found it difficult to be hungry. The Coral Bar is lively but the Aqua Bar is quiet. There is trio of singers who come and sing a song of your choice by your table each evening.

The main infinity pool is fine and used by families. There are a few sun loungers and the staff put towels out each morning. Some people kept these all day. Some had a towel on but no belongings so you did not know whether it was abandoned or still in use. The staff could help here.

You get one banana boat trip but kayaking and pedaloes are free and great fun. We took the sunset fishing trip - great for the views but we did not catch anything. If you did - for $10 they would cook your fish for you that evening.

The spa is very professional and it is worth booking all your free half hour treatments when you arrive.

Service is excellent at every level.

Sadly the Kid's Club and Teen Zone did not work out for us. Our 9 year was too old for the Club as the children were younger. He did make friends however in the main pool. Our 13 year old did not meet anyone. It is more difficult at that age. There seemed to be few teenagers and the Teen Zone had no A/C and was too hot to be in. During the evenings it was taken over by families. It would have been better if the staff organised a short session each day for teenagers to meet each other. Then it would be up to them.

Overall - a lovely island and resort.

Room Tip: Pool villas are fantastic for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This island is good for couples and it lived up to expectations. Staff very helpful and always smiling, it made your day. Strongly recommend the spa, heaven. Had a good choice of foods plus lived the champaign breakfast, Moet, my favourite drink, yummy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here from 6 June to 11 June. We booked the family deluxe water villa as we have 3 young kids.
Seaplace pickup from Male was at 6.30am. After waiting for the air taxi to take off and transfer us to resort, with delays here & there, we reached the resort at about 9am. Sweetie, the front desk staff in charge of our checkin, briefed us on the AL package etc. She told us room was ready n proceeded to take us to our water villa. She opened the door and guessed what, the previous hotel guest was still inside! Problem with this resort is you can't latch the door from inside. She tben told us room was not ready after all. We were by then very tired as we had reached Male late at night and had woken up very early to catch the seaplane. When asked if she coukd provide another room, answer was No. Fine so we went for breakfast and waited till about 3pm before we got our villa. From 10am to 3pm. ..a very long wait!

Water Villa
Quite big and with an extra bed for my youngest child & 2 older kids sleeping on the loft bed. There's a Playstation in kids room. Loft bed was beside window with faulty woiden blind. Son complained there were many ants near window. Seems like ants was a major problem as they came the moment you leave food around. The safety latch on the balcony is goid for kids but disallowed you to lie down and see the fish under the villa.
The latex cushions on the balcony were old & had long strands of hair on them. We totally didn't touch them at all.

Restaurants
Can be packed & we were told no seats at Lotus restaurant for lunch 1 day.
Ended up having our dinner at reef Restaurant most nights as no need to make reservation and tbey have themed buffet nightly.
Complimentary teppanyaki dinner must make reservation but they only allowed you to book on the day itself. U gotta queue up at 9am to make reservation and the queue is very long every day. Food is definitely over rated here. Azure has very nice desserts.

Kids club
This is definitely the best drawing point at Centara Grand Island. It is free and room is air conditioned. Many activities are planned daily. Our kuds kept asking to go there everyday! Special thanks yo Janet and Anne who made the kids extremely happy when they brought our kids to special part of island to catch hermit crabs. Kids even baked cookies from scratch! They did henna too!

Free tours
In the AL package, you are given certain tours free. We enjoyed the night fishing best. Uou catch and eat the fish the next day.just pay US $10 for restaurant to cook fish.
The swim with whale shark tour was good too but so many adults got sea sick from the long and boats ride on choppy watee. Many started vomiting. So proud my family of 5 were fine. However it was all worth it as hubby did see the whale shark swimming past him. Not suitable for kids as you have to swim deep to see one.

Special Perks
We informed hotel during booking we were celebrating son's birthday. A 1kg Superman cake was baked as my son loves superheroes. Cake tasted nice and staff at reef restaurant came to sing him birthday song and helped take photos n video from our cameras.
Special thanks to King, Ahmed and
Janet from Reef Restaurant for making things so special for kids & us.
Though Sweetie was in charge of us, she wasn't very helpful. It was Dooi from front desk who made special arrangements for us most of the days. You won't miss her cos she is always smiling sweetly all the time!
We were surprised that room wasn't decorated with flower arrangement on bed to wish my son happy birthday as previously when we stayed at Kandooma resort, sin was thrilled to see the special greeting on the bed. Hoeever we walked into villa late 1 nite & I saw bed decorated. I thought to myself so tbey have messed up the date but no! I saw my name on it. Housekeeping guy had asked my hubby 1 day if he coukd help in any way and thus I saw the message of my hubby wishing me a great holiday with live on our bed!

Fish
Centara is the place to go if u love sharks like I do. They are everywhere even rite below our villa. Also we saw many different types of marine fishes big n small and hubby snorkel with them under the villa. There is a nightly rays feeding and these are wild rays n sharks who come for feeding at 6pm daily. Coral is very beautiful.





  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We wanted a special holiday to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary with the kids. It was very hard to choose from the many hotels in the Maldives, but travelling with kids and wanting a water villa seemed to narrow the search and we chose Centara.
The accommodation was lovely in the Deluxe family water villas, the highlights being the outdoor shower and balcony which had steps leading down the the reef, which was truly amazing. After speaking to several other guests who had travelled in the Maldives, they said that the resort and reef were one of he best they had been to.
The food was really good in all the restaurants, a different themed buffet every night with plenty of choice in the main reef restaurant. The other two restaurants had to be booked in the day at 12, for dining the same night, so as long as you remembered this wasnt a problem. There was also a tapenyaki grill which had to be booked by 9am, there was a queue for this so get there early.
The package included a 30min spa treatment for the adults which you had a choice of 5 or 6 treatments. Its probably best to book these on your first day as they do get very busy, My difficulty was deciding which treatment I wanted each day!! All the therapists I had did a very good job, and were very sweet.
As previous reviews have said the staff were truly exceptional and they all would greet you whenever they saw you and take time to ask how you were doing any what you were up to that day.
The only downside was the weather, we had a few storms and 2 days of rain, but it didnt really matter as everyone was freindly, the kids were happily playing in the pool and cocktails were flowing!!
Thank you Centara, we hope to be back!

Room Tip: Family Deluxe water villas for the opportunity to swim straight out to the reef.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on honeymoon in August / September 2012.

We arrived on an extremely bad day as there was a torrential downpour. The seaplane transfer was quite smooth considering the circumstances. The boat ride into the island was not so smooth, but this could not be helped by the hotel staff.

Upon arrival we were shown to our rooms, and given a drink at the bar.

The beach room was superb, with an upstairs bedroom (with ensuite) and a downstairs living room with a second, larger bathroom.

The room was clean, and we were given champagne and an ice bucket in the room which was a really welcome touch.

The room also had a hammock outside which was very relaxing - it really is a picturesque place. The pictures shown really do not do the hotel any justice.

The food was very good, buffet was quite varied throughout the stay. The pizza restaurant in the reception added some good variety. Our favourite food was in the seafood restaurant though - the desserts there were fantastic. The regular All Inclusive cocktails left a bit to be desired, but the non-AI cocktails were not that expensive.

The dinner for 2 was decent, however in hindsight I would have probably skipped this as the quality of food was not as good as in the restaurants for some reason.

Managers cocktail night was also a highlight, with snorkelling and water sports keeping us entertained throughout the week.

We enjoyed the spa treatments which were good value for money.

Overall the staff were fantastic, and the resort was breathtaking.

Room Tip: Stick to the beach rooms - the ones near the reception are very good and a short walk from everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Address:
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Centara Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Centara Grand Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives: Set amongst the perfect islands and blue ocean of South Ari Atoll (Alifu Atoll) in the republic of Maldives, Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives delivers a unique 5 star resort experience and offers the ultimate in barefoot luxury along with a range of exciting activities that will appeal both to couples and families.Featuring 112 suites & villas, the resort offers diving enthusiasts outstanding diving opportunities including an excellent house reef complete with a dedicated sunken ship wreck and is within easy reach of the top dive spots in the Maldives. The resort offers all guests a premium all-inclusive vacation experience, along with a perfect white sand beach and the crystal clear water of the Indian Ocean.Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives offers more than simply daytime sun, sea, and sand. The resort features a variety of dining options, pools, recreation activities, Sports and Fitness facilities, bars and lounges with nightly entertainment, SPA Cenvaree, and a Kids Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Island Hotel Centara Grand Island
Centara Grand Island Resort And Spa
Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centara Grand Island Resort & Spa Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.