We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maru Koala and Animal Park

Maru Koala and Animal Park
1650 Bass Highway, Grantville, Victoria 3984, Australia
+ 61 3 5678 8548
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Maru Koala and Animal Park like an insider
Top Rated
$124*
and up
Phillip Island: Penguins, Koalas and Kangaroos...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get in touch with wildlife at Maru where you can pat and hand feed many of the animals. Pat a koala and feed the albino kangaroos, see wombats, Tasmanian devils, dingoes, snakes and more native animals. Then set sail on an adventure at Pirate Pete’s Mini-golf as you putt your way around the Pirate Ship, encounter life-size Pirate figures, the Great White Shark and brave the gold mine under the waterfall. Enjoy something to eat and drink in the licensed Homestead Bistro with views out into the animal park. Come and enjoy the award winning friendly service and atmosphere from this family owned and operated business. Grantville Pirate Festival and other events held at Maru each year, see our website for more details. Finalist in the Victorian Tourism Awards 2011 and 2012.
1 review
“Fantastic! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We visited Maru a few months ago and had an absolute blast! To see the animals so up close was an amazing experience, ( I even got a cuddle from one of the Kangaroo's) the park staff were great and full of knowledge, no question was too silly for them.... we had lunch there as well and it was delicious and very resonably priced :)
We finished our adventure off with a game of mini golf and although I was terrible at it the course was really fun and well designed would go back in a heart beat! Thanks for such a great day! Suitable for all ages

Lisa :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hello roughy92
I am glad to hear that you found our park staff knowledgeable as yes, no question is ever too silly and our keepers enjoy answering them all. The Chefs Housemade food is temptingly delicious and also made with the family budget in mind as is our 'All Day Pass' that allows you to enjoy the park and mini-golf all for the one low price. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Neroli Heffer- Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    41
    13
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was a great day out, definitely recommend for a visit.
The animals are happy, healthy and playful, with plenty of room to run around. You can definitely tell that they are well looked after and well loved.
The staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. The young lady who did a talk on the koalas definitely knew her stuff, and I found myself learning a lot of new information. They are approachable too, so don't hesitate if you have any questions about any of the animals.
Highly recommend for fun or education. A+

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“on the way to phillip island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a small park on the way to phillip island..though not the most largest or grandest of places it was nice break for photo ops...my lil gal did loved the interaction she got with the kangaroos..it was a decent place

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing worked at mini golf, total waste of time and money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Expensive, crap place. Not much to see, other better places on Phillip Island! Mini golf was the worst! Nothing worked, everything was broken! Happy to take our money but is not the best mini golf in Australia as they claim, but the worst!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaruKoalaPark, Manager at Maru Koala and Animal Park, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Hello Jessscorpio
In the mini-golf there are two holes where the ball is mechanically sucked up a tube to come out somewhere else, at the old out back toilet and at the windmill, the rest of the holes use static displays and props. So I can only presume it was one of those two holes that was not working at the time you visited, as the rest of the holes work by you putting the ball around the course yourself. We do check the greens regularly but if sticks, stones or other objects are knocked or put into the openings (as children often do) then they do get jammed and need clearing. Yesterday a visitor did let us know that the out back toilet hole was not functioning properly and we came straight out and cleared the hole, which only takes a minute to do. We apologize if this short inconvenience hampered your experience.
Neroli Heffer - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

The Koala experience was fun and our first time having a chance to pet one. Played with kangaroos. Quick snack - food was much better than expected at a tourist attraction. Biggest surprise turned out that prices of some of the souvenirs turned out to be much better than most places.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maru Koala and Animal Park also viewed

 

Been to Maru Koala and Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maru Koala and Animal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.