We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Garden Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ness Botanic Gardens

Ness Botanic Gardens
Ness CH64 4AY, England
44 0845 030 4063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Ness
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The superb gardens at Ness on the Wirral Peninsular, overlooking the Dee Estuary were founded in 1898 by Arthur Kilpin Bulley; a Liverpool cotton merchant with a passion for gardens and plant collecting. Today the stunning 64 acre gardens have won a succession of awards including Large Attraction of the Year for Cheshire and Liverpool City Region and coveted RHS Gold Medal display garden at the RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park. The Horsfall Rushby Visitor Centre provides a warm welcome to this Cheshire Garden of Distinction. Ness Botanische – display garden by TV presenter and garden designer Chris Beardshaw and Making Waves garden by award winning designer Pippa Probert. Our newly launched restaurant The Garden Kitchen serves quality locally sourced food along with the Garden Grub kiosk in the garden. An extensive events programme runs throughout the year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Wheelchair access
Irby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Garden Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went to Ness looking for young trees to plant and all the staff were really helpful and friendly but in particular Vicky, a gardener, went out of her way to find and prepare a Sorbus tree for collection and we were really grateful for her efforts. Thanks Ness - sadly we didn't have time to go around the Gardens but will be back another time soon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience in our Plant Centre at Ness. The team are very enthusiastic about or extensive tree and plant collection. I have passed on your kind comments to Vicki who I know was very pleased that you were happy with your tree.

We look forward to welcoming you to Ness again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    70
    18
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knighton, Wales
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“If you enjoy garden-wandering then a visit is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had been much wanting to visit Ness Gardens for many years and something had always intervened to stop us so we were all set-up for disappointment through over-anticipation! Nothing to fear though. As we visited in October and autumn leaves were really only just starting to turn it is a testimony to Ness that a huge amount of colour was still to be seen. The other thing that struck me was that Ness has character which can often be somewhat missing in Botanic Gardens as of course scientific study and experimentation generally play a large part in their purpose. Plenty of variety of flora and landscape to see, without needing to be a plant expert in any way, in a fairly compact area that is beautifully designed and laid out, we can thoroughly recommend a visit to Ness Gardens.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Ness Botanic Gardens. We are pleased that you enjoyed the garden in its full autumnal glory. Of course the spring sees the emergence of our extensive collection of over sixty varieties of snowdrops and our glorious crocus lawn heralds the last winter.
We look foward to welcoming you back to Ness soon - you really do not want to miss it!

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful attraction in Cheshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wonderful species of plants, excellent views and outstanding gardens. The staff all had a sense of humour which for me is important. The food was excellent. I spoke to a lady gardener from the Cornwall area who was full of information and a credit to the the organisation. The sunshine helped the but nevertheless a very good day out.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive review, it means a great deal to the Ness team to know that you are enjoying all the is so wonderful about this gem of a garden. I am sure that you will agree with the weather we have all had to endure a 'sense of humour' is vital - we are passionate about Ness but the outgoing nature of the team is an important part of our customer engagement towards sharing our knowledge and enthusiasm in a friendly way.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Vision of Beauty and Tranquillity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you haven't been to Ness Botanic Garden, you have missed a real treat.

Situated on the southern edge of the Wirral, the gardens are the home of the Liverpool University botanists. The array of plants is amazing, with beautiful sections of colour and plantings to suit all tastes. My wife and I spent all day wandering around the many pathways discovering new vistas at every turn.

The gardens and the tearoom are well worth a visit, and if you are in to beauty, tranquillity and harmony, you will not be disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Ness. The garden is often described by our visitors as a haven of tranquility, even a 'spiritual' place, which covering over 64 acres offers plenty of quiet spots for quiet comtemplation in between strolling through our collection of over 30,000 plants.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for your support.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our first visit to the gardens, but hopefully not our last. We drove up from Warwickshire attracted by the Gardeners' Question Time Summer Garden Party there and were REALLY impressed by all aspects of the gardens.
The herbaceous borders were glorious with late summer planting, the two show gardens were inspiring and there are extensive rock gardens. Thanks to the guided tour by one of the volunteers we were able to find out more about the history of the gardens and to discover the rare & unusual shrubs & trees in the woodland areas, many brought back by early "plant-hunters".
Everything was well-maintained - congratulations to the staff & volunteers!
As we'd brought a picnic we didn't sample any of the on-site catering facilities. We had to walk a long (but pleasant) way from/to the car park in a nearby field. But presumably this was because of the Garden Party - I would imagine there are nearer car parks on non-show days.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for supporting the BBC Radio 4 Gardeners' Question Time and Summer Garden Party at Ness. We are delighted that you had a good day with us, the event was very well attended and the visitor feedback has been very positive. Sadly having had the event at Ness for two years running the BBC require to move the event around the country and so are planning for our own similar garden festival event given the success of the last two years.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Ness again in the future if you are up in the Northwest.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Ness Botanic Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ness Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Ness Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ness Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.