We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ness gardens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ness Botanic Gardens

Ness Botanic Gardens
Ness CH64 4AY, England
44 0845 030 4063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Ness
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The superb gardens at Ness on the Wirral Peninsular, overlooking the Dee Estuary were founded in 1898 by Arthur Kilpin Bulley; a Liverpool cotton merchant with a passion for gardens and plant collecting. Today the stunning 64 acre gardens have won a succession of awards including Large Attraction of the Year for Cheshire and Liverpool City Region and coveted RHS Gold Medal display garden at the RHS Flower Show at Tatton Park. The Horsfall Rushby Visitor Centre provides a warm welcome to this Cheshire Garden of Distinction. Ness Botanische – display garden by TV presenter and garden designer Chris Beardshaw and Making Waves garden by award winning designer Pippa Probert. Our newly launched restaurant The Garden Kitchen serves quality locally sourced food along with the Garden Grub kiosk in the garden. An extensive events programme runs throughout the year.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“ness gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful gardens full of unusual and colourful plants and flowers. Excellent restaurant with varied and tasty menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Ness. With over 15,000 plants in the collection the garden offers something for everyone what ever your interest. We are pleased to note you enjoyed our restaurant and I will pass on your comments to our new caterers.

We hope that you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    70
    18
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very nice walks, interesting place to visit, nice gardens, good internal cafe options, nice shop with interesting things to buy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Ness. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Gardens. We would agree that the 64 acres offers such varied interest and with the seasonality of the garden it really is 'different every day'. We hope you will return again soon, perhaps to enjoy our 'winter warmers' menu in the new Garden Kitchen restaurant and you can look forward to exciting new developments in our gift shop and plant sales in preparation for the 2013 season.

Kindest regards

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lovely scenery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great for a day out with friends never tire of walking through seeing the plants and smelling the scents always a joy, even when the weather is not very kind

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent visit to Ness. The autumn colours are looking fantastic this year which is possibly in response to emerging from the wettest summer since 1860. I will ensure the garden team see your comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the garden once again in the near future and thank you for your continued support for Ness..

Kind regards

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good day out fot garden lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We went to the gardens at Ness having been recomended that it was a good day out by friends , We wernt dissapointed, the gardens are beautiful with lots of lovely walks. the location has lovely views out on the wirral peninsula. Two highlights were the beautiful waves garden and the fantastic wild flower meadow .Whilst we were there we tried the cafe, the food is very good a small menu really well done. the only downside was the state of some of the plants in their plant sale area which wern't very well looked after.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Ness, we are delighted that we have been recommended to you and that you enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your comments regarding our plant sales to our Enterprises Manager. Certainly plant sales have been problematic this season due to the very wet weather - clearly plants do not like to sit in soggy pots anymore than we have all had to endure this wash out season. However, we are hoping to extend our covered outdoor area for plants next season which will help to combat such problems in the future and help keep our stock in prime condition for sale.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Ness in the near future.

Kind regards,

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A really good place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went on the spur of the moment (30 min drive for us) and a thoroughly good time and came away with several bags of plants and loads of ideas. Tea and scones at the cafe were really good. Our only minus point was we would have liked to have seen more of the plants labelled

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Director-Ness_Gdns, Director at Ness Botanic Gardens, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to visit Ness and posting your review of your visitor experience. The garden hosts some 15,000 plants and a project aimed at identifying all the exisitng plants began just over two years ago supported by funding from the Friends of Ness Gardens. As a consquence over 4,000 of the plants have now been re-labelled to tie in with our herbarium records. This as you can image is no small task with cross checking the plant database with the specimen in location and then creating a new label. Our botanist and his team of volunteers are making good progress and I trust that on subsequent visits you will see and benefit from this important work which is part of our commitment to share our collection with our visitors as part of our remit of knowledge exchange.

Thank you once again for your posting and we look forward to welcoming you back to Ness in the near future.

Kind regards

Kevin F. H. Reid
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ness Botanic Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Ness Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ness Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.