We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good rooms but far from Jungfrau and Mt. Titlis” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Swiss Star

Hotel Swiss Star
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Swiss Star
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grubenstrasse 5, Wetzikon 8620, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wetzikon
ella
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good rooms but far from Jungfrau and Mt. Titlis”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel and rooms were ok and internet was free but it is quite a travel distance (by road) to Lauterbaun station to go up to Jungfrau and to Mt. Titlis as well, as we wasted a lot of time just reaching these points.
of course, only "climate control" and needed a paper fan to get some sleep. there is no other option but to keep the windows open.
there is Lidl supermarket just 2-3 minutes away and open from 8-8 daily, which helps.

Room Tip: better to stay in Engelberg if you are a tourist and plan on visiting Interlaken, Mt. Titlis and Jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

gud hotel with all modern amenities, easy to locate and very hygienic place, television is pay tv. food is amazing, courteous staff. very close from bhanhof. huge parking space available and one of the best places to stay around

Room Tip: rooms on the side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

During my pleasure trip with my family, which is also my first abrode trip I found what I expected by the name and location of the property, since entry gate of the hotel to bed and bathroom of the hotel was in a decent manner, though it was a group tour and managed by the professional company, the room should be equiped with powerconverter facility for the person who are coming other than europe.A memorable stay with this hotel. I will reccomend to others who wish to visit that place.

Room Tip: A fit place to stay for getting value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was here on business and although most from my company stay in Rappesrwil when on business, I wanted to stay at an in-between location from Zurich. The rooms were surprisingly much nicer than I thought they would be, although you'll defintely need a power converter for small appliances if you're traveling from the US unlike some of the hotels in Zurich where it's a bit more convenient if you don't have one. The wireless-internet, or wired whichever you prefer, was free and maintained a pretty strong connection for me the whole week I stayed. I was even able to access HBO-Go on my computer and I-pad. There's a few restaurants and a nice club called Evita within walking distance and if you're up for it, there's a McDonald's about a mile up the street going in the opposite direction from the train station. The hotel restaurant looks and smells up-scale, until they bring you your plate. At those prices, you're better off going out on the town or taking a short train ride to another town. Location is key and it suited its purpose for my trip this time around. Now with all of that being said, I can't say enough about how well the staff worked to oblige my every whim. They were great and deserve kudos for their patience and hard work. Overall, it was a good stay and I would recommend this hotel for the more seasoned traveler.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Clean and nice Room, at reception we know the possibility to eat at the hotel restaurant without any other advertising words! Then at 07:30pm we go to restaurant but was full, not all, there was two table for 2 person and we was 2!
A very unfriendly maid tell us any possibility of time to wait or to prepare these 2 table, result we go to reception and we haven't the possibility to eat at hotel!!! That's incredible, two hostes can't dinner in the hotel !!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a newly build business hotel in Wetzikon. The rooms are nice and clean and have everything you need. They have a very good breakfast buffet and the internet is free in the entire hotel.
To walk from the Train station is takes approx. 10 min. There is a supermarket (Lidl) just in front of the hotel, but besides that there is not much to do around it since it’s in the industrial zone.
To summarize, it’s a good business hotel for the region Wetzikon/Hinwil and I will return again if I’m in the region.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a brand new hotel in Wetzikon, with Indian management (you can immediately tell when you're in the reception area, where there's beautiful Indian art). The service and hospitality is great, you feel welcome. The restaurant at the 6th floor offers a nice view of Wetzikon (a pity that it's right next to the business park). The menu is surprisingly good for a hotel/restaurant in a small city like Wetzikon, I especially enjoyed their liver dish, loved it.
So if you're for business in Wetzikon, this hotel is worth a try!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Swiss Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swiss Star

Address: Grubenstrasse 5, Wetzikon 8620, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Wetzikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Wetzikon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Swiss Star 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Swiss Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Swiss Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.