We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff nice, room average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sternen Muri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sternen Muri to your Saves list
Hotel Sternen Muri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thunstrasse 80, Muri bei Bern 3074, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muri bei Bern
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff nice, room average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is one of the higher priced hotels near the capital, ca. 15 to 20 minutes by bus/tram from city center. Nice little terrace and free parking. Room seems average, not up to the standard of a 150CHF room in Switzerland. You get a free public transport voucher for the time of your stay, which is a nice detail...Bathrooms are clean and nice. No A/C. Some electric sockets did not work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    27
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
13
11
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocoee, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The parking in Bern, like in all major cities is prohibitive expensive. Muri is a 10 minutes tram ride away from Bern. The hotel Sternen in Muri is clean,,friendly and located next to the tram station. And the first trip to Bern is complimentary from the hotel. I can recommend the Hotel Sternen in Muri for everybody who is exploring Switzerland by car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I had the chance to visit this hotel for the 2nd time and on both occasions I was happy to do so. The front desk were friendly upon arrival and throughout the stay. The room was comfortable and was very well cleaned daily. Breakfast was tasty and service was good. My only complaint was noise. Every night, once the restaurant closes, it seems the staff gather up outdoor near the staff entrance and they shout, laugh out loud, and create disturbance to guests with rooms overlooking that side (like mine). It happened everyday I was there and at midnight, but I didnt mention it or make an issue of it.
Overall, good hotel and would visit again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hotel Sternen is located in Muri, a quiet neighborhood 4 km (2,5 mi) east of downtown Bern.

It is a modern building in Swiss dress. Rooms are clean and nicely furnished with comfortable beds.

A tramline just outside the front door connects you to the downtown area in 10 minutes. There is very limited parking at the hotel (a few places at the front and a few places at the rear, totaling no more than 10), so arriving late will be an inconvenience.

The free Wi-Fi (supplied by third-party) was slow. Breakfast buffet was good.

Other visitors have had comments on the food. There are other dining options downtown so no need to feel obligated to eat in-house.

Free Wi-Fi (slow)
Free breakfast buffet
Free parking (very limited space, garage at €12 per night)
Swimming pool (not utilized)

Stayed one night with end of September in standard room with two king size beds, non smoking. Rate approximately 160 CHF inc tax (booked on Hotels.com about a week in advance).

This was my third stay over the years, I stayed while passing by for a sports event in Interlaken.

Will repeat business when in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have read the other reviews of this property, and I beg to differ. I stayed at this hotel for three days. Although the room was quiet and the housecleaning thorough, the room itself is sparse. The Swiss chocolates and water are only left on the first day.

One reviewer mentioned the parking. There are six hotly-contested spaces out front. If you don't get one of those, forget it. I didn't move my car for the whole three days I was there for fear of losing the spot.

The reception staff are helpful, but their English is spotty. It is hard to get the answers to basic questions, such as how to use the tram, or getting a map. I tried to get them to send a fax, and they were not able to tell me whether it had gone through or not. The attitude is "We aren't really sure."

Three reasons to avoid this hotel: Price, food, and internet.

The prices online are significantly cheaper than at the desk. I actually logged onto an online service using the computer at reception, and I demanded they match the price. They refused, giving me instead a rock-bottom price 40% higher. And these prices are very high.

I ate every meal during my stay at the restaurants. The food is poor. It is too salty and generally bad. The eggs at breakfast are horribly overcooked, sitting under heat lamps. A special note for my breakfast waitress, who stood out at reception talking to her friend and refused to serve me while I sat watching her in the breakfast room. When another guest left the breakfast room, I got up to steal her coffee pot, just to get some coffee in some way. At that point, the breakfast waitress came into the room and grabbed the pot from my hand, saying I couldn't have it.

The worst part of this hotel stay is the internet service. It is a horribly complicated procedure to use it. I wasted several hours wrestling with the silly SMS codes that didn't work, along with all the restrictions, such as: you can only use it for 2 hours per day, on one device only, and switching devices is impossible. And it is very slow. After arguing with the hotel staff about this, they begrudgingly gave me a user/password combination that worked much better, but only for two days.

There must be better places to stay in Bern. After coming from Chateau Trouhans in Burgundy, France, which was terrific, this was a cold shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muri bei Bern hotels

Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel for a business trip to Bern. The hotel is very nicely located close to the diplomat quarter of Berne and the river. Walking distance 10 to 15 min. Also public transport is close by. Parking isn't a problem. Check in was quick and easy and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast is rich and typical for Switzerland. In the hotel is a very good restaurant and even if you would like to have something simple, you can get it on the terrace when you have nice weather or inside. The only minus are the pillows, too soft.
During my next trip to Bern, I will stay again at the hotel,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After traveling 20 hours straight and entering a completely new timezone, any bed would have felt good but plopping into a fluffy, pristine white duvet made recovery much easier. Very sleek, clean and modern room done in yellow and birch wood. Granny smith apples, Swiss chocolate and bubbly water waited... large balcony and with the door opened, all we heard was the chirping of birds. Did take me a minute or two to figure out how to use the handsoap in the bathroom (lol) hit the top, bumped the bottom, and then realized that you had to squeeze...however the soap smells wonderful! Breakfast is a lovely assortment of brie, gouda and swiss cheese with all sorts of cold cuts to choose from but the showstopper is the amazing selection of breads they provide. There was also eggs, bacon, cereals, really fresh fruit, pate, yogurt, oatmeal, cucumbers and tomatoes. Really lovely! It is a bit strange that there is no deadbolt on the inside room door but I after seeing hundreds of bikes not even locked up during the day, there isn't much concern about that. There is a restaurant on site and we enjoyed our dinner which was priced lower than eating downtown in Bern and with excellent quality. Wonderful week.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "new section". make sure you bring converters but they do have ones to u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sternen Muri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sternen Muri

Address: Thunstrasse 80, Muri bei Bern 3074, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Muri bei Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Muri bei Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sternen Muri 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sternen Muri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sternen Muri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.