We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel - would definitely stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sternen Muri

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sternen Muri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sternen Muri
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thunstrasse 80, Muri bei Bern 3074, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Muri bei Bern
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice, quiet hotel - would definitely stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

My husband and I and our teenage son stayed here for two nights and had such a relaxing time. The room was a decent size; the beds were very comfortable; the room and the bathroom were immaculate;there is a small refrigerator; and the neighborhood is nice and quiet. We slept with the window open and lay in bed and could hear the churchbells. The surrounding neighborhood was nice to take a walk in, and there is a bakery nearby. Since we were traveling with our son, we requested a cot when we made the reservation, and when we arrived, the cot was already set up in our room and had a nice, thick mattress and duvet. There is an extra charge for this but well worth it, and the room size supported the extra bed nicely. The hotel itself had a good breakfast and has a decent restaurant, although it's a little expensive. The hotel is just outside Bern and the tram stops just in front of the hotel, so it's a very convenient location. We enjoyed staying here much more than we would have liked staying in the city center where it's much noisier. The staff was also super nice, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a cot ahead of time if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    24
    15
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
11
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zug
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We recently stayed here for a 2-day team offsite. The hotel is conveniently located, approximately 15 minutes by tram from the city of Berne.

Rooms are spacious, and food was good and traditional.

It is just a decent 3-4 star hotel in a quiet suburb of Berne.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

Pleasantly surprised and only ten minutes from downtown Berne. The tram stops almost directly in front of the hotel. Hotel has its own little musical instrument museum which I did not see. But they could do with a bit more toiletries or a bathrobe. But a colleague lost her luggage at the airport and they at least supplied toothbrush and toothpaste.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2010

Our room (room 434) is in the old part of the building. It was large with a full size shower (which is hard sometimes to find in Europe) with a good shower head and plenty of hot water. Parking is undercover, but is in the building nbext door, but it is no big deal. We found the poillows a bit too soft for our liking, but the dooma was great. Breakfast has a good variety, hot and cold. The only bad thing about breakfast was the eggs were luke warm. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is not in the centre of town, but there is a tram stop a few hundred meters up the road. Shops are closed on a Sunday, but trams still run.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

This is an up-to-date gasthaus a few minutes drive from the center of Bern. Rooms are modern, spacious, and clean with very new furnishings. There is a good buffet breakfast in the morning, and the hotel restaurants/bars are good.

The tram stops right outside the hotel, so you can easily get around using the excellent public transit system.

If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room in the new wing - restaurant and bar noise might disturb you in the original building.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sternen Muri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sternen Muri

Address: Thunstrasse 80, Muri bei Bern 3074, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Muri bei Bern
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Muri bei Bern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sternen Muri 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sternen Muri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sternen Muri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.