We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoy this step back in time when life was so much more leisurely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Pool and Tea House

The Blue Pool and Tea House
Furzebrook Road, Furzebrook BH20 5AR, England
01929 551408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Furzebrook
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Swanage, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Always enjoy this step back in time when life was so much more leisurely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family all net up ere and we meandered around the pool and ,of course ending up in the cafe.its a quirky cafe with an old world feeling.we had sandwiches ,the kids had various jacket potatoes and the totally obligatory cream tea .marvellous .this is a cafe I would love myself!! What better recommendation!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    21
    13
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern England
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Special Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great place for young and old to visit for half day or longer. Pool changes as light changes so take your camera. Variety of walk routes and viewing platforms for all abilities. Dogs welcome on lead. Also links with other walks and cycle routes. Several interest activities such as squirrel hunt (rather difficult) and fairy doors for the very young. Plant sales complement great planned woodland and ornamental beds. Popular tearoom with range of food. Feted cream tea, a little under whelming as two small scones a bit bicarb in taste and ordinary tea. Outdoor space and plenty of benches. Very enjoyable. Reasonable price. Excellent disabled access and facilities

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rather lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

A beautiful, peaceful spot - the walks are so secluded that even though there were others there, we felt like we had the place all to ourselves. Some stunning views of this beautiful pool as you walk round.

At £15 for a family of four it's not the cheapest way to spend a few hours but it's certainly restful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Peaceful and Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a lovely place! Used a 2 for 1 discount voucher which I got online - 4 adults for £11 entry!! This meant we had money to spend in the tearoom! Had a lovely lunch of quiche, jacket potatoes, omelettes and gorgeous flapjacks, millionaire shortbread and muffins!! Beautifully clean and fresh tearoom with fresh ingredients - excellent. The pool is stunning and the walk around it is mapped out with different routes to appeal to all abilities. There is a gorgeous little teddy museum and a gift shop with really nice things that are a bit different and very reasonable. We were there for 3 hours but you could stay longer as there is plenty of places to sit and enjoy the view or a picnic. Walking distances is really up to you as the pathways can take you as far as you are able to manage. Definitely will make it a regular visit as we live in the area and 2 for 1 is a steal!! Do go and don't forget to google vouchers first - Dorset days out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice place,but somewhat overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited here in early august when they had a hunt pixie doors and squirrels so spent most of the time either craning our necks to look for plastic squirrels,which we found impossible to find,and therefore didn't really enjoy the walk around. We gave up after a while as we were getting chronic neck ache. good idea,but perhaps needed to make the objects to find a little easier to see(especially as it was aimed for the children visiting), the owls,and squirrels seemed to be too far up trees or barely visible. The blue pool was more brown than blue. I didn't mind the outing but think it was a bit overpriced for what it is, essentially walking around a wood! the cream tea,was nice and obviously freshly made,but for £9.50 again a bit too dear for what it was. It's an ok afternoon out,but no great shakes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Pool and Tea House also viewed

 
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck
 

Been to The Blue Pool and Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Pool and Tea House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.