We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Country Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyvolane House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fermoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballyvolane House
Save
You added Ballyvolane House to your Saves list
Castlelyons, Fermoy, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Cape Cod, MA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A Country Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We treated ourselves to our 30th Anniversary in Ireland and when we arrived at Ballyvolane we felt special. Upon entering, it was clear we would be sharing a home, albeit a Manor, but when Justin and Jenny greeted us, we felt special. I had inquired about fishing prior to our arrival and Justin had set me up with a ghillie for a day on the Blackwater. Norman was great and taught me to Spey cast but we didn't catch any Salmon that day. The Blackwater is a pretty river but cattle can roam to the edge and not what I expected. Still, I would do it again.

The highlight of our stay were the dinners. Much of the produce comes right out of the gardens. Everything is prepared perfectly and what fun to share a table with folks from all over the world. We had a ball.

To top it off, when Justin found discovered we were traveling for our Anniversary he provided us a gift of his personally made cordial. This is a beautiful home with beautiful grounds with old world charm.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind comments. Delighted you had a good time and sorry about the elusive salmon. Next time. Best wishes, Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Ballyvolane House in October and totally loved it. We stayed in a number of country house hotels and some city hotels and we liked Ballyvolane the best. It doesn't feel like a hotel at all as it is an authentic Irish manor house. Some of the other places had been renovated and unfortunately lost the original magic they must have had pre-renovation. We owners have decorated the house beautifully with a mixture of fine antiques, family portraits and a deer's head in our bathroom! It was eclectic and eccentric and somehow works. The bedrooms were fantastic too, especially the huge bath and we loved the little touches like the jar of homemade cookies and the elderflower drink. We dined at the house both evenings and the food was excellent - the best we had in Ireland. It's not fussy restaurant style food but simple no-frills country house food. I liked the way they grow the vegetables in their kitchen garden and get all the ingredients locally. We love the quiet setting and enjoyed the gardens and walks through the woods. The owners were extremely nice and helpful and planned a couple of day trips for us. They were friendly while at the same time not overbearing and seemed to know when to chat and when to leave us be. We will go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you very much for the great review. We enjoyed having you here and please keep in touch.
All the best, Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Me and my siblings sent my mother here for her 60th birthday and she was very disappointed. The biggest disappointment was the food, which you would expect to be special at the price. There was no choice offered and they were all served a very ordinary fish, Skate, with very ordinary accompaniments. The starter was a salad. For 55 euro a head, you would expect something a bit more luxurious than that.

You also have to be back in by 12.30 at night. They don't offer a key and the door is locked at that point. So if you're planning a late night out, you should also pack your sleeping bag.

She also said breakfast next morning was nothing exciting either.

Overall she said it was disappointing and I'm annoyed that we paid so much for a substandard experience.

We also told this hotel it was my mum's 60th, hoping they would acknowledge it in some way as a surprise. They didn't.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am very sorry your parents did not enjoy their stay at all, especially the food. I would like to assure you that this was an isolated case and not typical of how we normally do things. We grow all our own veg and fruit in our walled garden. We rear our own pigs, keep hens for eggs for baking and breakfast, we lots of foraging etc. The rest of the produce is sourced locally from artisan producers and in season. We always hand out the menus before dinner and check with our guests if they are happy with what is on offer and if not, we are always happy to give them an alternative. With regards to the late night arrival, we often have guests attending weddings and such like nearby and we would normally give out the front door key. I'm so sorry if this was not offered as it should have been. In an effort to make amends, I would like to offer you or your parents a complimentary night's stay for 2 with dinner. Again, my sincere apologies and please let me know when you would like to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Ballyvolane is a lovely house with idyllic grounds and a great place to spend a night or 2 in. It is not particularly luxurious and therein lies it's charm. The rooms are fairly functional in a kind of 1950's chintzy way but have nice bedding and lovely views. Ladies with long hair may wish to wash their hair before staying as facilities ammount to a jug over a bath... The food is good tasty and fresh. Not a gourmet experience but perfectly enjoyable. The service is however a bit disjointed and that is it's small let down. The owners seem somewhat distant and while perfectly friendly and obliging when spoken to, seem to be totally preoccupied with their children who it must be siad are very much in evidence in the building. One therefore gets the feeling that you are staying in a family home rather that a hotel or guest house. We were ok with that for this trip but were left wondering what it might be like for people wanting to get away from it all for some peace and quiet and good service. We would definitely return but not during school holidays.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thanks very much for reviewing Ballyvolane House. Glad you enjoyed it and sorry about the disjointed service. The kids were being unusually demanding and are normally not so visible to guests. Thanks again for staying with us and best wishes, Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

My family and I had a quick stay here last July on our tour thru Ireland. When booking hotels, I really wanted to get a true country house experience and this was certainly it. It's the kind of place you wish was your own - how lucky the Green Family is! The grounds are absolutely amazing - we spent about 2 hours wandering around taking pictures after our delightful afternoon tea. And the house itself is just darling. The service is top notch - from tea, to pre-dinner cocktails, to turn down service and delicious bedside refreshments, the whole experience really was a treat. I wish we would have had more time to explore the nearby town or go on a fishing trip. But that just leaves reason to return!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thanks for staying with us and for the amazing review. I am delighted you had such a great time. Best wishes, Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Ballyvolane House is a special place. The house itself has been beautifully refurbished and sits on gorgeous gardens and grounds - the doves were particularly lovely. The hosts (Jenny and her father-in-law, Jeremy while we were there - Justin was away) were very sweet and welcoming while being utterly professional. The food is excellent - good quality, well executed and no nonsense. Our room felt so relaxing and the huge bath was a real treat! Any previous reviews which talked of old furniture seem to have missed the point - THEY ARE ANTIQUES!! The attention to detail really sealed the deal. Well done to the Green family.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Thank you very much for staying with us and for the excellent review - glad you had a good time. My father Jeremy is the best and like the antiques, is improving with age! Best wishes, Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2009

The house is beautiful, our room was gorgeous, but the whole place had an empty, "the Shining" vibe. There is no lock on the bedroom door, so the hosts can go in and close the windows and turn down the bed for you. The living room is comfy and they'll build you a big fire to enjoy, and bring tea gratis. If you order a cheese board, though, be aware you get about 10 crackers and are charged about $25 PER PERSON eating off of the single plate. Ouch! That struck a sour note on an otherwise pleasant if somewhat eerie stay.

  • Liked — The beautiful room and gardens
  • Disliked — No one to greet us at check-in, EXPENSIVE cheese, and creeeeeepy vibe
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ballyvolane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvolane House

Address: Castlelyons, Fermoy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyvolane House. Georgian House built 1728. Six bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country house cuisine served in the grand dining room 'house party' style. Good Hotel Guide Cesar Award 2009. Georgina Campbell Country House of the Year 2009 and Irish Breakfast Award Country House Category. Karen Brown's Readers Choice Awards 2007 Warmest Welcome. Bridgestone Guide 100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballyvolane House Hotel Fermoy
Ballyvolane Hotel Fermoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyvolane House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.