We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recent dinner only visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ballyvolane House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fermoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ballyvolane House
Castlelyons, Fermoy, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fermoy
cork
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“recent dinner only visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Recently visited the restaurant at Ballyvolane house , dinner for four, a fantastic experience of fine wholesome cooking with a modern twist, a set christmas menu offering a generous selection of courses and v good value for the quality and variety offered. The house beautifully decorated filled with appropiate antiques and a wonderful xmas athmosphere , all this with Bellini and hot spiced apple juice in front of open fire to start with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for dining with us recently. I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and we really appreciate the great review. I will share your comments with everyone here.

Thanks again and please come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ballyvolane House is the perfect combination of old world grandeur and Irish coziness. We spent a wonderful long weekend soaking in our huge bath, reading by the open fire, walking through the beautiful grounds (chaperoned by at least one cute dog at all times) and exploring the local towns.

The food was a highlight; homemade bread and poached pears at breakfast, four courses of homegrown deliciousness at dinner, and even a yummy bottle of elderflower cordial in the bedroom. Big thanks to Breffne and the staff for their hospitality, they even found my boyfriend's lost glasses in the garden and posted them back to us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and I am delighted you had a great time. We really enjoyed having you here and Dumpling (our terrier) loved taking you for walks through the woods and around the gardens. I will share your kind comments with all the Ballyvolane House team and please come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Enjoyed a wonderful themed evening at the house. It was the setting for a drama presentation played out during the evening whilst enjoying a delicious three course meal. The setting, service, food and entertainment were all first class and we will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for coming to Madame Chavelle Theatre & DInner. I am delighted you had a good time and we really appreciate your support.

Thanks again,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were very pleased with the premises and the overall visit. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The food was very good - the beef was perfectly cooked. Overall we found on our particular stay that the owners, who were running an event in their second premises, did not give much attention to their house guests, as a result. Other guests had two very small children, who were left run riot during breakfast time - their parents took no notice and neither did anybody else! We will, hopefully, give it another try soon as the setting and house are beautiful and the young lady serving us and the granddad who took the breakfast order were a delight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback. I am delighted you liked the room and enjoyed the food. I'm sorry we were absent when you stayed and I would like to assure that this was a rare occurrence as we are normally always here to give attention to our guests. I have noted your comments about the other guests' children and we will address this issue in a tactful manner with parents.

Thanks again for staying and I appreciate you taking the time to bring these matters to my attention. I hope you will come and see us again soon.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about the Ballvolane house. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. If you love a great bath then this place is perfect for you. We slept very well! The dinners are well worth the experience. Food is fresh and delicious. A great experience to enjoy dinner over candle light with the other guests. The service is excellent! This was a highlight of our trip and we hope to return.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for staying and dining with us. We really enjoyed having you here and I will share your kind comments with all the gang here. We hope you will come and see us again the next time you are holidaying in Ireland.

Thanks again and please keep in touch.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked accommodation and dinner for girlfriends birthday but was delayed leaving Dublin so rang ahead to see if cancelling dinner reservation was an option, was told it was no problem and to take our time. On arrival, at about 9.30pm, I was immediately confronted by the Owner who said that they had lost money on us cancelling the dinner as they had already bought the food and "hired extra staff" for us... I explained that I understood the margins small business work at and that was why I specifically rang ahead and was told by their staff that cancelling dinner reservations was not a problem at all, they still insisted I was in the wrong. I went to bed fuming and didn't go back down into the house that night as it was now awkward.

I must say the rooms were great, we had a superb sleep and breakfast was good the next day.

This is a nice place but the reception we got certainly made a bad impression.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Patindublin_12,

Thank you very much for staying with us. I would also like to thank you for your feedback. I would like to assure you that your experience is not typical of how we normally welcome our guests to Ballyvolane House.

When you phoned us that afternoon and asked about dinner, we did say that canceling dinner would not be a problem. However, how we left it was that you agreed to phone us back to let us know if you did not want dinner here that night. As you did not phone us back, we took it that you would dine here so we prepared dinner for you and kept on the extra staff. When you arrived and informed us that you had already eaten, we were very surprised. We always make every effort to check if our guests are dining here as we only have 6 bedrooms and it makes a big difference to us.

I am glad you enjoyed the room and breakfast and we very much appreciate your feedback.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My fiance and I traveled all the way from Chicago, only going by pictures online and word of mouth recommendations. When I saw the house in person it was better than I could have hoped for. Justin & Jenny were lovely hosts. The food was probably the best that we had in Ireland. We couldn't stop eating, it was so delicious. The only issue was my wedding dress being a little snug.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different personalities. Some of the bathtubs are old school with no showers, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justybusty, Owner at Ballyvolane House, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Joann & Dustin,

Thank you so much for having chosen Ballyvolane House as the location for your wedding. I know it was a big leap of faith with you both living in Chicago and we are delighted the wedding was better than expected! Thanks again and many congratulations.

Please keep in touch.

Best wishes,

Justin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ballyvolane House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballyvolane House

Address: Castlelyons, Fermoy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Fermoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballyvolane House. Georgian House built 1728. Six bedrooms with huge comfy beds, crisp linen, fluffy towels and big baths you can stretch out in. Delicious home-cooked country house cuisine served in the grand dining room 'house party' style. Good Hotel Guide Cesar Award 2009. Georgina Campbell Country House of the Year 2009 and Irish Breakfast Award Country House Category. Karen Brown's Readers Choice Awards 2007 Warmest Welcome. Bridgestone Guide 100 Best Places to Stay in Ireland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ballyvolane House Hotel Fermoy
Ballyvolane Hotel Fermoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ballyvolane House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ballyvolane House to your Saves list