We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is how a B&B should be run.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fermoy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Abercromby Place | County Cork, Fermoy Cork, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Fermoy B&B and Inns
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is how a B&B should be run.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Fabulous place, with a 1st class service.
The house is large and spacious with ample parking, The interior is very tastefully decorated with many period features and furniture . Its also only a short walk to the river and town
The room (no 3 ) was beautiful with a four poster and large en suite. Mary was an excellent hostess providing a very warm welcome . Breakfast was ample and varied ( fresh fruit too :-)
Would i stay there again,,,,,,,, i wish i lived there :)

Room Tip: Has to be no 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Abbeyville House and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction.It would be a pleasure for us to welcome back to Abbeyville House if you are ever in the area again. Regards Mary & Sean Lomasney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
19
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night only (unfortunately) in July 2012 when we attended a family wedding in Fermoy. Just excellent - decor, atmosphere, ambiance, hostess, location, food - all perfect! Mary was so friendly and helpful yet not intrusive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean L, Owner at Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear you had a good experience at Abbeyville House.We look forward to welcoming you again if you ever in this area again.
Regards Mary and Sean Lomasney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was one of the nicest homes we've stayed in and we've visited many B&Bs. The house is impeccable and perfect throw back to the 19th century. The breakfast was good but it could do with fresh fruit and vegetarian options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Over the past 5 years I occasionally travel to Fermoy for work and have stayed in several of the Fermy accommodations. The Abbeyville is by far the best choice in Fermoy. The location is ideal, it is within walking distance of downtown allowing for an easy walk to most of the available restaurants. There is a nice park and indoor pool complex located immediately across the street and the walking trail alongside the Blackwater River is quite quite near for a lovely evening stroll. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable and the ambience is relaxing and private. While this was a working trip, I was accompanied by my teenage son and given a spacious room that was quite comfortable for both of us. Oh, I don't want to forget to mention the great breakfasts- not only can you order a "full Irish" but you can also have fresh trout!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Everything done to perfection. Just fantastic. Sean and Mary Lomasney have done a outstanding job on the building. I have stayed in the Abbeyville House B&B in 2000 and now it is first class in every way. You can not pick a better place to stay in Fermoy.

Room Tip: All rooms are faboulus. make sure you book on time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed in ABBEYVILLE HOUSE ,when looking on the internet in England,ABBEYVILLE stood out by far the best with the great reviews ,and the location.I Came to Ireland to see my son and what better to have park across the road to play football with him,There's also a swimming pool,great playing area,and good for picknicks.After a good day it was so good to back to Abbeyville with a warm welcome,into a nice clean room.The thing i looked forward too the next morning was the fab breakfast,[ great cup of rosy lee ]So i would reccomend Abbeyville to anyone who wants a clean,warm welcome,great location stay at a B@B.Your be mad not to.see you soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Abbeyville House is simply wonderful. We arrived on a cold December evening (to attend a family occasion in Fermoy) and the sense of warmth and comfort was almost overwhelming. The attention to detail is obviously a labour of love by the owners.
These people just aim to provide fantastic B&B, and that is what they do.
Well done!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 3 (4 poster bed, large en-suite). Highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Abercromby Place | County Cork, Fermoy Cork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Fermoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast is a five star Failte Ireland Registered nineteen century town house, on its own grounds and situated in a privileged location in the heart of Fermoy, opposite the Town Park and leisure centre and only a hundred meters from the famous river of the Blackwater. We offer our guests a choice of Deluxe Double, Twin, Single and Family rooms all of which are en-suite with television and modern facilities including free wireless internet connection in all rooms, with tea/coffee served on arrival. We also offer an exclusive spacious residents lounge and library with open fire for our guests to enjoy a wonderful relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbeyville House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.