We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old solid hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Hotel Fermoy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Grand Hotel Fermoy to your Saves list
The Grand Hotel Fermoy
Ashe Quay, Fermoy, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good old solid hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

A good traditional hotel with nice 'old world' features inside. Located close to, but not directly on the main road. Very nice riverside walk from the hotel. Staff seemed very busy, but nevertheless friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    11
    7
    9
See reviews for
24
12
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

I stayed here for the first time 2 weeks ago. This was my 5th trip to Ireland and I wish I had found this hotel before. We wanted to stay in small town hotels this trip as I had one very good experience in a town called Skibbereen on my last trip. I hoped that the Grand Hotel in Fermoy would also give us the charm of rural Ireland with the atmosphere of a town. Our expectations were exceeded. The hotel is bright, comfortable and spacious with old world charm and the friendliest of staff. We had a wonderful room overlooking the river.
The food is exquisite.
My only negative would be that the street can get a little noisy at night but I guess if you want to be in a town you gotta expact that?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We had a family occasion to attend so we had made a booking with The Grand Hotel in Fermoy. As did other Family Members. We had explained we would be arriving a little late in the evening as and they seemed fine with this,

When we arrived (myself my partner and our son of 12) we were told that they had not got a room for us and he had tried to ring me, We arrived a 19.30pm and he tried to ring me a 19. 15pm . The manager said that he would try to us other accommodation , but he was only doing this at 19.30pm on a Saturday Evening which is absolute not acceptable. If he had come to us and said there has been a mix up with the booking but i have found other accommodation for us, we could have accepted this the a certain degree,. The Manager kept saying it wasn't his fault or it wasn't our fault. ' it was certainly was not our fault' so i would like to know whose fault it was if it wasn't the hotel,.

All Is i can say thank god we had family near by we could ask them if we could stay with them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Grand Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent…especially the seafood chowder!
The hotel has recently been refurbished and is light and airy, comfortable and spacious, but still retains an old world charm.
Would love to stay there again, especially if we can have Room 7. The view is delightful!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GALWAY
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed here recently as a group and we were very disspointed
When you flush the toilet in the bathroom the whole system would explode , the noise would vibrate the floor and would linger for an hour , the shower sprayed out onto the bathroom and saturated my clothes so beware of this . The manager is very rude and made us feel very uncomfortable I would not recommend this to stay in , its so over priced the only nice thing was the toast and eggs in the morning There is noone at reception when you go in and have to go around yourself to find a staff member to serve you its a bit like going back in time really dont stay here if you want to feel like your on a holiday

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_10, Owner at The Grand Hotel Fermoy, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We were most disappointed to learn of your experience and sorry that we didn't receive your comments during your stay, when we could have done something to rectify the problems in the bathroom. We are undertaking an investigation in relation to the rudeness of the manager you spoke with - as this is something that we cannot tolerate. We pride ourselves on having friendly professional staff. Thank you for your positive feedback in relation to breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Stayed two nights recently as I was in Fermoy for a family reunion. Really enjoyed the Grand Hotel. The food was excellent and the staff are very friendly and professional. The rooms have recently undergone a face lift and they are now fresh and modern. The ground floor is fabulous, what a change from the last time we were there. Great central location and definitely value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_10, Owner at The Grand Hotel Fermoy, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for staying with us recently. Our refurbishment is now entering its final stages. We are always looking to improve our business and the guest experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Grand Hotel, Fermoy in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stayed in early Dec to attent a funeral, and found an 18th century plumbing system in Room 7. The insides of the counterpane on the bed was stained with dry blood. Later in the month had to return again for a second funeral in the same family ....was given the same room and the same conditions applied....despite our earlier complaints.
No senior staff available to deal with our complaints. Front of house staff excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_10, Manager at The Grand Hotel Fermoy, responded to this review, March 10, 2010
We are pleased to advise that our Hotel refurbishment continues apace. Our bedrooms have been given a new look and are now fully fitted with new duvets and throws. We continually endeavour to improve our standards of customer service and appreciate all constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Hotel Fermoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Fermoy

Address: Ashe Quay, Fermoy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Fermoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fermoy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Old Style Hotel with Brass, Mahogany, High Ceilings and Character recently renovated to bring it into the 21st century. During your stay at the Grand Hotel you will experience the warmest Irish welcome in a charming town centre setting. Just a stroll away from Fermoy's shops, businesses and top entertainment venues, the Grand Hotel offers 12 comfortable rooms, most with stunning river-views, quality dining in its stylish restaurant and a warm, old-times atmosphere in its typical Irish bar. An ideal base from which to discover North Cork and all that Munster has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Hotel Fermoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Hotel Fermoy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.