We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leenane Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Leenane Hotel to your Saves list
Leenane Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leenane, Leenane, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leenane
Co Wicklow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed in Leenane Hotel in mid September. The hotel was full of old world charm; coal fires burning in the lounge and bar, wholesome food that was very reasonably priced and served by highly trained staff. Our room overlooked the lake at Killarey Harbour with a backdrop of moutains and rolling hills. Our stay was magic; made all the more wonderful by the beautiful surroundings, ambience and bedroom that was well appointed in keeping with the style of the hotel. A thoroughly relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake; it is a wonderful sight to behold in the early morning and at su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    120
    29
    27
    16
See reviews for
63
149
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
drogheda
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

booked for 4 nights on 30 sept stayed 1 night in the annex the place was filthy double bed was not changed from previous occupant. bathroom overran with mould. fusty smell filled the whole room.this ruined the whole weekend, having travled from east coast,we were tired. this was the worst place that we ever stayed in

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway,ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have just returned from Leenane Hotel after yet another wonderful weekend. We have stayed there on many occasions and it NEVER fails to dissapoint. The staff are outstanding and so so friendly. We stayed in a fabulous room in the new section, sleep quality was wonderful. The food is to die for and we are already planning a return visit. Thanks to Conor and his wonderful staff, This hotel is the best kept secret in the West of Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
452 reviews 452 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent a great weekend in the Leenane Hotel. We got a special deal for 2 nights B+B + 2 dinners for 110 Euro each, We loved it all. The 5 course dinners were fabulous with friendly efficient staff . We loved the old world charm of this hotel, yes it is old and the furniture is dated but that's what makes it so special. Such a nice change from the hotel chains that have taken over most of the world's hotels. We had a lovely room with breathtaking harbour views , everything was very clean and the beds very comfortable with good bed linen. On Saturday night there was traditional music in the bar which we enjoyed. I don't know how anyone can criticise this place at the prices charged. It was full this weekend with visitors from all over Ireland and everyone seemed to love it. Another plus is a lovely peaceful night's sleep with no noise from outside or from the other - those thick walls keep out all sounds.
We plan to return again in the Spring

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just come back from The Leenane Hotel,The food, staff and views are some of the best I have encounterred We stayed a week and were looked after by very friendly staff, the meals were excellent; my wife is a ceoliac and was catered for perfectly; this is one hotel she can trust. We have stayed at The Leenane four times in the last five years and look forward to our next visit. If you want a relaxing stay in an area of natural beauty at a vey reasonal price look no further, they have two music nights a week. The hotel is situated close to all the local points of interest also a very nice sandy beach where we had a swim! whilst we were there we visited The Clifden festival another must music, poetry, art and much more

Room Tip: New wing over looking Killary Lough
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has an incredible backdrop of rolling hills and view of the local harbour, and the building is grande with historic charm. Staff were friendly and welcoming, and room was delightful. Breakfast buffet was average, but can't complain for the 45 Euros that the night with breakfast cost! Amazing deal - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Here you have a historic hotel in a gorgeous setting. And from all appearances with fully booked rooms and a constant flow of people coming into the pub part with it's lovely local seafood, there should be more funds available to maintain the property.

We were given a room in the annext adjacent to the hotel. No heat and damp on the walls with mildew all around the tub and tiles. Absolutely disgusting. Spider webs in the corne of the room, etc. The window would not open and we had to get the receptionist to pry it open.

After spending one night in this hell hole, we complained and got a room in the hotel. What was the ultimate reason for no heat? The radiators needed to be bled. I kid you not!

The other thing I noticed was the staff, who are just lovely, have to do everything. Example; the front desk receptionist also was found cleaning the public areas toilets, tending bar and even had to bleed the radiators in another annex room after complaints. Of course she's doing this while someone else mans the front desk but most all the employees have to do numerous tasks.

The cleaning staff does a pitiful job, probably as they too are overworked and understaffed. I detect a greedy and/or irresponsible owner who makes his profit with specials they run and the food end of this business.

They do have a good chef and the food and service is excellent. But the accomodation end of it is shameful.

The furniture is beyond old, shabby and downright beat up. The chair nearly broke beneath my husband in the hotel's room we had. Dirt encrusted around the beautiful old sash windows in the bathroom all of which ruined what should have been a perfect stay. Oh, and bring your magnifying glass if you want to try to watch the tv, it's so small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leenane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leenane Hotel

Address: Leenane, Leenane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leenane Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Leenane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leenane Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.