We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Learning Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Killary Sheep Farm

Killary Sheep Farm
Bunowen, Leenane, Ireland
00353872988051
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: contains some of Ireland's most awe-inspiring and dramatic scenery including Killary Fjord. Sheepdog Demonstrations with highly skilled working dogs, feeding the lambs with bottles, Sheep shearing using the hand shears, turf cutting using the traditional method which visitors can try out this ancient method for themselves, walking trails, Great day out for all the family.
USA
1 review
“Excellent Learning Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Even though it was a rainy day, my group and I still had an incredible time with Tom. He knows a lot about the history in the area and is a wonderful guy to be around. If you're looking for a beautiful place to hang out for a few hours, get some fresh air, and learn about sheep farms, this is the place to go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    5
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Wear your wellies....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

....and avoid the sheep dip! This is the real deal!! Tom is the 4th generation owner/farmer of this sheep farm and ever so gracious and knowledgable. We arrived around 2:00 (14:00) for the 3:00 (15:00) sheep dog demonstration. We were privileged to get to have a good chat with Tom before others arrived. Tom is completely equipped to accomodate most any number of visitors with a mud room full of walking sticks and Wellington boots. Sweep is a loving, people-friendly, border collie who loves his work. He is young, and this was his first run of the day and he was anxious to show us his stuff. These dogs truly are amazing and it's fun to see the head-strong sheep that think they know better than Sweep. He simply doesn't take "no" for an answer. After the demo Tom took our group up the hill through the sheep paddock to the bogs to show us how to cut the peat that traditionally is used in fireplaces and stoves. Not an easy task....especially when cutting enough to dry for winter. We also had an opportunity to bottle feed the orphan lambs.
The setting is beautiful above the Fjords with the world's largest mussel harvesting. Tom does a great job for the "un-farmed" and we strongly recommend this event while you're on your way to or from Kylemore Abbey. The fees were reasonable and a very good value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great day with peat and sheep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Watching Tom work Sweep and his herd of recalcitrant sheep was great, the setting was gorgeous, the hike across the farm was not too strenuous but enough of a work-out to allow you to feel some sense of accomplishment when you arrive on the eerily quaking "land" of the peat bog. Here you will get to try your hand at cutting the peat, which is trickier than it looks. I'll note with some smugness that I, the descendant of Scotsmen, had an easier time of it than the rest of my family, descendants of good Irishmen though they be!

Be prepared to drive a bit further than directions indicate to find the small private road up to the farm -- fear not, it will be there shortly! Once you are on the little road, heading for the sheep shed, watch for sheep in the roadway and don't talk yourself into turning off too soon: press on to the end!

Don't make the mistake of insisting on your own footwear for the walk up into the bogland -- put your loaner wellies on and thank me later.

If the season is right, you may get a chance to bottle heed some baby sheep, which is fun.

But while enjoying the sheep dogs and the sheep and the peat and all, don't forget to take a moment to just enjoy the awesome scenery -- and the pleasant, comfortable welcome from Tom.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Highlight of Connemara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My mom and I were just passing through and saw a brochure about this. We called and booked a tour for the following day. It's easy to find, just go up and up and up this mountain. Tom is a really friendly and accommodating guy, cute too! The farm does have a breathtaking view. He gave us hiking sticks, rubber boots, and raingear, and we hiked up the mountain. It reminded me of Heidi, up with the goats and sheet (although Ireland, not Germany). The sheep were cute, and we learned a lot. The sheep dog, Sweep, is amazing at running out and getting the sheep. I learned a lot from seeing how he digs the peat bricks from the bog. We also fed the lambs, which was quite a bit more exciting on a real farm in Ireland than doing it at a children's petting zoo back at home. Overall, I'd say it was definitely a highlight and I recommend this highly. Great price too, might I add.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience - peat and sheep and all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you do nothing else in Westport, drive to Leenane and visit farmer Tom. The views are spectacular and Tom is a wonderful guide - friendly, helpful and very knowledgable about not only running the farm but the local area and it's history. Sweep and Roy (2 of Tom's dogs) were great company too. Certainly one of the best things we did in Ireland.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killary Sheep Farm also viewed

Shanafaraghaun, County Galway
 

Been to Killary Sheep Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Killary Sheep Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.