We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Perfection!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bundorragha, Leenane Connemara, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maynooth, Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pure Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in Delphi for one night during the Wstport Festival. We were a little worried that it wouldn't be worth the trip because it was a 45 min drive from Westport on a late Saturday night. However the staff were so kind and welcoming when we arrived, the bed was like A CLOUD, the blankies and pillows were sheer comfort. Beautiful views, peaceful surroundings - we would love to spend four or five nights in Delphi soon to make the most of the adventure opportunities and the spa. We think this place would be an amazing place to celebrate a wedding. Our stay was short but very very sweet!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    112
    41
    25
    12
See reviews for
96
223
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Just back from an amazing weekend at a wedding here. Great location surrounded by stunning views. The staff are so nice and friendly and the place has the perfect balance of everything. Barman, Seany T was the highlight keeping us all going 'till 5.30 am with his epic cocktails, especially his patented 'Mayojitos'. If you're visiting the West, put this on your list!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

we've been in Westport last Sunday visiting family only when we realised that there was a festival going on and no hotels had rooms, no rooms in Castlebar, nothing in Luisburg, only find out about this hotel on here and made a reservation right away which for a moment looked like nobody knew about after we arrived - it was only around 9pm so not that late. We were starving although we had a dinner with family in Westport in the afternoon so we headed to Bar which is too small and no tables were free, terrace was gorgeous yet you have an unwanted company of midges, thankfully we were invited to the restaurant and got spoiled by delicious and pretty food - pretty as you can see on telly yet you get to taste it = 5 star!. Room was class and cosy, we walked around this amazing resort just after breakfast which seemed somewhat busy ish, free run kinda atmosphere yet food was very good and cooked to order which is rare to see nowadays. Resort is beautiful, scenery second to none, simply amazing, pity we had to leave but we will be back soon, if not to stay, definitely for Dinner - show stealer, it is not that far from us after all.
very happy that we found Delphi, never new about such a special place existed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was my third stay at Delphi over the last few years and each time the food has been progressively more disappointing.

On my last stay just last week the breakfast was even a let down... The pancakes were not freshly cooked but obviously reheated, & with no maple syrup because the kitchen had run out! There was very little attention to presenting the food well & the fruit on the plate looked like it had seen better days.

My evening meal, of steak, was again a let down. It came served with cold, overcooked green beans, which I sent back expecting freshly cooked to replace them, but the same came out, just a bigger portion, and it was also served with tiny pieces of overcooked mushrooms. It seemed obvious to me that the kitchen places no value on the quality of the side orders and thinks a tasty slab of meat is sufficient. Why you would serve steak with washed out beans I have no idea, when you could serve it with some deliciously simple roasted tomatoes & whole mushrooms. A great steak should be the staple of any good hotel or restaurant, and this Delphi is certainly lacking.

Aside from the food issue I was also surprised that my request for a late checkout was refused. Bearing in mind I had booked 3 hours of treatments in the spa from 10-1pm, yet the receptionist could not meet my request. It is little things like this that I think let Delphi down.

The location of this hotel is undoubtedly amazing & the staff generally really helpful, but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone wanting the whole package of location & great food because it falls short on the latter in a big way. I look forward to hearing that the food has improved at some stage in the future, but until then I will not be returning which is a real shame.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Have just spent 3 days here over a long weekend, and have come back totally relaxed. It was my first experience of this resort. The excellent weather has helped, but that's not all. Firstly, the location is terrific, though a little bit of the beaten track for some. The views over the mountain from the restaurant and bar area are great and you have a sense of being out in the wilderness. It is more of an upmarket lodge than a hotel. We stayed in the deluxe double rooms which was a reasonable size, though there are other choices available. WI-Fi is available in the rooms and the general reception areas, though it can be a bit slow at peak times as everyone tries to log on simultaneously. It's useful to have as there is no signal available most of the time for cellular networks, which is no harm - a chance to get away from it all. Also, there is only one television in the hotel which is really only used for watching special events in a separate area away from the bar/restaurant/lounges.The staff are extremely friendly in helpful on all parts of the hotel. Overall, the food is very good, though the breakfast tends to be a little over cooked. We participated in kayaking, archery and snorkeling. In all cases, the equipment was of a high standard and the staff were extremely capable, helpful and clearly well-trained and experienced. All of the adventures were a fun experience. The scenery in the surrounding area is AMAZING, though I mus emphasis we have terrific weather which helped enormously. I would definitely return here and would recommend to anyone who is reasonably fit and willing to give things a try - a great place to go if you have young family, as there is sufficient choice of activities to suit all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a fantastic two night break including dinner here in June. Had a loft room which was lovely, although there was no tv in the room there was an array of books left on the table for you to read. Bathroom was sparkling clean and had lovely organic toiletries to use. Breakfast was good, cooked to order every morning alongside a cold buffet of cereals, fruits, breads etc. Dinner was lovely - 3 courses of primarily local produce complemented by a lovely bottle of Australian red.

Two points of note - there are glasses left in the room presumably for drinking water etc - there is no bottled water supplied which is no issue but it doesn't indicate whether the tap water is safe for drinking. Second to this, there is no fridge available in the room so if the tap water isnt safe to drink it would be nice to have a fridge of some sort to store a bottle of water?

Outdoor activities are great, walking, activities etc - the surroundings are breathtaking - I think this is what makes Delphi special along with the staff. Everyone that we encountered was friendly and happy to help.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stopped here for dinner a couple of weeks ago as part of a holiday down west and wow! Joined tripadvisor just to share the wonderful experience! The food was good and atmosphere pleasant in a truly stunning location. But what really made our meal was the service, everyone was so friendly and attentive. Especially Anna who took the time to talk to us even though the restaurant was busy and had fantastic knowledge about the area. All in all a delightful experience, will definitely be returning!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Bundorragha, Leenane Connemara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's Leading Adventure Resort & Spa is located along the Wild Atlantic Way, just 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City. The resort is nestled amongst the scenic splendours of Connemara on the north shore of the famous Killary Fjord. It is surrounded by breathtaking mountainous scenery and just a stone's throw from the Atlantic Ocean. With so much on offer at Delphi Adventure Resort & Spa, there's simply no where quite like it in Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.