We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bundorragha, Leenane Connemara, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Leenane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Initial impressions were very positive. The area has to be one of the most picturesque in the country.
Check in was short and sweet.
We were staying in a ground floor loft suite on a corridor just off the reception area.
Our room was spacious and bright with the bedroom on a mezzanine second floor with full length windows facing onto a patio area with no view.
As I began unpacking I noticed something on the floor next to the bed. I bent down to pick it up only to realize too late that it was infact an upturned bloody plaster. To say I was horrified is an understatement. (I have attached pictures of this)

We were aware the receptionist hadn't mentioned any of the activities or spa treatments we had booked so we had to return to reception to enquire. Only then we were told there had been a mix up with one of our activities and the session was now fully booked up. We were extremely disappointed as we had purposely booked everything weeks in advance. This took a full 2 days to rectify after many queries on our part.

On our second day we were awoken to the noise of dozens of children shouting and running up and down our corridor. This continued for hours with no intervention from hotel staff. Finally I rang reception to complain. Absolutley nothing was done. We were horrified. We had come to Delphi for a relaxing break and it sounded like we were in the middle of a playground for 3 days. Apparently these children's holiday camps run all year so bear this in mind if your looking for peace and quiet!

Food in the restaurant was of a good standard. The bar food was average as was the breakfast.
In the little cafe outside I asked what the soup of the day was and she admitted she had no idea..we were then given forks to eat the mystery soup..

The spa was very nice, although the thermal suite is quite small. I had a facial with Brid and it was fantastic, probably the highlight of my stay. The seaweed baths are great too.

We went Kayaking which we enjoyed although we were suprised that nobody enquired about our ability levels until it was too late.
We presumed it would be quite tame but it was very tough, not for the faint hearted!


We found the room cleaning service to be very poor. Hotel toiletries were not replaced and the floor was never swept despite the obvious dirt. Our personal belongings were never tidied. Little things like our flip flops were always left sprawled on the floor.

The morning of our check out I sat down to fill in the comment cards only to find someone had already had the pleasure. They were dated 9 days previous and no one had bothered to replace them let alone look at them. Very poor again.

The bar were doing cocktail promotions on the first night which were delicious, when we returned the next night for some more were shocked to be told there wouldnt be any because they had run out of fruit and other ingredients!?

We were very disappointed with certain aspects of our stay. The real redeeming factor for this hotel is its location. Its stunning. We will return to Leenane but not to this hotel unfortunately.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas W, Manager at Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Carina

Thanks alot for your message.

As you can see from the majority of the comments on this and other forums, Delphi prides itself on a service driven approach which is overwhelmingly appreciated by almost all of our guests who almost always return to us. We are therefore very surprised and disappointed by alot of your comments and have used them to improve areas of our business so thank you for taking the time to explain things in detail.

It does seems as though you had one of the most unfortunate set of consequences happen during your stay and I do apologise on behalf of the resort for the inconvenience caused.
I would recommend if you have such misfortunate here or in future hotels that you speak with management immediately as I would have been delighted to meet you and rectify the situation first hand.

It's obviously too late to change things now and all we can now do is hold our hands up and apologise as we didn't delight you and exceed your expectations in the way we always strive to. We were very busy during your stay which mean't that we had to exceptionally allocate some children in the same corridor as you and I am sorry that they inconvenienced your relaxing stay.
You are correct to say that we have hold summer camps in July and August however the summer camp children will always be in the Wild Atlantic Hostel which whilst it is n the same resort, it is in a completely separate building so our guests can be sure of a relaxing time even though there will obviously be some families staying over the summer who are always a pleasure.

We apologise again for the inconvenience caused and do hope you visit again.

Thanks

Kind Regards

Douglas


Douglas Whittaker
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    112
    41
    25
    12
See reviews for
96
223
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We arrived on the 22nd of June to the most friendly receptionists. We went and got cup of coffee and Tunisian Orange Cake which was to die for and had the added bonus of being gluton free. Emily served us with a smile and was very friendly. We were then shown to our room and the word I used was "wow" 2 settees 2 tables in a very spacious room. The bedroom was large and bright with a king bed and a single with lovely furniture. The bathroom was nice and the icing on the cake was the balcony with the amazing view of the mountains. The room was very clean and the mattresses were so comfortable. We then had dinner in the restaurant again with the amazing view and dinner was beautiful. All of the staff were lovely but I would like to give a special mention to Erica, she looked like she really enjoyed her job and was always smiling. We went into the bar and watched a very friendly waiter called Sean work his magic with the cocktails and he made me one with baileys and it was lovely. Thanks for the entertainment Sean. You have to book the spa area which is great because it is never packed out and once more you are in the the large Jacuzzi looking out at the mountains. As you would expect wifi is iffy which is to be expected in a mountainous area, wouldn't have bothered with it only I was trying to contact my sister. All the staff were excellent but a special thank you to Louise who was very helpful and obliging. If you want a totally relaxed peaceful, friendly break definitely try this gem out, it is amazing and we will be back.

Room Tip: The premier bedroom is like a mini suite but an affordable price, set in courtyard and looking at am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Just home after staying 2 nights in the lovely Delphi Mountain Resort. We couldn't have asked for a better location to step away from the real world - it was perfect. The mountains are breathtaking and the design of Delphi has worked them in beautifully as from most windows you are able to see them in all their glory. As you step through the doors you realise this is somewhere you are going to feel at home in. Our room I must admit was on the small size and I was disappointed we had to walk out of the room to a shared balcony but we were lucky to have it to ourselves during our stay. The staff were excellent. In the bar on our first night without even asking a lovely young bar man offered us suggestions on alternative places to see during our stay - he was spot on - his suggestions were 'savage' - didn't get his name but he used this expression a lot so he will know who we mean!!!

Room Tip: If you can afford it stretch your budget for a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Loved this hotel! Stunning location with excellent comfortable rooms. All staff that we met couldn't do enough for you and were really very friendly. Food was also very good. Didn't get the chance to use thermal suite but hope to on next visit.Will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just back from a weekend break which included a days activities, superb accommodation and quality food. Adventure Centre staff are excellent, passionate and enthusiastic without being overbearing. The lack of form filling/disclaimers is a welcome bonus.

We ate in both the bar and the restaurant and the standard of the food was excellent.

One problem that did occur was the lunch in the Wild Atlantic Cafe where we ordered the club sandwich for lunch.What we got after about 30 mins was a thin wrap with a few leaves of lettuce and a tiny piece of bacon. The girl was apologetic and said they were having communication difficulties with the kitchen. We apparently were not the only customers who had a problem with their order. We then had a bowl of soup which was on the house and to the credit of the staff in the cafe they refunded us our lunch bill.
All in all an excellent location for a breakaway from the bustle of life with no tv and no mobile phone coverage an added bonus.

One point to note, we were there on a special offer. If you are paying full price it can be expensive depending on what you go for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The room and location was fantastic. The spa staff need some serious updated customer service training. After waiting for 10 minutes at the reception desk to use the Jacuzzi we were booked for when headed in ourselves after getting fed up waiting. About two minutes later this woman appears and rudely barks what were we doing in the Jacuzzi? we told her that we had waited 10 minutes, no one had appeared and we headed in as there was surely other people going to be waiting if we were delayed. She snapped that she was busy and had been in and out to the desk then boomed at us well you have 45 minutes and marched out. The activities are quiet pricey at €70 per person per day if not included in your booking package. Asides from this the breakfast was beautiful and the rest of the staff were fantastic. Highly recommend it if management could manage to get the above mentioned lady retrained in Customer Service.

Room Tip: Bring a laptop as there are no TV's in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas W, Manager at Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Nicki

Thank you so much for your review. At Delphi, we really appreciate customer feedback as we strive to improve and exceed customer expectations.

Thanks alot for your kind comments about the quality of the bedrooms, the location and also for your comments on the experience in the thermal suite which I am really upset to hear and can only apologise for. I can assure you that Delphi prides itself on customer service which you can see from almost all of our customer reviews and this incident is being investigated to ensure that nothing similar happens again the future. As you mentioned, the rest of the staff were fantastic which is what we always aim to achieve across the resort.

In terms of the adventure activities, a full day of activity for adults is 70 Euros though there are many more economical options which range from activities for children from only €15.and adults from only €25 and as you mentioned we have offers with up to 25% discount for adventure packages so there is something for everyone.

Thanks again for visiting Delphi and for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you return to see us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Douglas Whittaker
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Just back from a lovely stay at this resort. We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite upon arrival and it really was gorgeous. A fab view of the mountains and lake with out own little deck. The dinner was very nice but we found the prices at the bar a little high, particularly as they know they have a captive market. Trish our waitress was excellent and deserves a special mention. All the staff were incredibly nice and helpful and it did feel like a family operation which was nice. We did two activities which were great fun even if the weather was a bit sucky. I would have really enjoyed if they offered a yoga class or guided walk. It seemed like there were a few people in the hotel who wanted to do something without driving and even for a few euro I would have signed up to something. It was also the most silent hotel I've ever been in. No phone signal but didn't really mind that at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Bundorragha, Leenane Connemara, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Leenane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Leenane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's Leading Adventure Resort & Spa is located along the Wild Atlantic Way, just 30 mins from Westport and 80 mins from Galway City. The resort is nestled amongst the scenic splendours of Connemara on the north shore of the famous Killary Fjord. It is surrounded by breathtaking mountainous scenery and just a stone's throw from the Atlantic Ocean. With so much on offer at Delphi Adventure Resort & Spa, there's simply no where quite like it in Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delphi Mountain Hotel Leenane
Delphi Mountain Resort And Spa
Hotel Delphi Mountain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Delphi Adventure Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.