We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a return visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Cafe

Blackberry Cafe
Main Street, Leenane, Ireland
095/42240)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Leenane
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Worth a return visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Returned to eat in Blackberry cafe for 3rd. year when visiting Ireland and as before found the food to be exceptional. The calamari is exquisite and can say it is the best I have ever tasted. Not that the other dishes are less appetising. I had lamb shank as a main course which was cooked to perfection. What makes the experience even better is the pleasant staff and if you sit at the window you can drink your fill of the superb scenery. One of the highlights of my annual visit to Ireland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ardee, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very tasty in a beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We had a lovely meal in the blackberry café. We had starters and mains which we could not find fault with in any way. Reasonably priced and very tasty. Busy and pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We dined here twice for dinner during a week long stay in Leenane as a group of five/four. On both occasions the food was lovely, very tasty and well presented. The scallops were possibly the best I have ever had. Oysters, mussels and also the steak were all superb. The service was friendly and helpful and the view out over the harbour is lovely. It is not the cheapest but you get what you pay for and that is good quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We (a family group of 11) dined here twice during our stay in Leenane and we were impressed by the lovely fresh food and the quick and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best fresh mussels in Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were told by friends that this was the place we needed to go for the best mussels, and they were right! In fact, the mussels are harvested in the bay just outside of the town. I tried mussels in other parts of Ireland throughout our trip, and they didn't come close to the quality and freshness of those at the Blackberry Cafe!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackberry Cafe also viewed

Leenane, County Galway
 
Leenane, County Galway
 

Been to Blackberry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.