We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem on a rainy Irish afternoon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackberry Cafe

Blackberry Cafe
Main Street, Leenane, Ireland
095/42240)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Leenane
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A true gem on a rainy Irish afternoon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We happened upon the blackberry restaurant whilst driving on our way to Killmore Abbey. Pot of mussels was giant. The calamari was like none we ever experienced so tender. The seafood chowder was one of the better ones we have had and the brown bread was delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Pulled into Leenane looking for a place to have lunch and found this delightful little cafe.
We enjoyed fabulous soup and fish and chips with a nice glass of white wine and had great coffee to finish.
So pleased we didn't eat at the tourist ridden Kylemore Abbey Cafe, but waited and found this! Kylemore is really worth a visit though, just not to eat.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the west
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely stop off for a quick bite. Chowder and their delicious brown bread is a must and their fresh crab salad is simple and tasty. Always stop here when heading West it never disappoints.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous fresh home-cooked food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful little restaurant overlooking killary harbour. Fresh seafood, seriously good home-made brown bread, homemade soup & let's just say the desserts are to die for, simple, fresh & homemade. Great menu selection & a warm atmosphere

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Try the hake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate at Blackberry at the end of a very long day exploring the area. Unlike other reviewers, we had no problem at all with being in walking gear, and the waiting staff were very pleasant. The hake with sherry cream sauce was delicious, and my husband had scallops that were also excellent. Two (smallish) reasons for not giving 5 stars - first, that they couldn't provide a Jameson's and lemonade after the meal, and second, that they informed when we came in that they couldn't take credit cards, when in fact they couldn't take any cards at all. I think it was just a temporary problem, but it wasn't properly explained, and left us scraping around for cash when we'd thought a debit card would be fine.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackberry Cafe also viewed

Leenane, County Galway
 
Leenane, County Galway
 

Been to Blackberry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackberry Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.