We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
dublin, ireland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I have stayed here on three occasions and would stay here again. The location is spectacular and truly special . It is a 20 minute drive to Dublin and there are lots of places in the vicinity of Wicklow like Glendalough and powerscourt waterfall to visit. Wicklow is a lovely county. The hotel is comfortable but would like more variety in the food which is expensive. The spa is excellent and there is golf nearby. It is also within walking distance of Powerscourt shops and cafe which is excellent. The location is very quiet at night so if you're into nightclubs or lots of action this is not the hotel for you. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, the setting is so romantic.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,044
    271
    100
    46
    34
See reviews for
286
753
18
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I and two friends took a six night vacation to Ireland. It was a package deal that included airfare from New York and a rental car as well as the hotel stay. The Ritz Carlton is located in a delightful area of Ireland. The scenary is spectacular. powerscourt gardens are ajacent to the hotel and we spent a most enjoyable afternoon strolling through the gardens.

The hotel room was spacious, with a luxurious bathroom and comfortable bed. It also included a sitting area which was very nice for visting with our friends and enjoying some wine and cheese in the late afternoon.

We drove our car to the train station in Bray and took the train into Dublin on two of our six days. The other days we drove south, along the coast and went down to Waterford on one excursion. It did take some time to orient oneself to driving on the left side of the road, and many of the country roads are extremely narrow, so one must exercise great care!

We had glorious weather and after our daily adventures we enjoyed coming back to the Ritz to relax. The little village down the hill is quite charming with a few good restaurants and antique shop.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ross
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This hotel is like no other in Ireland or in fact a lot of places I have visited !, We arrived on a freezing cold December night having pre-booked online and then upgraded to a suite by phone. The entrance to the Hotel at this time of year was absolutely heart warming ! Fires lighting, soft lighting, (Christmas time). The check in was friendly and the kids enjoyed there own kids check in desk (Made them feel important). We were then shown to our suite and on route we were given a brief but informative tour. Everything in are suite was explained fully especially as everything works by electronics.
We unpacked and explored the suite and then decided to go for drinks in the "Sugar loaf lounge" down by the fireplace. We immediately relaxed ! Services was not too rushed and certainly not too slow. We reserved a table for dinner and then sat back and enjoyed the ambiance.
Dinner was great ! Not too expensive and with a good bottle of wine was more than adequate. We relaxed some more after dinner and then retired to our suite for the night.
The bedroom had 2 double beds wich were very comfortable and the room was at the right temperature, neither too stuffy or chilly.
We slept well later on and were refreshed in the morning.
We had breakfast in the Gordon Ramsay restaurant and were more than surprised with the buffet breakfast laid out.
After breakfast we took a long walk through Powerscourt House and Gardens, very cold out but what beautiful surroundings !
Alltogether, a fantastic stay, sevice and staff were fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

This is our fifth time at this Hotel and we keep coming back for more. From the rooms to the staff to its location and setting it just doesn’t get any better. We recently stayed for the weekend with our young daughter and once again had a very relaxing time. I couldn’t recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Fabulous hotel, everything we imagined and more. Completely flawless

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

You owe it to yourself, sometime in your life, to treat yourself to special occasions. This is definitely one of those special places and times.
Enjoy

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed for one week at the Ritz Carlton on a package deal that included a car rental for our honeymoon and it was everything we hoped it would be. The hotel grounds are so picturesque and private, staff was very professional and accomodating, and the room was spacious and tastefully furnished. We took advantage of the spa with the indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room after we had our massage. The thearpists were excellent and it was a lovely way to spend the morning. Food and drink were good, but expensvie. We enjoyed going out and exploring the local area for a little more indigenous flavor. We had a wonderful stay and loved the hotel. However, there isn't much to do around the hotel unless you like nature and want to do a lot of walking/hiking. We were more interested in seeing the sights and sounds of the bigger cities as it was our first time in Ireland. Dublin is a train ride away (the trip on a the train is a very beautiful one, highly recommended), but it does take about 1 hour each way to get from the Ritz to Dublin. At night, we had to go to Bray or elsewhere in order to have something to do. Things aren't open very late unless you're in the heavily touristed areas or in a bigger city, so being so far from a bigger city was very inconvenient. In general, pubs and trains close at 11:30. There were times we were still in Dublin late and had to take a cab back, which cost 35 euros. Even though we had a car, driving on the other side on very small tight lanes is not easy, so we took public transportation anytime we could. If we could do it again, knowing that we are more interested in the night life and historic exploration, we would choose to stay in Dublin rather than the outskirts. We did like that we were forced to see more of the country (it's a beautiful place!) because we had to drive so much to get from our hotel to anywhere, but alas we spent very little time in our room and more time exploring, so it would have been better to have "base camp" more conveniently located.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding among luxury five star hotels in Ireland and set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country is Powerscourt Hotel, a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and offering guests a host of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.