We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved The Ritz - Wonderful from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Loved The Ritz - Wonderful from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We very slightly nervous what with some of the reviews posted but we had a wonderful night at the Ritz and enjoyed every minute.

Our room was on the second floor and had a balcony over looking the grounds, absolutely gorgeous and really large. No problem with the electronics (lights etc) I would have gladly moved in!

We ate in the bar, famous for its fish and chips and that did not disappoint - so tasty.... Had drinks upstairs then in the foyer and went for a short walk into the Secret Garden to get some air. Really pretty.

Stayed on in the Residents Bar until late and then sat on our balcony sipping champagne after. total bliss.

Breakfast was fantastic, wonderful service by everyone - throughout our trip they could not have done more for us but but were never intrusive. Great selection of hot food, fruit, breads, muffins, juices....yummy!

At check out we were told that we could use the facilities of the spa throughout the day so we went down then and enjoyed a swim in the lovely pool.

We will certainly be returning to The Ritz, we thought it was wonderful value, tip top service by very friendly staff, great setting, brilliant food and therefore had a terrific night!!

  • Liked — THE LOCATION, THE STAFF, THE INTERIOR, THE FOOD, .....EVERYTHING!
  • Disliked — LEAVING
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    930
    241
    91
    37
    30
See reviews for
259
667
14
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen, N. Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton recently and generally speaking we were very pleased. Set in a lovely location in the Powerscourt grounds just a 5 minute walk outside beautiful Enniskerry, the hotel is very impressive but not perfect. Our room was very spacious and comortable with excellent facilities, but in terms of the service there were a few let-downs. We ordered some room service on arrival, including a bottle of Sancerre from the very extensive (and expensive!) wine list, but they didn't have any, and sent us a (very good) Menetou Salon instead. On night 2 we dined in the Gordon Ramsay Restaurant, where they tried very hard to provide first class service without quite achieving it. (The meal and the wine were very good, but if I'm honest, not worth the money. (The food in the hotel bar is lovely - much less pretentious and a fraction of the price.)) We ordered a bottle of Pouilly Fume this time, but they didn't have that either so the sommellier recommended........... you've guessed it, the Menetou Salon. We'd had a pre-dinner drink in the aforementioned hotel bar, which is nicely done in an old Irish pub/grocer style, but it would have been more pleasant if either one of the two lads or the girl behind the bar had been able to muster a smile or a greeting of some kind. Sadly, they just served our drinks in silence and walked away. Anyway, on to the exciting bit - the breakfast. We wandered down at about 9.55 and outside the door of the restaurant were about 30-40 very nice young people who were, like us, all looking for some breakfast. They were, I think, all guests at a wedding in the hotel the previous day and had obviously agreed to meet for breakfast as theye were perfectly entitled to do, but unfortunately the restaurant staff failed totally in organising their tables, and confusion and panic took over. It was a ridiculous scrum and nobody seemed to know what anyone else was doing about it. We stood around for 20 minutes before we got a table, and then four or five different members of staff tried to lift the plates from our table before we were finished! Still, the orange juice was delicious.......... I mentioned our experience on checking out, and was told that the hotel was nearly full. Well I'm sorry but I think a 5 star hotel ought to be able to cope with a bit of an influx at breakfast. Having got all that off my chest, I must say that the Ritz Carlton is a beautiful hotel with (generally) very helpful staff. Not perfect, but very good all the same. It's not cheap, but it is a 5 star gaff and its very good.

  • Liked — The room and the views
  • Disliked — The restaurant at breakfast time
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Booked the Ramsey package for 1 night B&B + dinner for my husband's birthday and we were not disappointed. Check-in was flawless and were shown to our room where all the features re. air con etc were explained to us. Perhaps a little over the top as it was pretty self-explanatory but better to explain anyway I guess.

The room was beautiful. It was a mountain view suite and was HUGE! There was a small entrance hall, guest toilet, full fitted kitchen, dining and sitting area to one side. The massive bedroom was to the other side with a large wardrobe / dressing area and the bathroom. There was also a lage terrace with loungers outside. It was a pity our stay was so brief as we didn't have enough time to simply spend in this lovely suite.

We had a brief visit to the spa which was ok but fairly average. Few flaws here; The hot pool was out of order. Also, there were no robes or slippers available so we had to return to our room to get our robes and go barefoot as there were no slippers in our room either. I would also expect a more relaxed, luxurious ambiance in a hotel spa of this calibre with more relaxation zones and hamman spaces.

The Ramsey restaurant was great. The service was good and the menu interesting. All the food was beautiful - a nice blend of technical skill and quality ingredients. Small mishap with the bill where we were charged for an extra glass of wine we didn't have but this was resolved easily enough.

Breakfast was also in the Ramsey restaurant and was lovely. Plenty of choice including hot food, porridge, fish, cheese, fruit, breads and pastries.

Quite expensive but the restaurant in particular was good value. Would probably stick to a regular room in future for a short visit. The spa could definitely be improved and the prices there are outrageous. All in all it was great. Will go back.

  • Liked — The 'out of this world' comfortable bed + The Ramsey restaurant.
  • Disliked — The spa.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Had the pleasure of staying here in mid-August on a 2 night special package which was, or sounded like, good value. Although we are generally very positive people, we were overall extremely unimpressed with this hotel. My sense is that, on balance, the negative reviews on tripadvisor give a better sense of what to expect – which is a very nice hotel with many problems.

The good:

1. The hotel is physically very beautiful.
2. The hotel is in a quiet and relatively secluded area. Nice for walks.Make sure to visit the House (no entry fee) and gardens (8 euro per person).
3. The surrounding countryside is some of the nicest in Ireland and the concierge service will help you plan a route. Ask for the route through the sally-gap to Glendalough. Scary roads, but if you take it slow it is no trouble.
4. Restaurant Gordon Ramsay is a jewel. Great service, amazing food. Expensive but great value. You will pay as much in many far inferior restaurants in Ireland.
5. Nice welcome gift of strawberries and three fresh roses on day 1 turndown. Very nice.

The bad:

1. We had a pretty bad experience with one of the three TVs turning on in the middle of the night – a little disconcerting to be suddenly awoken in this way. Absolutely unacceptable that this problem continues (per other reviews below).

2. No water / hot water: On day two we went to take a shower around 11 am to find that our room had no water (shower, bath, sink, toilet). I called and was told the hotel has a water problem and it would be fixed asap. Came back that evening around 6. We had water. Great. Time for bath before dinner. But we had no hot water. Called down to reception, spoke with Elizabelth who was very apologetic and assured us that hot water would be back in around 90 minutes. So we had to go to dinner without having washed all day.

Two points here: You expect water in any hotel, especially a 5 star. The true measure of a hotel is when things go wrong: why did I always have to contact reception to find out what was happening? I would have expected some kind of warning. Secondly, paying over 500 euro for a two night stay you expect to be able to sleep without a TV going off in the night and you expect water. If you don’t get it you expect some gesture form the hotel beyond a ‘sorry.’ We got nothing. A complimentary drink at dinner would have been nice or a look at the bill on check-out. Things go wrong, that is fine: you expect the response however to be professional and appropriate. It is not at this Ritz-Carlton.

3. Suites are poorly designed. Space is good but the location of the TV, for example, is crazy. You can’t easily watch TV sitting in the seated area or from bed. Absolutely crazy. Small point.

4. The hotel seemed to be relatively empty when we visited which was nice. Breakfast was still a disaster. On Wednesday morning at 9.30 we had to wait 15 minutes for a seat. That is absolutely crazy, especially as the hotel seemed otherwise quiet. I can’t imagine what it takes to get a seat on the weekends! Not that it is worth waiting 15 minutes for – the food is overcooked and cold! You really expect more than a bad buffet from this brand-name. Even the coffee was cold!

In summary, a lovely new hotel in need of a complete shake-up. In terms of non-physical aspects, this property is a complete embarrassment to the reputation of the Ritz-Carlton Group and needs some serious intervention by corporate HQ.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

fantastic hotel and lovely friendly staff.we had a garden view suite and 255 euro for the bed and breakfast package it was good value..room was spacious and such a comfortable bed.we ate in mcgills and food was delicious. only gripe i have is there are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. definatly will be back in the next couple of months.breakfast was buffet style.plenty to eat and no problems getting seated as previously stated in other reviews.

  • Liked — rooms
  • Disliked — no tea making in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

This hotel was amazing-pure bliss. On arrival we got upgraded to a junior suite and it was the best hotel room ive ever stayed in. It had a tv in the bathroom mirror, touch buttons for lights and walk in wardrobe.
The service was excellent, and the decor was first class. The food was great. The only compliant was there was problems with the bill when checking out., It wasnt that big a problem but shouldnt have happened for the standard.
Loved the hotel overall

  • Liked — the hotel room
  • Disliked — check out-few problems
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I'll get the bad stuff out of the way first: Do not be fooled by the rural setting. This is a spectacularly ugly building - looking like something from Las Vegas and approached across a sea of paving flags with minimal planting. Large areas of surface car parking abound and there is an enormous rectangular smoke stack, stained black with soot, to one side. The view from the main lounge comprises a distant view of the Sugar Loaf peak, with a helicopter landing pad and a poorly landscaped lawn (scarred by tractor tracks during our stay) in the foreground. This 'view' is framed by a row of ragged-looking pine trees. Now the good stuff: once we got over the poor first impression, our room was spacious, very luxurious, and attractively decorated. The bed was very very comfortable and the bathroom, toiletries, and large dressing room were all first class. The pool area was quiet and relaxing. The service was excellent and very friendly. Given its proximity to Dublin, this is an ideal place for a short Romantic getaway. Two final gripes - no slippers were provided in the bedroom; and the ceiling in the large Gordon Ramsey restaurant was so low that I got claustrophobic over my breakfast (I am average height and could easily touch the ceiling).

  • Liked — The luxurious bedroom
  • Disliked — Incredibly ugly building; completely out of keeping with its setting.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding among luxury five star hotels in Ireland and set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country is Powerscourt Hotel, a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and offering guests a host of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.