We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surrounding and wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful surrounding and wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This must be one of the most beautiful surroundings that I have stayed in a while. And the hotel is not bad either. If I can, I would like to return and have a longer stay. We had a room with a view of the fountain, the garden and the Sugar Loaf Mountain as a backdrop. Food was good but not fantastic but the hotel had a shuttle service to go to the village of Enniskerry if guests want to dine there.
A beautiful golf course is five minutes walk away and it made the folders in our group very happy. It is such an incredibly beautiful property.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    272
    100
    46
    34
See reviews for
286
753
18
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Riz-Carlton Powerscourt is a beautiful property with absolutely beautiful surroundings. We stayed here for a week in May in Mountain view suit. Upon arrival visited the Powerscourt Gardens which were stunning. Had buffet breakfast everyday and dinner in the evening. Our last dinner was at Powerscourt Gardens which was an incredible experience in itself. Overall graet food. Visited the pool once, very nice pool, we could have just stayed at this place for pool only. As most of the reviews describe the room marble bathroom with separate shower, soaking tub, toilet and his/her sinks, living room and fabulous bedroom. It was perfect. The lights, curtains and other room amenities are operated by a touch screen pad. Yes we were fully pampered during our stay. I wish I could come back.

Room Tip: Get a mountainview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights at the hotel and were very pleased with the upgraded room we were given. The hotel and the grounds are beautiful. The food ranged from just average to pretty good. We ate in every venue from the Sugarloaf Cafe (bland and uninspiring) to MaGill's Pub (great beer however food was very definitely over cooked) to Gordon Ramsay's (which was pretty good).

I found typical Ritz pricing when having cocktails before dinner. Two mixed drinks should not cost $38 but expect to pay that if you order in the lounge.

The hotel seemed a bit spartan to us. There was no gift shop (thank goodness because if 2 drinks cost $38 I can only image what the price points would have been in the gift shop)!

The staff at the hotel is excellent. No detail goes unattended. The concierge services were very good.

On October 1st the hotel will change to the Autograph Collection and will no longer be a Ritz-Carlton. Along with that the Gordon Ramsay affiliation will disappear. Various staff at the hotel feel that the rebranding will allow more independent management of the hotel. Time will tell.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at the Ritz Carlton during our two honey moon journey around Ireland. We did not make a reservation in advance and were pleasantly surprised to find availability on an early evening walk-in to the property. We were greeted in usual Ritz Carlton style upon our arrival by a charming young lady at the reception desk. She took great care of us and upon learning of our honey moon travels, provided an upgrade to a suite. Our room was stunning - separate dressing room with his/her closets, glistening marble bathroom with separate shower, soaking tub, toilet and his/her sinks, living room and fabulous bedroom. It was perfect. The lights, curtains and other room amenities are operated by a touch screen...which challenged me a few times...but it was a nice classy touch. We had dinner in the lounge area looking out at Sugarloaf Mountain. The food and service were average...I wish I could say more. For breakfast we ate in the dining area (included in room rate) and found the buffet to be excellent. The concierge assisted upon departure with some great tips on a route to our next destination (Wicklow Mountains). Overall it was a fabulous experience....great location if you visit Powerscourt before or after your stay. Most of the staff in the hotel that we met are international, so if you are looking for a true Irish experience at the Ritz....go downstairs to their pub. Thank you Ritz Carlton for continuing to set the bar on quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is situation within the Powerscourt Estate with absolutely beautiful surroundings. Although a luxury hotel they do a lot to accommodate children. They have a special "Kids' Check In" at reception where they can feel like they are checking in to the hotel. They have a games room but this is only open during the day so if you are visiting places as a family and looking for something to keep the children occupied in the evening it is pointless. We didn't get to see this for this reason. Outside they have a giant chess set (although the pieces are solid wood so very heavy) and a small playground. The rooms very lovely and quite large so ideal for adding a cot or an extra bed. One feature they try is having a VoIP phone in the room which you can take with you around the hotel. The idea is wherever you are in the hotel, if someone calls your room you can take the call. In practise, these quickly run out of power and there is little or no signal in the public areas and nothing outside of the hotel so this is just a fancy gimmick. It is a shame as when travelling in a large family group it would have been very useful rather than using our mobiles. We have one member of the family who is gluten free and there are a few options for this during breakfast although sadly there were no GF sausages despite us mentioning this allergy when we booked. The staff are very friendly, helpful and always around to assist. Also, for a 5* hotel, they have free parking right by the front door and the option to valet park for just€20/day. We have already booked our next visit here although the hotel is being rebranded from Ritz-Carlton to another of the luxury Marriott brands from October 2013

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The rooms were very comfortable with all modern amenities and very high tech equipment controls etc.

The hotel was very clean and well presented with very helpful staff who were very professional.

Unusual design hotel which grew on us.

Just outside Dublin if this is helpful.

Room Tip: Forward facing to garden and fountains are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in the Ritz Carlton Powerscourt for a week during the summer, everything about the hotel was excellent except for one problem. I had my two boys with us (10 & 12) who wanted to use the swimming pool in the morning before going sight seeing and in the evening when we returned. Due to time restrictions, the pool was only available (at these times) for people using the spa. As the spa is not owned by the Ritz, the management could not do anything to accommodate us although I must say they certainly did try.This was rather disappointing for the boys as this was the hottest summer in Ireland for about 20 years !
It wont spoil my enjoyment of the hotel or stop me from returning but I think they should change their advertising to say "limited pool usage" or some such wording, little things like this are important to families with kids (who are the future clients of Ritz Carlton hotels !).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding among luxury five star hotels in Ireland and set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country is Powerscourt Hotel, a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and offering guests a host of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.