We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little sublime island within the larger Irish paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Enniskerry
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little sublime island within the larger Irish paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Ritz Carlton. The positives: It was beautiful and peaceful. The room we had overlooked the grounds. It truly was paradise-verdant green everywhere. I would just stay there for the amazing bathtub. The service was superb. Everything was 5 star! If I had been with a romantic partner, I would say it would have been the perfect romantic getaway. The negatives: really only had to do with the location. It is a bit away from the city - about 40 minute drive. I drove and, being an American, driving for the first time on the wrong side of the narrow Irish roads, it was stressful. But other than that - it was an amazing, amazing place! I would absolutely stay there again, now that I'm an expert driver in Ireland :-)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    808
    199
    73
    33
    25
See reviews for
217
571
14
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed over one night while down on a business trip, the service is just exceptional. The staff can't do enough for you, little things too many to quote.
Everone is friendly all do the simple tings say hello and smile. I stayed last year and breakfast was a bit lack-lustre. Thats changed breakfast matched the hotel superb
I'd love to stay more often its just a bit on the expensive side - I'm going to look for offers though!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for a family weekend. From the valet greeting our stay could not have been better. The rooms (better call them suites) were luxurious, fabulous bathrooms and balconies looking out on the magnificent Sugarloaf mountains over a truly sylvan valley. The
Gordon Ramsay restaurant was such a treat. McGills pub - what a surprise!! And then there are all the attractions of the Powerscourt Estate - manor house, speciality shopping and the Avoca terrace overlooking the famous gardens. If you are a golfer (we are not) but they have 2 golf courses. We took the hotel buggy for a trip to the river walk - such a hidden secret. Finally was the buffet breakfast on the 3rd floor terrace - so good we did not want to check out. We have stayed at many of Irelands top resorts all were good but the Ritz Carlton Powerscourt is truly great!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our room was beautiful and the view was breathtaking. We were treated so well by the whole staff. Everyone was helpful and went out of there way to treat us like we were royalty. Can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Paid for a mountain view suite but didn't even have a glimpse the the mountain. First suite we got was on the ground floor with zero view. After discussions with Linus at the reception we got lobby level room with a view of nearby trees. I also asked about AMEX upgrade and was told that we already had the highest room category. Why do you sell and charge for a mountain view when you don't deliver it?

Food and wine at the lobby restaurant was good though service was the kind where you pour your wine and water yourselves but it didn't matter. At least we had the mountain view for a moment..

Downstairs pub was nice and so was the surrounding park area around the hotel. At 00:50 wedding fireworks was an added bonus right outside our window. Since we were not sleeping it was nice to watch!

Will we go back to this hotel? Most likely not since it doesn't come anywhere close to other similar Ritz-Carltons like Penha Longa in Sintra.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillsville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This was our first trip to Ireland and we could not have chosen a better "home base" than this property. There were six of us traveling together of different ages and gender. Some of us golfed, went sight-seeing, or just relaxed. Whatever information we needed to help us get around the area was promptly provided by the staff. The service they provided was over the top; always friendly, helpful, and/or willing to have a nice chat. We ate in McGill's one time. The food was very good and the portions were more than adequate; we even took what we could not finish back to our room. Our suite was simply magnificant. We had a mountain view suite and the scene from our balcony was breathtaking. Three of us had a massage in the spa. My massage was just what I needed after a two-hour horseback trek earlier in the day. The pool and spa area are lovely, very restful after a busy day. Friday night at McGills provided the best Irish music we've heard; and this was after a day and early night in the Dublin/Temple Bar area. The two lads who played were exceptional and we were mesmerized by their musical abilities. We had no regrets staying at the Ritz for six nights; it was the icing on the cake for our first time on the Emerald Isle.

Room Tip: Request a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suches
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

This hotel did not live up to its reputation. The staff were very courteous and competent, but the room left a great deal to be desired. Our suite could use the touch of a designer with an idea of comfort, color and fit. The view from the windows was very disappointing and offered little in the way of beauty. The touch pad in the sitting area decided to oscillate on and off in the wee hours of the AM. I'm not sure how this hotel got a five star rating, but am sure that it needs to be reevaluated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection

Address: Powerscourt Estate, Enniskerry, Ireland (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Outstanding among luxury five star hotels in Ireland and set amidst one of the most scenic and historic estates in the country is Powerscourt Hotel, a 200-room resort showcasing Palladian-style architecture and offering guests a host of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Powerscourt, County Wicklow Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Enniskerry
Ritz Carlton Hotel Enniskerry
Ritz Enniskerry
Enniskerry Ritz-Carlton
Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powerscourt Hotel - Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.