We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable rooms and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summerhill House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Summerhill House Hotel to your Saves list
Summerhill House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Tullamore, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Comfortable rooms and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed here recently with family. We found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and well equipped. The breakfast buffet includes cooked breakfast items, toast, fresh fruit, yoghurts, cheeses and fruit juices. Some of the decor is a little shabby and some of the staff are not particularly proactive and attentive. The staff told us that there was a problem with wifi that would be fixed but whatever the reason we had no wifi access in the rooms for our entire stay.

With more attention and consideration from the staff this could be a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    111
    61
    46
    72
See reviews for
101
169
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here this week, this is a fantastic hotel set just a short walk outside the beautiful village of Enniskerry. This beautiful Georgian building set in peaceful county setting. upon arrival the staff on reception were very efficient and friendly. the room was big and comfortable and nicely decorated.
A few small improvements in the rooms and bathrooms would make a big difference here, there are not enough sockets in the rooms and the hot tap in the bathroom was leaking.
At breakfast was a good selection of food, which was all very tasty and well prepared. all staff encountered during our stay were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Visited this hotel for an event this week. Really impressed on walking in - decor lovely, homely atmosphere, bright and stylish. Then encountered the staff. Receptionist and Bar Staff really need training in customer service skills. Receptionist didn't even lift her head to make eye contact when addressed and gave gruff response. Bar Staff (Females) were short and bordered on being rude. Had they been under pressure I could have made some excuse for them but really, they weren't. So disappointed as I was expecting warmth and friendliness.

Room Tip: If event management is standard to go by - don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Rover5262,

Thank you for your honest feedback. We would like to apologise for the lack of customer service you experienced while at Summerhill House.
Your feedback will be shared with the whole team and actioned upon. I'm disappointed we did not achieve a minimum level of customer service during your stay.

Thank you once again for bringing this to our attention.

Regards
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

I have just been to Summerhill house with my fiancé and parents for Sunday lunch. We had one main course with coffees after. The food was great- good portions and cooked to perfection. The waitress was very friendly and provided a great service. the hotel looked great- fires in all the main area- very cosy atmosphere. We will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night one a package including a massage at the spa and use of the facilities, afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast. We had a lovely stay! Any staff member we met was more than helpful, chatty and friendly. We had a particularly lovely waitress during dinner! We were really happy with the afternoon tea, and the menu selection in the restaurant for dinner.

We booked a king room - and it actually was a king-sized bed, not just two mattresses pushed together like you often get! The room was clean and very comfortable. Lovely location! We're from the area so didn't explore from the hotel, but there are lots of beautiful walks nearby and the village of Enniskerry is lovely. Not too far from Dublin city too if you fancied a break from the countryside!

Room Tip: The king room was very spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Had a great stay! Did the mother and daughter package with an extra nights stay was excellent value. The spa is lovely and the view from the hot tub is spectacular. Only reason I didn't give full marks was that on the 2nd night the fire alarms went off all through the night and not much was done to apologise or let us know what was happening. But will certainly visit again! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I recently stayed here with my partner as part of the vintage spa deal. I am 28 weeks pregnant and my partner rang ahead to ensure I could still avail of even some of the spa. When we arrived the receptionist was very friendly . We went for our afternoon tea which wasn't great and went to the spa. I was given a pregnancy massage which left me with bad sciatica afterwards for two days and was then told I could not do anything else in the spa so we had to leave After been reassured weeks before I wouldn't miss out. Dinner wise the staff couldn't be more helpful and kind but the food wasn't great with a very poor selection available on the menu. Our bedroom was comfortable but dated and the bathroom dirty . We went for breakfast in the morning which was very tasty however the minute we put our forks down we were asked to leave by the waitress as they where under pressure for space. This was really annoying as we wanted to have something else but she rushed us out saying we could have our tea at the reception outside . We found this very unprofessional and quite irritating.Overall we were very disappointed with summerhill house and will not be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AidanC_SH, Manager at Summerhill House Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Harvey12345678,

We will review our offering of our dinner menu, as its a fine balance of offering value with the correct price point and not adding supplements to many menu items.
Our apologies regarding your dirty bathroom, this should not have been the case as its a basic standard.

We normally receive very good feedback for our breakfast at the desk, however not on your occasion. I will share your experience with the restaurant team as we don't wish to make our guests feel rushed and uncomfortable during breakfast.

As the Spa is run independently, your feedback will also shared back.

Regards
Aidan Cotter
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summerhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerhill House Hotel

Address: Cookstown Road, Enniskerry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Enniskerry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Enniskerry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summerhill House Hotel, Enniskerry offers a warm and friendly welcome it is an ideal base for activity, surrounded by beauty, the hotel offers a charming mix of old and new. Lots of local activities and attractions in this fantastic location including Powerscourt Gardens and Waterfall and so easily accessible to Dublin city centre. Rainforest Day Spa on site. Great Spa packages available. Free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Summerhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerhill Hotel Enniskerry
Summerhill House Hotel Ireland/Enniskerry, County Wicklow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summerhill House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.