We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very decent family Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lounge at Powerscourt Arms Country House

The Lounge at Powerscourt Arms Country House
Powerscourt Arms Country House | Co. Wicklow, Enniskerry, Ireland
01-2828903
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 16 Restaurants in Enniskerry
Price range: $14 - $23
Cuisines: European, Irish, Vegetarian, Gastropub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Enniskerry, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very decent family Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have eaten here a few times now and have to say very decent Pub grub never had any problem with it yet , staff are very friendly . would recommend this place to anyone

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shippensburg
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great fun on New Year's Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited the Lounge on the first day of our week-long trip to Enniskerry (Powerscourt Ritz-Carlton). The locals were friendly, and we liked the atmosphere of this pub. The food was fine. We didn't go back a second time for the food. We stopped in at 11:30 on New Year's Eve and enjoyed celebrating in our adopted local pub. . . .Hugs, dancing, whiskey. . . .All great fun. Thanks for making us Yanks feel welcome.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Value Pub Grub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband & I have had pub grub in this village pub on a number of occasions & have never been disappointed. Mid week specials are a main course & glass of wine or beer for €16. The food is tasty & wholesome, good choice, service is friendly & efficient. The decor is modern & the lounge is normally busy even mid week so there is a good buzz without being too noisy. Certainly wee worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“one good and one disappointing meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My sistet and I went to lunch in the refurbished lounge. First impressions nice decor and popular for lunch.

We were greeted by the friendly maitre d who advised us of the daily specials. My sister chose the salmon and I had the thai green curry.

Service was a bit slow but the food when it arrived was beautifully presented. My dish came on an oblong plate the rice was beside a bowl containing the curry.
The salmon was lovely alas not so the curry it was like a thick coconut soup and contained six pieces of chicken and one slice of green pepper.

When paying the bill I mentioned my disappointment to the maitre d to which he replied I was the second person to make that comment and he would inform the chef !

We adjourned to a nearby coffee shop for desert and coffee

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I had dinner there after trying Johnny Fox first and finding it too noisy, expensive and touristy. Very polite and accommodating staff, the place had a good buzz. Decor is a bit ordinary, but the food was tasty and reasonably priced, nothing fancy, just good food. They had a main special (steak) for 16 euro which included a pint of Guinness, so very good value. Would definitely go there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lounge at Powerscourt Arms Country House also viewed

Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 

Been to The Lounge at Powerscourt Arms Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lounge at Powerscourt Arms Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.