We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian in Ireland?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emilia's Ristorante

Emilia's Ristorante
Clock Tower | County Wicklow, Enniskerry, Ireland
353 1 276 1834
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Enniskerry
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Waltham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Ireland?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Yes! This little gem is run by Italians -- and it is soooo good. By the end of our trip, we just could not eat another potato, so Emilia's was a great change of pace. Friendly service, reasonable prices, and delicious food! I had the shrimp and calamari risotto and it was piping hot and so comforting and tasty. The restaurant itself was also so cozy and warm.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    45
    15
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice food. Dining hall atmosphere.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

the food was o.k.. We had the stuffed mushrooms (very good) and Carbonara - heavy and rich, but tasty. Overpriced beer and poor quality wine.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Value Early Bird menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We visited Emilia's on 3 separate occasions whilst staying near Enniskerry and had a great meal every time. The early bird menu for 2 courses is good value, with the meatballs and bruchetta being tasty starter choices. Pizzas also very good. Open for dinner from 5pm and lunch on Saturdays. Parking just outside and a bus stop opposite.

If you are staying in one of the hotels nearly - this is a great choice for an Italian dinner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Emilia's is great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My husband, children, and I, Americans who are living in Ireland, eat at Emilia's weekly, and have always had a great experience. The food is very fresh and well made and we have several delicious favorites - especially the Penne Special Emilia's - on the menu. The kids menu is great and our two kids, who are picky eaters and typically barely touch their food, nearly always clean their plates. Sometimes we do take away and enjoy pizza at home, but we really enjoy eating at the restaurant. The atmosphere is relaxed and feels quiet even when it is busy. We have found that customer service in Irish restaurants can be quite brusque, but never at Emilia's. Susanna is there nearly every night and she is always an attentive and charming server. We will be moving back to America next month, and we will sorely miss our meals and friends Susanna and Mass at Emilia's!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
“Tuscany in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

If I didn't know I was in Ireland, I'd swear I was being served in a 4-star trattoria in Tuscany. Massimo and his staff invite you in, first, with his authentic Italian accent and then by serving his amazing menu of fresh, well seasoned, and authentic Italian fare - and with prices that allow you to come back again and again. Our 9 yr old couldn't get enough of the fabulous pizza and pasta dishes and needed to sample each one. This restaurant is further complemented by its location in beautiful Enniskerry right under the clock tower!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilia's Ristorante also viewed

Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
Enniskerry, County Wicklow
 

Been to Emilia's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emilia's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.