We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy hotel with fabulous river views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falls Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Falls Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Falls Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ennistymon
Longford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cosy hotel with fabulous river views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was really surprised by this hotel, first of all by the very convenient location just off the main street in Ennistymon and then the hotel's spectacular views of the river gushing over the cascades. Reception staff were warm and welcoming. Bedroom was very spacious and we had lovely river views. We had lunch in the bar and it was delicious. The pool and spa were very very good. We ate in the bar again that night and food again was great and not overpriced. Bar staff very friendly. Had a great sleep, no noise on corridors. Beautiful breakfast, loved the freshly cut selection of fruits and fresh grapefruit, not tinned. We're definitely planning a return visit as it was very relaxing hotel and town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Its all about location, location, location! With our close proximity to the local town of Ennistymon and our scenic waterfall setting you were immediately impressed with your arrival at the Falls Hotel & Spa.
Our reception and bar staff certainly had a positive impression on you and we are delighted to see they were all so friendly and welcoming.
As you point out we are all about the quality of our food rather than overpricing what we serve.
A trip away like this is all about the quality of sleep so to see you were so happy with your bedroom is a major plus.
Thanks for the lovely review!

Kind regards,
Dermot
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    191
    95
    55
    51
See reviews for
199
227
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I won a two night break in the falls through their facebook page!. I booked myself and a friend in for the Bank holiday weeknd and there was no problem with that even though I am sure it was a busy time for them.
We were welcomed to the hotel by reception and treated opurselves to a nice pint and a toasted sandwich, that we ate in comfort beside the lovely warm fire in the lounge area. This area has big sofas and armchairs with a large tv- perfect for just chilling out after the drive from dublin.
Our room was clean and spacious and when we requested shower caps, they were delivered within seconds.
The thai restaurant in the falls is gorgeous, the food was amazing and good value and our lovely waiter Mark really looked after us, giving us advice about where to go in the village for drinks later. On sunday we visited the cliffs of Moher which is only a short drive away adn when we returned to the hotel we watched flocks of birds flying around th elovely grounds! The hotel has a fabulous riverside location with great views of the falls and gorgeous friendly donkeys to pet as you stroll around.
I could not fault the hotel on anything. The leisure area is lovely and I only wish we had enough money to treat ourselves to a treatment in the spa as by the sounds of other reviews, the treatmenst are amazing!
The village has many lovely pubs with some entertaining characters and lots of live music!
I will definitely retun to this hotel again and have recommended it to lots of family and friends, some of whom already knew of this little gem! Fabulous.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
A big congratulations to you for winning our competition on facebook and I'm delighted you enjoyed your prize so much.
I appreciate the fact you respect our policy of making our prize available on a Bank Holiday weekend but from our perspective it's only fair that the prize winner can use their prize whenever they wish and we try our very best to keep our fairly frequent winners happy!!
You have been blown away by our riverside location like many guest before you and it's certainly one of our greatest attractions.
The standard of your room, the Thai restaurant and our Aqua & fitness club have all received words of praise and all the hotel staff will love to hear that.
Hope to see you back with us again in Ennistymon.

Kind regards,
Dermot
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised when I arrived at this beautiful hotel on the banks of the river Inagh. It is located on the doorstep of wonderful sights including the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren National Park and Lahinch beach and golf course. The perfect setting for a wedding.

Originally an O'Brien Castle then converted to a Georgian style manor house in the 1800's. It was opened as a commercial property in 1936 and is now owned and managed by the McCarthy family.

The staff were friendly and courteous, the food was excellent and the spa experience was a piece of heaven; thanks to Cathriona.

The bar food was absolutely scrumptious. The breakfast variety was fantastic and everything was hot and tasty. A nice touch was being greeted by Michael McCarthy entering the restaurant in the morning and evening. Nothing like the personal touch.

Thanks to everyone at the hotel that made out stay enjoyable. We will be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a view of the falls; it's fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. Firstly I have to compliment you on your wonderful short synopsis of the hotel's history and you also have painted a beautiful image of our location and surrounding for future guests.
Your praise for both our Riverspa and Caitriona in particular is also appreciated.
Our standards of cuisine are also highly recommended by you particularly our bar food and breakfast.
We are a family owned and managed hotel so we pride ourselves in having a visible presence around the hotel and I'm delighted you were so happy to meet our GM Michael.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here for two nights.. We attended a wedding on our first night.Food was just delicious,staff were very friendly..I could not fault anything! The spa & leisure centre was first class.. We had two massages from Adi,who is so professional.. Our room was overlooking the falls,fab view.. We will be back very soon.. Thank you to all who made our stay so memorable & relaxing.****

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
We can't wait to have ye back with us again! Thank you for all the wonderful praise and compliments you have given us. The line "I could not fault anything" sums up your stay perfectly.
The staff, our food, the views and in particular our Riverspa all were on the receiving end of your very kind words. Ade our spa manager certainly left a lasting impression on you and he will be delighted to hear that.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the falls hotel for a wedding of a friend. The wedding was wonderful and although I don't know the price was probably worth every penny, the food all four courses was out of this world!!

Away from the wedding

When we arrived the views were outstanding the hotel smelt and looked good, staff were friendly and all said hello, how are you etc. As soon as the bags went to the room, the friendliness went with it, it felt a bit like your here now so we don't need to try. The room was average we paid €113 for one night our view was a car-park, the previous evening we stayed in a hotel the room was no different and €50 cheaper and friendlier staff! In the main bar the staff were friendly had a joke and was welcoming but they was the only ones.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time at one of our wedding receptions. We do over 80 weddings a year and 99% of the time the newly-weds and all their guests leave us with huge smiles on their faces.
You have given great praise to the standards of our food and our staff particularly those working in our main Dylan Thomas Bar.
I suppose your only concern was the different in rate for both nights. This was down to the first night being midweek while the second night you stayed was a busy weekend night with a full hotel of guests. Rather than the second night being too expensive you actually received a very discounted rate for your first night stay.
I hope this clears your concerns up and that you will return to stay with us in Ennistymon again.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the falls hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the location of the hotel is great. Unfortunately the experience with the staff wasn't satisfying...they don't seem to enjoy their job. Waiting times at the breakfast (15minutes for tea on both mornings) and the bar were very long even though it wasn't very busy.
Most disappointing was the cleanliness of the hotel. Dirty windows, loads of cobwebs in the bar and badly hovered rooms...
Overall nice hotel but would recommend a good clean and a staff motivation program!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
Thank you for taking the time to construct this review.
It's positive to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Falls and that you were greatly impressed with our location.
However I am disappointed to hear about some of the issues you have raised included staff morale and the cleanliness of our property.
Usually all our staff members are praised for their friendliness and the kind welcome they offer to all our visitors.
Similarly this remark about how clean the hotel is very unusual. Our accommodation and laundry team are constantly cleaning throughout the hotel including the public areas and the bedrooms.
It's unfortunate that you were not fully happy with our usual high standards but I really hope you will return to us again in the future and see the wonderful service we offer.

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the last five years and we visited here again over the Oct' Bank Holiday weekend.The hotel is in a beautiful location overlooking the river and falls,and it is a great base for visiting The Burren , Cliffs of Moher , Lehinch and many other areas of beauty in Co Clare.As always we were made very welcome and Bernie at reception was really helpful and friendly.
There was a wedding on in the hotel ,so bar staff were very busy but they should be complimented on doing a very good job. A local musician , Laurence Harvey provided very enjoyable entertainment in the bar at night. We really enjoy music so it's a great plus to have this in the hotel. The fact that this is a family run hotel is plain to see , it's friendly and homely and its nice to see familar faces each time we return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FallsHotelSpa, Manager at Falls Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,
The fact you have returned to the Falls Hotel & Spa on a few occasions in the last 5 years says it all! Your return business is greatly valued and I am delighted to see you have fallen in love with our hotel.
As many other of our guests have often pointed out we are a fantastic base for exploring the wonderful sites of North Clare. I am also impressed with how you noticed many familiar faces of our staff and the presence of the McCarthy family around the hotel.
Laurence will also be over the moon to have a new huge fan and we do understand that having music in the bar every weekend and sometimes every night of the week , greatly adds to the atmosphere of our guests.
Hope to see you coming to us for the next five years as well!

Kind regards,
Dermot Hogan
Sales and Marketing manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Falls Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falls Hotel & Spa

Address: Ennistymon, Ennistymon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennistymon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ennistymon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Falls Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Manor House of the local gentry, the history of the Falls Hotel is intertwined with that of the area, with many local legends being associated with it. Relax and unwind in the renowned Dylan Thomas Bar. The Grounds of the Hotel extend to 50 acres of gardens, woodland and glen. Its river walks and woodland pathways offer a haven of peace and tranquility, yet it is only 30 minutes away from the booming county town of Ennis and 50 minutes away from Shannon International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Falls Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falls Hotel Ennistymon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falls Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.